CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Holland America Line (HAL) Reviews

HAL Westerdam reviews


HAL Westerdam reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.33 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.204.20
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.304.30
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.204.20
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.174.17
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.404.40
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.404.40
SpaSpa = 3.503.50
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.444.44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.894.89




HAL Westerdam itineraries and information



daktam saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Very comfortable ship -- great space per passenger, February 5, 2017
Reviewer: daktam

Pros: High ratio of space/passenger gives ample room on decks and in lounges.

Cons: Nothing serious

Date of cruise: January 18, 2017

Departure port: San Diego

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 6153

As noted in the "professional review," the Westerdam is unique in its providing a high ratio of space, relative to a moderate number of passengers. This gives us plenty of room to walk the Promenade deck (3) and upper deck (10) without crowding, or even having to walk up/down stairs while completing a circle (unlike some larger ships).

There is also ample room in the main entertainment theater (no reservations needed, but come early for good seats), and various public areas where relaxation and sea views are easy.

Our verandah suite (6153) was well designed, albeit "cozy" at 249 sq. ft. including a nice sized verandah with unobstructed views. It was also very quiet, had plenty of storage and closet space, and came with a DVD player (unlike comparably priced cabins on some other cruise lines). The flat screen TVs (at 21" or so) need updating, but were "watchable."

Cabin service was outstanding, and almost equaled by the great service in the main dining room and Lido Market deck (the best Lido Deck food and service we've had in 10+ cruises).

We also appreciated the cruise line providing us with space and equipment for duplicate bridge during the 11 sea days (out of 17) on the cruise, although it took a lot of "pushing" by bridge players and three professional bridge "directors" who were passengers and generously volunteered their services for free. It is hoped that future Holland America cruises will automatically include duplicate bridge, which is increasingly important to many cruise passengers.

Entertainment in the main theater was not as good as previous HA cruises. With a couple of exceptions, the entertainers were mediocre. The smaller lounges had better talent, especially BB King and Adagio.

One final comment is that even through some heavy seas, the ship's stability was very good, even in the rear dining rooms and our cabin, which was towards the rear.
We would happily sail the Westerdam again.


yeocom saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Outstanding crew, delicious meals and very well managed ship., August 9, 2015
Reviewer: yeocom

Pros: It was everything we had expected and more!

Cons: Smoking should be banned entirely in the casino!!!

Date of cruise: July 18, 2015

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 8090

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We chose HAL, from our previous experience with them, as an upscale, good value cruise line. The Westerdam is an extremely well run ship with courteous, efficient and friendly staff. Its medium size made getting about and off/on the ship easy.

We absolutely loved the SY room on the Navigation deck. It was spacious and convenient to everything. The cabin stewards (Pitoko and Gede) took excellent care of the four rooms in a row for our family and they remembered everyone's name and always were happy and pleasant when seeing us. The formal and "neat casual" dressing for dinner was exactly what we wanted for our grandchildren to experience.

The food was delicious in all the restaurants. I suggest that the main dining room have some basic chicken or meat dishes available rather than always "gourmet" selections. The evening's entertainment was good clean family performances that we all enjoyed.

Although it does not have the activities (which we wanted to avoid in favor of elegance) of other cruise lines, our grandchildren ages 8-18 were thoroughly pleased with the pool and HAL Club. The number 1, and only, negative to report is the smoking in the casino--it should be banned entirely. To get to the main theater, you pass by the casino which stunk and left you smelling of smoke.

Bottom line: Cruise with HAL.


c5driver saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Outstanding experience due to overall staff performance and amenities, June 6, 2013
Reviewer: c5driver

Pros: The staff was beyond words. The level of attentiveness and courtesy was amazing

Cons: The spa was a high pressure environment, upselling products and services

Date of cruise: June 25, 2013

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Suite

Cabin number: 7151

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

We can't say enough good things about the level of service, cleanliness, quality of food at the specialty restaurants, ports, and overall cruise experience.

HAL should be commended for the Vista design! Except for the mandatory lifeboat drill, at no time (including disembarkation) did we feel like the dreaded packed sardine that seems to be on other cruise ships/cruise lines. The Westerdam captain, crew, and staff were professional, fastidious in their cleanliness, and extremely attentive. Just a world class ship and a great cruise experience!


gr7745 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
The ship has a terrible climate control system and temperatures rapidly vary, December 28, 2012
Reviewer: gr7745

Pros: Dining room staff and their service; night shows are very good.

Cons: Front desk staff is not good; easy to get sick due to the temperature variation.

Date of cruise: December 8, 2012

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Outside

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Although I am dedicated to Holland America I would not recommend this ship due to the above reasons.


kimimary saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Staff was EXCELLENT; ship was clean and food was above average, September 29, 2011
Reviewer: kimimary

Pros: The staff is so kind and helpful no matter the time of day or need

Cons: Not enough activities onboard on sea days

Date of cruise: September 17, 2011

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8014

Good for teenagers: No

Overall the Westerdam is a great ship. The decor is beyond tacky, but that's a cruise ship for you. I'm not sure if the ship was at passenger capacity, but it never felt crowded at all, even during lunch time in the Lido deck.

