CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Princess Cruises Reviews

Star Princess reviews


Star Princess reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.52 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 5.005.00
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.674.67
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.333.33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.004.00
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.834.83
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.834.83
SpaSpa = 4.504.50
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.004.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.834.83




Star Princess itineraries and information



cscc1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Had a great time on this ship., January 23, 2014
Reviewer: cscc1

Pros: Pool in back of ship. Lots of jacuzzies.

Cons: N/A

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

The experience was great. The ship turned 360 degrees for both sides of the ship to see the glaciers. Great tours.


hygeen saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The best customer service-oriented ship we have ever been on, September 7, 2012
Reviewer: hygeen

Pros: Nothing was self service anymore

Cons: I do not have any cons on this subject

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 11624

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Horizon Court has a much better flow and there is more wait staff to help you, even if it is just to bring a glass of water. I loved the International Cafe on deck 5 and the free ice cream on the pool deck. It is nice to have more free food options around the ship.

The only cons were the production shows. They seem to be going downhill. The band only played for one show and they used recorded music for the rest of the shows. Only one of the four singers was Princess-caliber entertainment.

I would highly recommend this ship. It was spotless. The food and staff were welcoming and wonderful.


mkazmer saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Fabulous 10 day Souther Caribbean Cruise, April 10, 2011
Reviewer: mkazmer

Pros: International Cafe, Aft Pool, Ports

Cons: Everything was a pro for us

Date of cruise: March 24, 2011

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: B209

Review of Star Princess
Sailing Date March 24 2011 to April 3, 2011

Just returned from a fabulous 10 day cruise aboard the Star Princess. Let me give you a little background. We are a retired couple living in Florida and we love to cruise. Our first cruise together was in 1987 and this cruise was our 35th cruise. We have experienced many lines-Commodore, NCL, RCCL, Carnival, Costa, MSC, Premier, HAL, Celebrity and Princess. Our cruiseline of choice for the past 4 of our last 5 cruises has been Princess-this being our 8th cruise overall with them. We were on a 7 day cruise last year on the Star and truly enjoyed the ship.

This cruise was a celebration of a birthday and also a precursor to our 25th wedding anniversary which is in June. We booked it very last minute – approximately 2.5 weeks out from the sailing date. We booked an inside guarantee and were upgraded ultimately to a balcony cabin on Baja deck starboard side. What a way to start a cruise! It turned out to be a great location – forward – no noise.

We use the Cruise Connection bus service in Florida to travel to Port Everglades. As we were leaving on a Thursday, we knew that the port would not be crowded – and it wasn't. We arrived about noon and were onboard within 15 minutes and found our cabin, introduced ourselves to our cabin steward Efrem, and found lunch in the Lido. We are very familiar with the layout of this ship and others in her class. We particularly like the Star, Grand, Golden, Diamond and Sapphire since they all hold approximately 2600 passengers and the aft deck on Lido deck is larger than the other Grand class ships. We have sailed on the Grand (twice) Golden (twice) Star(now twice), Crown and Ruby.

The ports were very important to us on this cruise-we were to dock in Aruba, Bonaire, Grenada, Dominica, St. Thomas and Princess Cays with 3 sea days. We hadn't been to Aruba since 1994 and had never been to Bonaire or Dominica. We started off with two sea days, then docked in Aruba on a Sunday-weren't sure what would be open but 90% of the town was open. The Island Princess was docked forward of us and we were both right in town. We enjoyed a full afternoon of walking and exploring the town. Spent a good bit of time at the Renaissance property – it has everything, marina, restaurants, pool, beach, hotel – all in the middle of Oranjested. Very enjoyable day.

Bonaire was next and what a wonderful surprise it was. Again, docked alongside the town of Kralendijk-a very laid back lovely little town. The German ship Aida was in port with us.
There was an outdoor market as we got off the ship full of handmade, local offerings-and the shops in town were low key and local – nothing like the other islands who all pretty much have a lot of the same shops. The walk along the water led to beaches and snorkeling areas – water crystal clear and we enjoyed watching the beautiful parrot fish play in the water. Many people had brought their own snorkel gear and were enjoying the water right there. It is a place that we would go back to stay for a week or so-very relaxing and laid back-no traffic to speak of-cute shops, restaurants and understated places to stay.

