CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Royal Caribbean International (RCL) Reviews

RCL Vision of the Seas reviews


RCL Vision of the Seas reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.26 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.803.80
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.403.40
EntertainmentEntertainment = 2.802.80
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.753.75
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.403.40
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.203.20
SpaSpa = 3.333.33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 1.001.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 3.003.00




RCL Vision of the Seas itineraries and information



jcbrbr saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 11
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
This was a special birthday cruise for us, and we were not impressed, May 13, 2016
Reviewer: jcbrbr

Pros: Diamond Club Concierge

Cons: Dining service, bar service, food in main dining room, forgot the birthday!

Date of cruise: April 30, 2016

Departure port: Barcelona, Spain

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 8056

Requested birthday acknowledgement prior to boarding -- totally forgot. Ran out of food and beverages (@Chops Grill-no more "jumbo shrimp", ran out of Crown Royal and club soda in the casino), poor dinner service. Had My Time dining and every night we moved hoping for better service, and it wasn't. Not the normal service we expect as loyal RC cruisers.

Evening entertainment was disappointing and sea days didn't offer much available "to do". Most just read a book. Tried the casino but was told the dealers for the tables were "in training"-- try back later. Booked a Jr. Suite for the special cruise, but the room was smaller than our friends who booked a balcony room.


Swirlingsun saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great cruise -- happy staff, July 17, 2014
Reviewer: Swirlingsun

Pros: Nice vacation --Smooth transitions onto the ship and disembarking

Cons: Specialty dining staff attempts to get people to make reservations

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 8094

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We are a family of four, with children ages 9 (boy) and 13(girl). We came with another family of four. We loved the junior suite that looks aft on deck 8. It was the first cruise for the kids. Our room was very clean and the steward was visible if we needed anything, but unobtrusive.

The closet had hangers and fit all of our dressy clothes. I think we would have liked to know there was only one formal night. Royal Caribbean lists on it's website that a 5-night cruise usually has one formal and one "smart casual" night for dinner.

We attempted to get seating with our friends in the dining room but after asking the maitre d' three times several hours before dinner we just gave up.

We loved the policy that lets you bring two bottles of wine per cabin on board at the beginning of the cruise. We invited our friends over and ordered a cheese tray from room service (included!) for a couple of nights.

The teens hung out in the teen room for a few hours each cruising day and roamed the ship together. They were not too interested in the salsa dancing lessons their parents enjoyed!

We all liked the night time movies -- Muppets and Divergent.
Our son enjoyed the digital scavenger hunt and special kids' menu, especially the brownie madness dessert!

The pools were very crowded in the day, but hot tubs and pools were much more accessible in the evening. Be aware that pool towel service stops at 8 p.m., even though the pool is open to 10. Kids planned to swim during the movie and had no towels because they had closed already.

We enjoyed the aerialist show in the middle of the ship and the flag ceremony that highlights crew members from about 59 countries. We were impressed there were so many languages spoken on board by staff.

Deciding on a drink plan was one of the most challenging decisions before cruising this ship.

We ate at the Windjammer buffet for breakfast and lunch and the formal dining for dinner. During the day, lemonade and fruit punch/water/tea/coffee was free. My husband and his friend enjoyed the whiskey tasting and a martini class.

We would cruise this ship again!


MRED38 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
An excellent deal -- some reservations concerning staff and maintenance, August 6, 2012
Reviewer: MRED38

Pros: Good staff

Cons: Lacked good maintenance and training of staff members

Date of cruise: July 21, 2012

Departure port: Stockholm

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3060

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Old ship therefore many maintenance problems: Cabin facilities broken for days, four restrooms were broken and closed near the dining rooms which caused concern when dining, lack of water and hot water at 7 a.m. without notice to cabins.

Was given two different policies of the ship from two guest relations officers at desk -- seemed they were not trained on their own policies. We wanted to tip the service in the Windjammer, but the policy was to use the total tip program or pay cash to each server -- all or none on ship card pass account. What??

We ate in Windjammer Buffet each day and the food was great and varied. We felt the dining room was too structured, like on a time clock. We loved the ability to just go when we wanted to eat and drink.

Ship did not make any reference to Hop On-Hop Off tours in town but only those that they offered. Cruisers need to also consider hop on-hop off as they are a great way to see and spend time at various stops instead of rushing through with a busload. We loved the cruise and will continue to cruise.


manheim saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Overall the ship is nice but a little dated., July 31, 2010
Reviewer: manheim

Pros: The friendly staff always appeared willing to provide good service

Cons: It was obvious Royal Caribbean is cutting back on food quality.

Date of cruise: July 18, 2010

Departure port: Stockholm, Sweden

Region visited: Scandinavia

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 2563

Baltic Cruise - From Stockholm, Sweden

Overall the Vision was nice and it was a small ship that never felt overcrowded. The ports of call on the cruise were a lot of fun and what made the cruise.

The pros:
- Service
- The food in dining room was good.
- Boat never felt overcrowded

Cons
- Royal is cutting back on food quality in buffet area. Some of the dishes were not good
- Also food on this ship is basically cut off at 9 p.m. every night. So if you are a person who wants a late night snack forget it.
- Entertainment is not good
- Not much to do on a sea day

If you go on this ship, only do it for the ports that you are seeing. You will not be impressed with the ship itself especially if you have been on larger Royal ships.

This cruise went to Stockholm, Helsinki, Russia, Poland, Visby. The ports were great.

Overall, great ports, the boat was just okay.


kika404 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Good ship, great service and food., July 28, 2010
Reviewer: kika404

Pros: Food, destinations, service

Cons: Entertainment, price of drinks

Date of cruise: August 26, 2007

Departure port: long Beach, ca

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This ship was 4 out of 5 stars. We would definitely consider going again but would stay in a room with a view and hope to attend more entertainment events.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!