I was very pleased with the room stewards and other staff. I don't know how they can stay so kind for so long. We got massages in the Spa...they were ok. Seem more to focus on the relax, use this cream, smell this lotion part and not the actual removal of my knots and tight muscles. Also, the spa is right next the only through-way to the lido deck...not really conducive of relaxation.

The food was good. Portions in the dining room are very managable...if you do open seating, be sure to make reservations every day...the chances of getting a two-top (if you're a couple) is very slim if you don't have reservations.

The Pinnacle Grill is nice, but the food isn't THAT much better than the dining room menu. I recommend it only if you want a change of scene. The overall age demographic is definitely retiree. Many Aussies and New Zealanders. Overall a great experience.


jebert saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Very pleasant and enjoyable week on board., June 9, 2011
Reviewer: jebert

Pros: The staff kept us entertained, cabin stewards were excellent.

Cons: Dining room service was slow on occasion.

Date of cruise: May 28, 2011

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8009

Good for children: No

Our first Alaskan cruise aboard the Westerdam was very enjoyable. There were plenty of activities to keep adults busy; whatever activities there were for kids or teens were kept well out of the way. The cruise director and DJ kept the trivia, game shows and bingo lively.

We used the open seating option in the dining room. The service was slow at times; one night took over two hours to eat. The food portions were kept small, so you don't have to worry about gaining too much weight if you don't want to. We paid $20 each to eat in the specialty dining room one night, but I don't think it was that much better than the standard dining room.

The late night dessert extravaganza was a disappointment; it was mostly cakes which looked great but were average in taste and texture.

The shows were very professionally done, and the performers were top quality. It's best to arrive early as seating can fill up before the show starts.

All in all, it was a very pleasant week.


rsholiton saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A very pleasant 7-night S. Caribbean cruise on the Westerdam, March 30, 2011
Reviewer: rsholiton

Pros: elegant, tasteful, familiar

Cons: Last night dinner's attempt to amuse was lame. Not something HAL does well.

Date of cruise: March 18, 2011

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 4073

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

I sailed on the Westerdam on the March 18, 2011 7-nt S. Caribbean cruise from Ft. Lauderdale to Half Moon Cay, Aruba and Curacao. Having 3 sea days was one of the attractions for me. I did not disembark at Aruba because I have been there several times. On Curacao there was an interesting shore excursion combining a visit to the Hato Caves with a walking tour of Willemsted.

The food and service were as good as I have come to expect on HAL. The average age must have been around 70, which was fine with me. There were lots of Floridians and Canadians onboard. Many people were staying aboard for a second week with an E. Caribbean itinerary.

The production shows were a big improvement over HAL's shows of old. I thought there could have been more shipboard activities on sea days. There was no lecturer aboard, which was a pity. I don't like the location of the Exploration Cafe up on deck 10 abutting the Crow's Nest. The noise from the Crow's Nest activities makes reading a problem. On the Noordam, the Exploration Cafe is more private and conveniently located near the dining room.
Although there were paintings in the Art Gallery, no one was staffing it and there were no auctions. (That's fine with me! Less bad art in the world.) When I asked at the front desk, they said service was "suspended." The merchandise in the shops seemed a bit shlockier than usual.

All in all, it was a very pleasant week and I can warmly recommend the cruise to anyone who prefers a quieter style of cruising.


bgreene480 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
We would definitely cruise again with this line and this ship, October 30, 2010
Reviewer: bgreene480

Pros: Staff and food were excellent

Cons: Our cabin was poorly laid out, kept hitting sofa when getting up from bed.

Date of cruise: October 14, 2017

Departure port: Piraeus, Greece

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 1111

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Generally, an excellent cruise. However, I would not upgrade again. From what I've seen the interior rooms were more spacious than the one we had.

This was an older crowd and whoever designed the entertainment should have taken that into consideration. Although the entertainment was generally outstanding, the choreography (when HAL dancers were used) all seemed the same to me.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff; they were wonderful.

I thought the shore excursions were extremely pricey and I would recommend that you hire a taxi; you can do it yourself much more economically. I feel the same way about booking air flights. I can do it more reasonably and I can select my seats. Booking through the cruise line locks you into the cheapest seats they can buy and you have no choice of where you sit.


Bazin saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Beautiful ship, wonderful crew!, August 23, 2010
Reviewer: Bazin

Pros: Never seemed crowded. Beautiful ship in every way

Cons: Nothing

Date of cruise: March 1, 2010

Departure port: Port Everglades

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

FANTASTIC SHIP!


upforlifenow saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
We had a great time, the staff was excellent and we enjoyed all the ports., July 15, 2010
Reviewer: upforlifenow

Pros: The food in the main dining room was as good as the specialty dining room.

Cons: Cooking classes were canceled.

Date of cruise: March 10, 2009

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: I don't recall.

Holland America really knows how to get all the guests on and off quickly. Fastest ship I have ever been on.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!