Grenada was next-we got off, walked around for exercise and reboarded the ship-this is not an island that we particularly enjoy – but I understand that the rain forest is lovely and there are beaches, zip lining and snorkeling there. Since we practically live on a beach, that really isn't a draw for us.

Dominica was a bit like Grenada-but again the people who went to the beaches really seemed to enjoy them-we walked around the outside market and some shops-prices were very high here-very easy to walk though-docked right in town.

The next day was St. Thomas-since we have been all over that island so many times we usually don't get off the ship when we call there – but we docked at Havensight (usually with Princess we had been at Crown Bay) and we were able to see that the area just adjacent to Havensight had been redeveloped after the hurricane damage and it had been done very nicely. It is still called Yacht Haven but now has docks for very large yachts, a really nice marina facility, very upscale shops in the Galleria and restaurants as well as condos. It is very tasteful. We did walk into Charlotte Amalie-spent a bit of time and then walked back to the ship. We agreed that the Havensight area and now Yacht Haven were much more to our liking for shopping. Over the years we have sampled most of the beaches on St. Thomas and have stayed at the Marriott at Frenchmans Reef and also spent a good bit of time on St. John. All those things are still lovely.

A sea day was next and then Princess Cays-on Eluthera Island in the Bahamas-always a lovely place- we got the tender off the ship later in the day and enjoyed the island a bit-it is a beautiful facility there and the tender ride so nice – seas pretty calm.

The areas of the ship we most enjoyed were the International Cafe and the Aft Pool deck. Spent a good bit of time in each – we like to be outside whenever possible. The International Cafe in in the Piazza and offers a quick breakfast, lunch offerings and wonderful rolls and sweet things all day long – fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and impromptu entertainment through the day and fabulous coffee drinks both hot and iced. I got a coffee card which entitles you to all the real brewed coffee you want and then you have 15 punches for specialty coffees and we truly enjoyed them. It is a bargain if you are a coffee lover. And the International Cafe is a great place to sit and read and people watch.

The Aft Pool deck is large and set up with the Outrigger bar, and lots of tables for eating as well as a large sun deck and of course the pool which is an adult pool. The main pools are midship and one of them has a roof that can be open or closed-both very nice pools and lots of activity going on there all day. There is a forward pool that is adjacent to the Spa and gym area – it is a wave pool and adults only as well. I like to go there first thing in the morning.

We always opt for Anytime Dining with Princess and favored the Capri restaurant this time on Plaza Deck. Food was excellent as was the service and we never waited more than 10 minutes for a table for two which we prefer at dinner. We ate in the dining room for most of breakfasts and lunches and shared a table most of the time-met some lovely people and had great conversations. We found the dinner in the Lido excellent as well and ate there twice for dinner and also had a few breakfasts there as well as some lunches – we also took our lunch to our cabin and ate on the balcony a number of times and also enjoyed snacks and a cocktail there as we sailed away each day. Had coffee out there in the am and had breakfast in the International Cafe as well-they have a wonderful Granola and Yogurt as well as breakfast pasteries and an egg and sausage sandwich. The pizza was good and the cheeseburgers good too. As you can tell we enjoyed the food!

W are Platinum level with Princess and that allows us free internet time as well as discounted drinks in Skywalkers each evening. There is a cocktail of the day and complimentary Hor'dourves. Also when debarking the ship, there is a separate lounge set up with coffee, juice and rolls for us. A very nice perk since we don't have to find a place to wait to debark.

Entertainment was good-we saw some shows, the comedians on board were good and the juggler acts we liked-Frank Castiglione was the Cruise Director, George Casey was a comedian as was Dan Riley-both were funny. Aaron Bonk was a juggler and we thought quite good-offbeat act that was fun. The Doo Wop group Spanx were on board and they are just wonderful-we had seen them on other Princess cruises and they performed in the theater, the Vista lounge and the International Cafe. A bit hit with everyone! Lots of other music and dancing on board-everyone seemed to have a great time. Two formal nights-we opted out of the second one. We were treated the last day to a rehearsal of the Princess singers and dancers in the International Cafe before they went to enjoy Princess Cays-a nice treat as well. I used the gym and did the morning stretch when I got up in time. Got plenty of exercise on the ship and in ports. Other classes were offered for a fee-didn't take those. We don't do tours from the ship so I can't speak to that aspect of the cruise.

