CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Celebrity Cruises Reviews

Celebrity Summit reviews


Celebrity Summit reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.19 / 5

Average Rating based on 14 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.294.29
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.933.93
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.214.21
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.204.20
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.544.54
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.463.46
SpaSpa = 4.334.33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.334.33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.624.62




Celebrity Summit itineraries and information



council1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent service staff in cabin, dining room and all over ship and great shows., July 12, 2014
Reviewer: council1

Pros: Service and shows were best on the cruise. Food in dining room was very good.

Cons: Balcony cabin a bit smaller than on other lines, even on Concierge level.

Date of cruise: June 29, 2014

Departure port: Bayonne

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9118

Good for children: Yes

Cruise to Bermuda from Bayonne, N.J., was easy to board and disembark. Celebrity's process is better than other cruise lines I've been on.

The cabin stewards and waitstaff in the dining room were most attentive to our needs. AJ, our maitre'd, made sure to visit our table each evening and was excellent and made sure that our needs were met. The food was excellent to good, and if we didn't like something, our waiter offered to bring us a different selection. Very attentive were Mel and Ruth.

The three musical reviews were quality shows. The cabaret singer, comedian, and the Tenors of Rock were also excellent shows. If you are a party person, then cruising is for you because the nightlife is very active.

The Thalassotherapy pool is wonderful for getting kinks out of your aching back and neck. Very relaxing. Loved afternoon teas. Celebrity staff did go out of their way to make this cruise enjoyable. The captain made the trip enjoyable (I believe that in a prior life he was a stand-up comic).

The stateroom was a bit smaller than on other ships, but I believe that this ship is a lot older than some of Celebrity's other ships. Concierge level may not be worth it, because we really didn't see a difference in the service that others received. We did get a tote bag and got savory snacks in the afternoon, but not worth paying the extra for Concierge level.

We had rain the first day in Bermuda and had to cancel our beach day. Celebrity refunded our entire tour amount because we booked it with the ship's tour desk. That was very nice. If you are not a beach person, then going to Bermuda is not the trip for you as the beaches are the main attraction there.

We took a 4-1/2 hour tour of Bermuda, nice but not exactly exciting. Shopping is good at the Dockyard Wharf, especially the glass blowing and rum cake factory are good stops to make. Be prepared to pay a lot for anything in Bermuda. It is more expensive than ports in the Caribbean. Bermudians are very nice people to talk to and are very accessible if you need to ask questions.


JAYGOLF325 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent experience throughout entire week!, February 27, 2014
Reviewer: JAYGOLF325

Pros: Staff, food and everything about this cruise was excellent!

Cons: Nightly entertainment was fair at best, comedian there for one night was ok!

Date of cruise: February 15, 2014

Departure port: SAN JUAN PUERTO RICO

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6053

Overall this cruise was excellent. From all staff members to the full variety of food, everything was exceptional. Couldn't ask for more.


mikegaan saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Expectations based on ratings perhaps too high, January 16, 2014
Reviewer: mikegaan

Pros: Entertainment, food, itinerary

Cons: Cabin/balcony condition (suite); taste of Royal Carib nickel-diming

Date of cruise: January 4, 2014

Departure port: Puerto Rico

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 8121

The "good":
Good itinerary (our primary cruise criterion); food, especially in the café/buffet - great ethnic variety and well prepared. Entertainment excellent, ship's staff as well as headliners. Crew very helpful and pleasant, with perhaps one or two exceptions at the 'customer service/excursion' desk.

The 'Not so good':
Looks aged. Carpet in the suite had large coffee stains, as did the balcony deck. Rust spots clearly evident in the overhang. TV intermittent - discovered a loose antenna cable (stewards stuff pillows behind TV when turning down beds for the evening loosening/straining connections). Wi-Fi packages a little steep, which goes with an overall hint of nickel-diming found on Royal Carib (2 cruise experience-Carib, Baltic - won't use them again). $14/day for water? In a suite? Include it in the cruise price. It's not the money, its the perception of being squeezed; maybe OK for a basic cruise line, but not for a brand aspiring to be upscale. Have been on Cunard twice in the last year, and Regent a few years before, and never got that vibe.

Opinion: We are not a demanding couple, and don't particularly look for or want excessive 'service' preferring to get things ourselves. A butler was not a big plus for us, and we rarely asked for anything. For that reason, I will probably go with a balcony vs. a junior suite in future. The 'amenities' just weren't that big a deal.


eajack saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Friendly/pleasant staff, pleasing if unspectacular decor, good food, small cabin, December 7, 2013
Reviewer: eajack

Pros: Service

Cons: Tight ocean-view cabin

Date of cruise: November 23, 2013

Departure port: San Juan

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3073

Nice ship, good crew, good food, good entertainment but surprisingly small outside cabin.


aileen1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
First cruise so nothing to compare but overall fantastic repeatable experience -, November 25, 2013
Reviewer: aileen1

Pros: Food, staff, hygiene

Cons: None to mention

Date of cruise: November 9, 2013

Departure port: San Juan

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7091

Good for children: No

To start with the food was superb ... variety, service, knowledge of staff to mention a few. Normally I don't go for buffet meals as they tend to be lukewarm at best but in Summit's case they were always piping hot. For cold foods .... the salads were to die for.

