CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Princess Cruises Reviews

Sapphire Princess reviews


Sapphire Princess reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.38 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.404.40
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.604.60
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.204.20
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.004.00
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.404.40
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.804.80
SpaSpa = 3.673.67
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.004.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.604.60




Sapphire Princess itineraries and information



cscc1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Wonderful experience, had great time on this ship., January 23, 2014
Reviewer: cscc1

Pros: Love the pool at the back of ship. Entertainment was great.

Cons: Nothing that bad.

Departure port: Los Angeles

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

We had a great time.


george6529 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Average, December 1, 2011
Reviewer: george6529

Pros: Good activities

Cons: Lack of employee knowledge, lack of employee common sense

Date of cruise: November 19, 2011

Departure port: Los Angeles

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: C734

Very poor embarkation and terrible disembarkation. No knowledge of ports of call except paid princess tours. Constant sales pitches. Very poor breakfast service the day of departure. No accommodation for passengers with early plane times - it seemed everyone left early on self service disembarkation regardless of the reason or number and size of bags. Don't go Princess if you have to disembark early!

If you are one minute late for formal breakfast, even if you are handicapped, expect to be turned away. Don't expect the dining room to have the doors opened on time particularly if there are a lot of people queued up. Food was good but only on formal nights. Alcohol prices were too high. Evening dining room and cabin service were excellent. Dining room lunch food was very poor. Except for our evening dining room attendant, all employees spoke poor English.


larrytex saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent in every way, July 29, 2011
Reviewer: larrytex

Pros: Great dining in the Any Time restaurants

Cons: n/a

Date of cruise: July 17, 2011

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: c235

This is my third Princess cruise. I have never been disappointed. I was on the Sapphire for the Alaska Inside Passage.

I did this same cruise five years ago with another cruise company. I had an interior cabin. This cruise I had a balcony cabin. It made the trip wonderful.

I also had breakfast brought to my cabin for the morning that we cruised Tracy Arm. It was cold on the balcony, so I would go back inside to warm up with my coffee.


drtombellows saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Overall the rating is excellent., April 14, 2011
Reviewer: drtombellows

Pros: The cabin steward and Santa Fe dining room staff were outstanding.

Cons: The service in the International dning room for breakfast was poor.

Date of cruise: March 26, 2011

Departure port: Los Angeles

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: A333

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

The layout of the ship is very complicated and difficult to navigate. They have rooms that you can only get to from the back of another room and down a set of stairs. The walkways are only on one side of the ship and crowded.

The International dining room can only be gotten to by elevator or stairway at the stern of the ship. For passengers with wheelchairs or those who can not navigate the stairs, it is very difficult to get to the International dining room. The cabin passageways are not wide enough for a wheelchair and the steward's carts that are left in the passageway so the carts have to be moved to get past them.

Otherwise, the cruise was great, with lots of enjoyable moments. We are looking forward to the next cruise on Princess.
It is an understandable shame that passengers who cannot walk between the loading platform and the tender boat cannot ride the tender. We missed seeing our son because of that rule change.


toontune saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
First-time cruisers and will definitely repeat, August 6, 2010
Reviewer: toontune

Pros: Food, service and spectacular views...and the travelling hotel concept

Cons: Too-short stops at some destinations

Date of cruise: July 25, 2010

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: D307

Although this was our first cruise with nothing to compare to, with a five-star rating it appeared quite high end. The food was spectacular, and the extra portions of lobster kept coming.

The staff was always operating at 120 per cent, eager to please and succeeding. The age range was young to old, and we quickly learned that signing up for assigned dining was a mistake, as you are likely to be stuck with the wrong age group and bound to a certain dinner time. We switched to Anytime Dining, and got our freedom back.

Alaska is spectacular and the destinations were great, Tracy Arm passage being the highlight. We just wish that some of the stops gave us more time. You do waste quite a bit of time at sea on the way up and back and we were wondering if they couldn't pick up the pace to give us more time....then again, many destination arrivals were early morning, and anything sooner might not have been useful.

Best excursion was at Juneau for whale-watching where we saw the rare bubble net feeding ritual. Wonderous!

Entertainment was very "cruise shippy" cliche and we avoided it following the first night's intro show.

Overall, a wonderful experience which we hope to repeat with another destination We would go on the Sapphire Princess again, and we would highly recommend it to others.
Good job Princess!

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!