CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Seabourn Reviews

Seabourn Odyssey reviews


Seabourn Odyssey reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.23 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.204.20
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.604.60
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.803.80
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.004.00
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.804.80
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 5.005.00
SpaSpa = 3.753.75
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.003.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.804.80




Seabourn Odyssey itineraries and information



Jackieblog saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Seabourn Odyssey exceeded my expectations which were high to begin with., January 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jackieblog

Pros: Ship decor, maintenance, crew members, food, shore stops, embarkat all excellent

Cons: Specialty restaurant was not as good as regular dining.

Date of cruise: May 1, 2013

Departure port: Venice, Italy

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

When I went to board the Seabourn Odyssey at the ship terminal in Venice, Italy, I saw a slow-moving, long line of folks snaking in front of me. Hundreds of impatient passengers were waiting for their chance at the check-in counter.

This certainly wasn’t what I had in mind when I booked a cruise on Seabourn. And, indeed, it wasn’t.

Arriving at the terminal to embark on my weeklong cruise, I had taken an escalator to the upper floor, as directed. Then I had turned to the left instead of to the right. That’s how I ended up in the boarding line for a mega ship.

Didn’t take me long to figure out this wasn’t the Seabourn Odyssey. A few steps across the hallway was where I was supposed to be.

And what a difference those few steps made.

Seabourn Odyssey passengers were comfortably seated, sipping complimentary cool drinks and renewing old friendships or making new ones. No hassles from salespeople trying to get money for shipboard services as I had seen across the hall. No hasty photos of me in front of a make-believe seascape before being allowed a place in that lengthy waiting line as was part of the process for that other cruise ship.

Oh, how thankful I was to be sailing on the Seabourn Odyssey.

And I hadn’t even begun my cruise. But the embarkation process did give me a hint of what was ahead on the Yachts of Seabourn.

In fact, I had learned a bit about the Seabourn attention to detail when my cruise packet arrived in the mail at my home a few weeks before the cruise. Inside was a soft brown drawstring bag with the Seabourn logo on it. The bag held a lovely brown leather folder with the Seabourn logo and a sturdy clasp, along with two brown leather luggage tags stamped with the Seabourn logo. The folder held my itinerary as well as information about my cabin number, emergency numbers and other important facts, plus it had room to carry my passport and other documents.

Since her inaugural journey in 2009, Seabourn Odyssey has earned the reputation as a leader among the ultra-luxury cruising market. The Odyssey can carry about 450 guests in its 225 ocean-view suites. Our cruise has 440 passengers.

Boarding the ship was a breeze. No lines. No waiting. Walked aboard about noon and went straight to lunch in the Colonnade restaurant. Rooms would be ready around 2 p.m. After all, previous passengers had just disembarked that morning.

When my room was ready, so was I. Although I had read the Seabourn literature, I was still not prepared for the elegant beauty and spaciousness of my suite. All cabins onboard the Odyssey are suites, all have ocean views.

My large suite (and it is not the top of the line on the Odyssey) has two areas with a curtain that can be drawn to separate the sleeping quarters from the sitting room. Nightstands are placed on either side of the queen-size bed and a large dresser on the wall at the foot of the bed is a handy place to store books and papers. A leather folder contains complimentary stationery imprinted with my name, plus several personalized Seabourn business cards, and a copy of the daily Seabourn Herald with my name on it.

Amenities include a flat-screen TV, stocked refrigerator, safe, fluffy robe and slippers, sofa, footstool and dining table with two chairs. There is a huge walk-in closet and the biggest bathroom I have ever seen on a ship – a full-size tub (really it is bigger than mine at home), a separate walk-in shower, double sinks and a commode. The bathroom is marble and it gleams.

There is storage galore. I counted more than a dozen drawers and cabinets, including one in the bathroom with lovely Molton Brown toiletries, before I stopped counting. I will never fill up all those storage spaces.


Jacqueline saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Seabourn Odyssey sets the standard for excellent cruising., January 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jacqueline

Pros: Ship, crew, cuisine, all-inclusive drinks & tipping, courtesy for solo travelers

Cons: Specialty restaurant was too small, quickly booked & cuisine was fair.

Date of cruise: May 1, 2013

Departure port: Venice, Italy

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

When I went ashore in Ravenna, Italy, a passenger on another cruise ship asked me a thought-provoking question:

“What is there to do on the Seabourn Odyssey?”

He and his wife had been talking about taking a Seabourn cruise but the ship looked so small and he wasn’t sure there would be enough to do on it. Would I recommend it?

He certainly asked the right person. Although I am sure if Mitchell had queried any of the other 439 passengers on my cruise, he probably would have gotten the same answer.

“Definitely,” I would recommend taking a cruise on the Yachts of Seabourn. They don’t call them “yachts” for no reason.

Seabourn combines the luxury and service of a small sleek ship with the activities and dining options of a much larger vessel.
However, if you are looking for a myriad of shipboard activities, a Vegas-style casino, a splashing water world, a climbing wall, hairy leg contest, big stage productions or shipboard adventures, Seabourn may not be for you.

“It is a certain style of cruising. And it is not for everybody,” Captain Mark Dexter says. “We don’t have basketball courts and ice skating rinks on the Odyssey. What we do offer is the time to sit down and interact with other people, to learn about the world and to make new friends. That’s the beauty of Seabourn.”

So, I’d like to borrow a favorite of fellow Hoosier David Letterman and share the top 10 things (in no particular order) that I like about Yachts of Seabourn:

1. The comfortable luxurious size and layout of the ship. Since her inaugural journey in 2009, Seabourn Odyssey has earned the reputation as a leader among the ultra-luxury cruising market. The Odyssey can carry about 450 guests in its 225 ocean-view suites. My verandah suite has a walk-in closet, plus a bathroom with double sinks and a large tub and separate walk-in shower.