The range of activities provided daily was good and my view is that it would be very easy to do a cruise like this on your own ... everything is laid on. There's never a spare minute if you don't want one. However, be aware that a lot of the activities are spa and treatment upsells.

If you want some quiet time that's easy too .... there are two libraries and its easy to eek out a favorite quiet spot in the ship too.

If you want "action" that's easy to find too. Normally loads of activity at the pool and if you're feeling athletic there's a running track on deck 11.

Staff are extremely helpful and attentive but not "in your face."

Only thing missing for me was a cinema.

Overall excellent cruise ship and to be recommended. This was my first cruise but of the people that I spoke to that could compare with other cruise lines they liked Celebrity the best.


kaj822 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Wonderful ship with excellent crew!, October 13, 2013
Reviewer: kaj822

Pros: Compact ship, easy to get around

Cons: Rooms need attention -- old, but clean!

Date of cruise: September 21, 2013

Departure port: Cape liberty, Bayonne

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7073

Nothing bad to say. I have been on many cruises and enjoyed this ship and itinerary.

Wonderful crew, some of the best IMHO. Food was not the best I have had on a ship, but I have no complaints -- all meals thoroughly enjoyed.

We had a norovirus outbreak which didn't allow for self serve in buffet or dining room, but overworked staff handled well with smiles. Entertainment was good not great.

Embarkation and disembarkation was no problem. I would cruise on Summit again without hesitation.


weluvcrusin saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Would travel with the Summit again., September 6, 2013
Reviewer: weluvcrusin

Pros: Staff was great, food better then most cruise lines.

Cons: Ship is showing age.

Departure port: Bayonne, NJ

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2134 and 2138

My family and I traveled on the Summit August 25 - September 1, 2013, traveling to Bermuda. We had two outside cabins. My wife and I in one and my mother-in-law and two children ages 10 and 12 in the other.

Arrived at Bayonne NJ around 11 a.m. and was onboard the ship by 11:45. Very smooth. The food onboard was better then most other cruise lines. It is not as good as it once was, back in the days when Michael Roux was running the food.

The staff was very good especially our waiter Carlos and his assistant Mauricio. They were excellent and made going to dinner each night a joy. The shows in the main theater were very good as was the entertainment around the ship in the various bars. We found Brandi Paige the guitarist/vocalist to be excellent and hope to see her show again. Jordan Peterson and Jefferson Ang were also very enjoyable as was the band Flava.

Captain Theodore was very visible and interacted with the guests happily. The Summit does show signs of age but don't we all. Celebrity is doing it's best to keep this older ship current but you can see some outdated decor. The pools were a little small for 2000+ guests and they had no kiddie pool. There was a blow-up one, but not what I would expect on a cruise ship.

The buffets were repetitive but I have found this to be the same on all the cruise lines I have been on(RCL, Carnival, NCL, Princess). The port of Bermuda was beautiful. We were there three days and leaving and re-entering the ship could not have been smoother. We rented mopeds on the Island and were able to park them right at the gangway of the ship each night.

The trip back home was smooth sailing. On a scale of 1 to 10. (1 being poor and 10 being excellent), I would rate this cruise an 8.5. We would travel on Celebrity again and probably on the Summit as well. As for my kids, they did love the cruise but they love cruising. We did not find this ship to be that kid-friendly.


hula2010 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
A little disappointing, compared to Royal Caribbean, September 6, 2011
Reviewer: hula2010

Pros: Ice cold towels and drinks offered dockside were SUPER!!

Cons: Quite a bit of misinformation, staff not following up on requests, inquiries

Departure port: Bayonne, NJ

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9043

Several small things can add up to a less than stellar vacation...Omelette stations 'ran out' of spinach after the third day and the chefs just said they didn't have any. When I inquired on the third day why they ran out so early in the cruise, a dining room manager went to check, then came to tell me they DID have spinach, and offered to make me new omelette. As I didn't want to waste the one I already had begun to eat, I refused, but appreciated his offer. It just shouldn't have taken my inquiry to a supervisor to get this item up to the food station.

During an afternoon bite to eat at the poolside grill, I was seated at the first table nearest the drink dispenser area. I stood up to get a glass of iced tea, leaving my half eaten hamburger for 90 seconds TOPS, and when I returned, a staffer had removed my food and thrown it away. When I asked him if he had taken the tray away, he just said yes, no apology or offer to replace the burger...ANNOYING.

There was no Catholic or Christian services listed in the daily planner. I happened to see a sign on Deck 3 about a Catholic service to be held at 3 p.m. on Sunday. When I found the room it was supposed to be in, we found out it was a do-it-yourself service, with no one from the ship's staff or chaplain there to conduct anything...Thanks, I can pray in my stateroom.

