CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Ports Reviews

Cozumel reviews

Average Rating based on 13 Reviews:
OverallOverall = 4.624.62




rotaryzz saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Great city with lots of activities for all age groups, September 9, 2016
Reviewer: rotaryzz

Pros: Very tourist friendly and easy to get around.

Cons: Wish we could stay overnight as there are too many things to do here

Highly recommend the Dolphin experience at Chankanaab Park for the whole family. It has a lot more inside the park and you can easily spend a whole day there.


jtcruise15 saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Highlight of our trip, April 17, 2015
Reviewer: jtcruise15

Pros: Very informative, entertaining and fun

Cons: We wish to have stayed one more day

There are great photo opportunities beginning right off the dock and beyond. Plenty of shopping, free margaritas, restaurants, swimming, interaction with dolphins, a sea lion show, zip-lines, botanical garden and more.

We took a tour that provided a cultural history of Mexico, which included pole dancing.
You can haggle on jewelry pricing if you find something you like, cash speaks volumes.
Before we knew it, the time came to return to the ship.


carolann saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
The highlight of our Vacation!, May 21, 2014
Reviewer: carolann

Pros: Best way to enjoy your time in Cozumel in one day

Cons: Didnt get to spend enough time here

Had to share this with others!

We recently took a Carnival cruise to the Western Caribbean that stopped at Cozumel, Mexico. Cozumel is a very beautiful island and we have been here several times before, but nothing compares to our last visit. We discovered a Private Jeep tour which included our own private guide and jeep and seemed too good to be true? We could have our own private guide and not have to share a jeep with another couple?

We booked with www.CozumelCruiseExcursions.Net and received an immediate response stating that there was a private tour guide available for this date. We then received E-Receipt with balance, local numbers, meeting point directions and a photo of our private tour guide. This made us feel a little more confident.

Once we arrived we walked across the street and there we met our private guide Frank who was also the tour coordinator. We were able to create our own tour throughout the six hours. They had an itinerary that was customizable. It included snorkel tour with gear, beach club passes, cooler of drinks (beer/soda/water), entrance into Punta Sur Park (no matter how you customize your tour make sure to visit here!), discover the other side of Cozumel (most gorgeous sites we have ever experienced), Mexican meal (best Mexican food ever!), tequila tour and we included shopping into our itinerary. You can find out in detail what is included here: http://www.cozumelcruiseexcursions.net/cozumel-jeep-tour.html

Frank was such an amazing guide, and we had the best time ever! It has to be our favorite vacation. We got to do everything we wanted and got back to our cruise ship on time. We even took longer than six hours and Frank was not bothered, or tried to rush us at all.

We highly recommend checking them out! We found them on Trip Advisor and their reviews are great!


centex_mojo saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Cozumel Jeep and Beach Adventure was GREAT, January 6, 2014
Reviewer: centex_mojo

Pros: My husband and son each drove their own jeep for five hours

Cons: It poured for the last hour ... not so fun in a jeep

People were GREAT...friendly and helpful. We drove around the whole island. Saw a Mayan ruin, saltwater crocs, skorkeling, tequila factory, and ended in a resort hotel with lunch (okay food). It was a long excursion, but exactly what the kids wanted ...You have to be able to drive a standard (it only took my son - who is used to driving a tractor - about 10 minutes to get the hang of it.)

We had a great time! There were 10 jeeps in our caravan. The people with the company took great care of us - always made sure no one got lost!


TeenCruise saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Friendly with good taxi service. Taxis are government-regulated. Fair pricing, January 1, 2013
Reviewer: TeenCruise

Pros: Beautiful waters

Cons: One-day visit

Highly recommend the "Mini sub" excursion. Your very own "scooter" underwater with a "bell helmet" to breathe under. Dry face under about 15 feet. Great instructors. Have you hold a bunch of sea creatures and hand feed the fish! Awesome!!


geeva saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Best snorkeling experience., August 3, 2012
Reviewer: geeva

Pros: Good all around experience.

Cons: Stores hassle you more than you think.

We did the catamaran snorkeling excursion. Wow!!!! The best. The catamaran crew were awesome, friendly and very safety conscious.

Walked around town a bit shopping and having lunch. Great local food and great service plus music.

You can find taxis everwhere and they are reasonable.

Would love to visit this place again.


rmlemons saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Wonderful island with lots to do for everyone, April 14, 2011
Reviewer: rmlemons

Pros: Taxis were available everywhere and were reasonable

Cons: More touristy than it was, say,15 years ago

Cozumel is a favorite destination of ours. Lots to do on the island from shopping, eating and drinking, snorkeling, visiting Mayan ruins, diving and easy to get to the mainland.