All in all it was one of our best cruises ever. Should you have any questions, please don't hesitate to e-mail me at melindakazmer@yahoo.com. We can thoroughly recommend Princess and The Star!


geekguy1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
The good far outweighs the minor problems, December 13, 2010
Reviewer: geekguy1

Pros: Food, wine selection and prices, overall value

Cons: Poor temperature control, long lines for service

Date of cruise: November 22, 2010

Departure port: Rome (Civitavecchia)

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: E519

The Star Princess is very similar to the Sapphire Princess, the ship we previously cruised on. The cabins are very well laid out, which gives as much usable space as you’re likely to get in a moderate cost cabin.

I thought the temperature control was not very good, with both our cabin (set at the lowest temperature setting) and the common areas sometimes very warm.

The food is still very good (especially the International Café for snacks or light lunches), but service is beginning to suffer now that most people just go with the ship-imposed (recommended?) daily gratuity charges instead of tipping actual individuals. Several times we needed to ask to get our water glasses refilled or have more wine poured.

Service at the purser’s desk was another source of irritation: there were almost always moderately long lines, partly because of understaffing, but mostly because you needed the purser’s desk for almost any problem that might arise. Want another copy of the Princess Patter? Stand on line. Want to get a copy of your current room charges? Stand on line because there’s no terminal where you could request that. Need foreign currency? Stand on line because all the on-board machines to do that were out of service. Still, the staff was always friendly and willing to help when they could.

The ship offers the usual activities, such as trivia once or more daily, galley tours, art auctions (free champagne!), generally decent entertainment, and an almost unlimited number of activities that get you to spend money (wine tastings, spa treatments, teeth whitening demos, and lots more). This constant nickel-and-diming, though, is no different than any other ship we’ve sailed with, and rather than be turned off by it we were able to accept it as the way we were able to get a very inexpensive cruise.

Some of these extra charges, especially drinks, wine, and boutique merchandise, seemed very reasonably priced; other profit centers (think photographs and Internet connectivity) seemed overly expensive. For coffee lovers, the coffee card (15 cups of cappuccino, latte, espresso, and more) was a good buy at $24, especially if your travel agent is able to get you the coupon booklet which includes a buy-one-get-one-free offer. That lets you get an ice-blended mocha caramel coffee for under a buck. With the card, premium fresh brewed coffee, hot chocolate, and premium tea are always available for free.


winebuff saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Would not hesitate to cruise again on the Star Princess, August 3, 2010
Reviewer: winebuff

Pros: Loved the ports and food

Cons: Had to come home

Date of cruise: April 3, 2010

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: ?

Good for children: Yes

We were a group of first-timers, seasoned and infrequent cruisers, and we all had a great time aboard ship. Our daughter and family had a problem with their cabin and the cruise line manager quickly found them another one although the ship was "full."

The wine bar was a hit with us. The beaches in St. Thomas & Turks & Caicos were amazing, expecially for us northerners.


larrytex saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Exceeded my expectations, July 14, 2010
Reviewer: larrytex

Pros: Dining was great in main dining room and Lido buffet.

Cons: I was disappointed in the shows.

Date of cruise: June 11, 2010

Departure port: Copenhagen

Region visited: Scandinavia

Cabin category: Inside

A great cruising experience. I only did excursions in St. Petersburg and Berlin. St. Petersburg was the highlight of the cruise. I used SPB Tours in St. Petersburg and Berlin, which were less expensive with smaller groups. The other ports I just walked around the cities.

I'm still not sure why we did not go to Stockholm as scheduled. Either a weather or mechanical problem, but apparently several cruises were not able to go there. We were refunded $250.

The evening shows were disappointing to me. The cast certainly had the talent and ability, I think it may have just been the selection of music. It did not seem to match the age of most of us on the cruise.

Most important: Embarkation and Debarkation were very efficient.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!