2. The Seabourn all-inclusive policy. That means there is no extra charge for drinks – alcoholic, sodas, fancy coffees – or extra treats such as ice cream and pastries or dining in the ship’s specialty restaurant. Any drink is free. Day or night. Anywhere on the ship. Any kind of drink. Another unbelievable Seabourn policy notes that “tipping is neither expected nor required” on the Odyssey. From what I’ve seen, service couldn’t be any better. No one is being nice to you because they expect a big tip at the end of the cruise. They are just being nice because, well, they are nice people.

3. The crew whose service on the Odyssey is impeccable. Everyone I have met – from my room attendant to the person who delivers breakfast to my suite every morning has been way beyond courteous. As a solo traveler, I am always seated at a dining table in a prime location with a lovely ocean view. That doesn’t always happen on other cruise ships. The point on those ships seems to be to fill up every table with at least two diners. A table for one is often stuck in the corner, away from a window and in a high-traffic, noisy area. If I want to sit alone, I should be able to pleasantly do so. The Odyssey staff understands and respects those wishes.

4. Dining options and delicious cuisine on the Odyssey. No reservations are required for the ship’s three main dining spots. You can decide at the last minute and show up wherever you want to eat. A daily paper called “Dinner Options” is delivered to your cabin every night. It contains the full menu of all the restaurants for the next day so you can decide where you want to eat and what you want to eat. The food is fantastic. The ship’s specialty dining place – Restaurant 2 – is very small with only a few tables that diners share with others. Dining at Restaurant 2 doesn’t cost extra but reservations fill up fast. They were all booked up on the first day when I checked.

5. Fellow passengers are a great diverse group and wonderful travelers. There are no children on my cruise. The youngest cruisers are in their early 20s and traveling with family. An unexpected souvenir gift from the Odyssey is a neat little directory containing the names of the staff on our cruise along with the names and hometown of each passenger. The largest majority of the 24 nationalities on our cruise are 216 from the United States. The next largest nationality is 83 the United Kingdom, 27 Australia, 19 Belgium, 14 New Zealand, 13 Germany, 12 Switzerland, and 10 Venezuela. At the bottom end are one each from Hong Kong, Croatia, Portugal, Romania and South Africa. The language on the ship is English.

5. Little extras such as a clock and refrigerator in my room and a small free self-service laundry. The Odyssey policy concerning announcements is much appreciated. Public announcements aboard ship are kept to a minimum. That means no loud voice on an intercom will jar me awake at 6 a.m. by announcing that the ship has arrived in some port. “Announcements will not be made for such routine events as ship clearance, tour departures, etc.,” my Seabourn guide notes. Hooray!

6. The ship’s entertainment has been consistently good each night in the comfortable Grand Salon. The Odyssey Singers consists of three women and two men; the Odyssey Dancers are one man and one woman. There are so dazzling sets or special effects. But the performances such as “Rock at the Opera” and “Dance” have been excellent. The cruise also has featured comedian Kenny Smiles and multi-instrumentalist Mark Donoghue who played the violin, guitar, piano and harmonica. The Club and other spots around the ship also offer entertainment from a pianist, guitarist and vocalist.

7. Shore excursions on any cruise are always one of my favorite parts and the Odyssey offers some fascinating ones8. The Spa at Seabourn is a delight. For $99, I received a weeklong cruise pass and have used it every day, sometimes twice a day. Spanning two decks, the spa offers the usual massages, facials, body wraps and other treatments, plus a fitness center with exercise equipment, a Kinesis Wall and specialized classes. But it was use of the spa facilities that I wanted – the hydrotherapy pool, saunas and steam rooms, along with the heated loungers. Well worth the money.

9. Activities aboard the Odyssey have definitely been to my liking. Some might complain about the dearth of activities but I like the peacefulness, the chance to join in (as Seabourn calls it) “the art of conversation.” Nothing wrong with having a multitude of activities, recreation devices and all sorts of other things on a cruise ship but there is nothing wrong also with sitting still for a while and watching the ocean roll.

10. The embarkation and debarkation processes are well organized and easy. Getting on the ship was a breeze. Getting off tomorrow is said to be equally as simple. The biggest problem with leaving is that I don’t want to. The Seabourn experience has been exemplary – my idea of a true cruise.


sfvoyage saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Superb service and excellent food!, September 6, 2010
Reviewer: sfvoyage

Pros: Professional, warm & caring staff which provides consistently top service

Cons: Spa treatments are too expensive

Date of cruise: August 14, 2010

Departure port: Venice

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 747

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No




Doug62 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The entire Seabourn experience on Odyssey is fantastic and worth price, September 6, 2010
Reviewer: Doug62

Pros: The crew and their attention to detail

Cons: The specialty restaurant was nothing special

Date of cruise: August 14, 2010

Departure port: Venice, Italy

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 747

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

My first cruise experience was on the Seabourn Odyssey and it far surpassed my expectations. The crew was extremely friendly, the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. I liked the fact that the ship was small, with only 450 guests. It made the experience much more enjoyable knowing that there were not thousands of people all trying to get pool deck chairs, seats in the theater to see the entertainment or eating dinner at the same time.

From the moment I stepped on to the ship I felt relaxed and pampered. I so thoroughly enjoyed the cruise that I will be crusing with Seabourn again. Well done, Seabourn.


cruisefritz saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
A good cruise experience, but not a great one, May 17, 2010
Reviewer: cruisefritz

Pros: Food and service are among the best

Cons: Public rooms and cabin design are below expectations for a luxury cruise ship

Date of cruise: November 14, 2009

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 807

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Very good overall food and service but public rooms, cabin design, amenities and layout are below what other luxury cruise lines offer.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!