There's the equivalent of a state park where snorkeling is great although most beaches are good. Many places to shop. Need to haggle a bit to get the best price. Our sons did a certification dive here and the staff were very helpful.


obxkaren saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Fabulous day at Corona Beach Club!, December 29, 2010
Reviewer: obxkaren

Pros: No crowds, great food, cheap beer and drinks

Cons: Cab drivers don't want to take you from port

This was our first cruise and we were on a tight budget so we decided not to do any of the ship excursions and strike out on our own. I did research through MyCozumel.com and had selected three or four of the beach clubs the folks on this site recommended.

When we arrived, there were three cruise ships in port and it was very crowded.

After spending an hour or so shopping at the port - same old junky beach stuff we have here (we live at the beach in NC) - we flagged a cab down outside the port area after asking a local which beach he recommended - he told us Corona Beach Club. Cab ride was $10 for four of us. It is about a 5-10 minute ride from port.

When we arrived, there were only two other families there -- the kids rented snorkling gear for $10 and had a great time. The water is easy to access with no steep steps or rocks. Beer and drinks were super cheap and the food was excellent. think our entire bill for the five5 hours we were there was $56.00 and we sampled much of the menu! I believe a family operates this small club and the service was excellent - they offer massages and came around and gave each of us a free five-minute one.

An excursion boat arrived and deposited a group of snorklers about 500 yards from where we were -- the group snorkled for about 45 minutes in the same spots my children were and then returned to the excursion boat. My kids snorkled for hours!

Folks came and went and there were never more than 20-30 people while we were there.

It was a wonderful, relaxing day in the sun in beautiful Cozumel and I highly recommend it if want a quiet spot to snorkle, enjoy the sunshine and beautiful views, and get away from the crowds!


cheepskate saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Great beach bars (and beaches) on opposite side of island from cruise terminals, December 17, 2010
Reviewer: cheepskate

Pros: Great beaches -- $1 beers -- fresh seafood

Cons: Nothing

If you are able, rent a scooter (approx. $50 US/day.) Traffic is easy and the the main roads are fine and safe. VW convertibles and off road jeeps are also available.


coffeelady saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Great time in Cozumel, September 7, 2010
Reviewer: coffeelady

Pros: Small island, easy to get around, lots of fun things to do

Cons: Kind of touristy

We had a great time in Cozumel. As it's home to some of the best coral reefs in the world, we decided to go snorkeling. We did a three-reef dive with a local company and had a blast.

We also went to one of the beach clubs and got a massage by the waterside -- heavenly!

We'd love to go back and rent a jeep and drive around the island. Lots of our friends had a blast in Cozumel this way! The water is gorgeous and was a great temperature when we were there in August. Just make sure to wear your sunscreen, because you will NEED IT!


bsdesigns saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Third time is a charm! Can't wait to go back to Cozumel in two weeks for #3!, August 31, 2010
Reviewer: bsdesigns

Pros: We love the size of the island and the shopping

Cons: Saw mostly rough water - not very good for snorkling on our visits, so we shop!

We decided to rent a two-seater small dune buggy for around $80 from a name brand rental company and were thrilled. They gave us a simple map and there is one main road all the way around and very easy to follow.

We stopped at local shops as well as restaurants.
Silver jewelry, clay pottery and hammocks are some of their specialities. Start to walk away and prices come down.

Make sure you leave enough time to refill the gas tank before returning vechicle (one tank will get you all the way around the island) but there is usually a line at the gas station and we ended up getting back to the ship with minutes to spare the first time.

We like it so much we did the same thing the second time...not sure but will probably do the same in two weeks.


aduran saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Swimming away with the dolphins!, July 19, 2010
Reviewer: aduran

Pros: Clean and friendly experience with the dolphins

Cons: High prices at the pier

We went swimming with the dolphins while in Cozumel. While this excursion was a bit pricey I felt we got what we paid for. We got 40 minutes in the water with an 11-t dolphin at the Dolphinaris. Our dolphin shook our hand, gave us a kiss, and even let us ride him. Our experience with his trainer was very good and her English was great!

Afterward, we were fed lunch and watched the later classes work with the dolphins. The food was great, the service was great, the experience was great! This is a once in a lifetime experience...don't miss out on it!

Beware of the high prices and fake items at the pier. Negotiating will be hard to do in some of the shops and if it sounds too good to be true when it comes to jewelry it probably is!


Emily saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Lots of fun, great shopping deals, April 13, 2010
Reviewer: Emily

Pros: Beautiful beaches

Cons: The town is a bit shabby

Our last visit to Cozumel included a party boat excursion, with snorkeling in the morning and lunch at a private beach in the afternoon. We enjoyed the excursion a lot - I tried to get my money's worth in beer and almost succeeded! We saw a lot of fish while snorkeling and lunch was good. They also provided kayaks for going around near the beach and that was quite nice. They had floaties but we didn't use those. Our son played volleyball with the other guests. On the way back to the ship there was music and dancing. We all had a blast!

The town itself just hasn't been the same since they had those bad hurricanes a few years back... it seems shabby and a little depressing. The shopping is good, though... we found some nice jewelry.

Next time we go back I would like to try going to the beaches on the other side. The island is beautiful!

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!