Drink quality very inconsistent. We had a concierge class stateroom, as did three other family members (four concierge class rooms out of eight in our party). We received a bottle of champagne upon leaving Bayonne to begin our trip; three or four nights later, the other concierge staterooms all received another complimentary bottle of champagne but we did not. When I inquired with our attendant, Belinda, she said she would check with her supervisor. She never got back to us for the rest of our trip.I was NOT happy.

Decor of staterooms VERY non-stylish with very western-cowboy-like draperies, not matching the bedding, not matching the framed print above the couch.

On the positive side: Dining room staff, pool/bar waiters, especially Bobby Chen, were very good...acapella group, the Neptunes, and comedian Troy Thirdgill, were great...overall an OK trip...


gramps saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
gooG cruise for the money, December 9, 2010
Reviewer: gramps

Pros: The staff/service and the entertainment were excellent

Cons: Bad place to begin your cruise with so many noisy Puerto Ricans on board

Date of cruise: November 27, 2010

Departure port: San Juan

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2026

This was a good value for your money vacation. The ports visited were good and the scheduling was great.

The ship needs to be updated, cleaned up.

The one thing I found a little disturbing was that this cruise line was comparable to a cheap Carnival ship with too many noisy Puerto Ricans on board. I guess many organizations or groups got together and thought they owned the ship.

I guess that's why Celebrity Cruise line has to lower the rate to get you to fly to San Juan.

I rate the San Juan port great, but the Pan American port used by Royal Caribbean Corp. for this cruise was terrible.


tcambron saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
14-day Mediterranean cruise from Venice to Barcelona, September 6, 2010
Reviewer: tcambron

Pros: Service and food excellent

Cons: Ship showing age

Date of cruise: November 14, 2009

Departure port: Venice, Italy

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8166

Good for children: No




fuchs saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
We very much enjoyed our cruise experience on the Summit, August 1, 2010
Reviewer: fuchs

Pros: The service in the main dining room and entertainment were excellent.

Cons: Sabbath service was not printed in the Friday daily program.

Date of cruise: July 18, 2010

Departure port: Port Liberty, New Jersey

Region visited: North America

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 3102

Very nice cruise experience. Requested some kosher meals in the main dining room and that was accomodated nicely. The cruise left from Port Liberty in New Jersey. We live in Maryland. It was nice to be able to drive to the port and park our car. Accomodations and facilities on the Summit were very nice.


reba0818 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
The ship was okay, nothing spectacular. We liked Carnival Splendor more, July 16, 2010
Reviewer: reba0818

Pros: The Aqua Spa was a nice touch, but everything else was just fair or below fair

Cons: The food in main dining room was inferior to what we've had on Carnival ships

Date of cruise: July 4, 2010

Departure port: bayonne, new jersey

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3019

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

Staff on the ship was very good, the appearance of the ship was good, but the food from the main dining room was average or below...maybe the worst we have had in 10 cruises.

The dining room was only open two days of seven for lunch -- actually one of those was a brunch, the other a lunch.We waited a half hour for a waiter on that one lunch day, and everyone at our table for 12 felt that our waiter had neglected to show up for the shift or a waiter hadn't been assigned to our table. We spoke to other people on the ship that were at other tables during this particular lunch and found that they encountered the same problem.

We had breakfast on the 10th floor one morning, requesting an omelet. We wanted rye or wheat toast but the only bread available at that station was white bread! We had our omelet without toast that morning, hardly what I expect while on vacation.

We went to the grill one afternoon for burgers. When we forgot to mention to the acting chef behind the counter that we didn't want rolls for our burger, after he'd put it on the plate, he looked at us like he would like to throw the roll at us!

This was our first cruise with Celebrity, I wasn't left with the best impression of the cruise line.


skozinn saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great cruise to Bermuda, but ship was much more worn than I expected., July 12, 2010
Reviewer: skozinn

Pros: Nice layout, good food, great restaurant-the Normandy.

Cons: Very shopworn ship,hard time getting deck chairs in the shade.

Date of cruise: June 27, 2010

Departure port: Cape Liberty,NJ

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

We usually go on Royal Caribbean, but decided to try Celebrity because we had heard it was a "step up". The Summit was not a step up, rather a step down from the RCCL ships we have been on.

The ship is shopworn, very tired looking. There are no cozy spaces to have a drink or just enjoy the view. All the bars are very large and run into one another. It was often hard to get our drink order taken and once we had to leave to go to dinner because in 15 minutes, a waiter never came over for our order.

The staff is very friendly and nice. A huge issue was getting deck chairs in the shade. There is a SEVERE shortage of chairs in the shade. They really need to do something about this. It is really a spoiler on a vacation.


loricar3 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great cruise and destination...Bermuda., June 18, 2010
Reviewer: loricar3

Pros: Great food, Bermuda is beautiful, my kids were entertained all the time.

Cons: No more Gala Buffet.

Date of cruise: June 6, 2010

Departure port: Bayonne

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2127

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

The Neptunes were our favorite entertainment on the ship. They were an a capella group of four guys. My kids were entertained all day....they'd be waiting for us at the dinner table.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!