CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Cunard Line Reviews

Queen Mary 2 reviews


Queen Mary 2 reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.45 / 5

Average Rating based on 7 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.574.57
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.574.57
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.144.14
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.604.60
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.574.57
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.434.43
SpaSpa = 4.334.33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.204.20
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.574.57




Queen Mary 2 itineraries and information



orracle saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
An elegant ship with classic style, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: orracle

Pros: Attention to detail, professional staff, a high standard of presentation

Cons: Can be stuffy

Date of cruise: January 1, 2009

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

I like a ship where you dress well for dinner and where respect is paid to the ceremony of dining and socializing. The Queen Mary is one of those ships. She is an attractive ship, with all the activities one could ask for, and a relaxed yet civilized atmosphere. The spa is lovely, and the pool inviting. Quality of food was high.


GBarker saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Grand Lady of the Sea lived up to its billing, January 25, 2014
Reviewer: GBarker

Pros: The "white glove" service, food and ambience

Cons: The boarding process could have been smoother

Date of cruise: November 18, 2017

Departure port: New York

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for teenagers: No

We had a balcony room on the transatlantic cruise from New York to Southampton. Cruising on the Queen Mary 2 feels a little like "Downton Abbey" at sea. Whether you are enjoying afternoon tea and scones, learning to cha-cha in the grand ballroom, sitting down to 5-star dining every night or taking in the wonders of the universe in the only planetarium at sea, it's an amazing experience.

Even the 20-foot waves in the North Atlantic didn't disturb our night at the champagne bar. Guys -- don't forget to pack your tux. The ladies love the formal nights.


landre1020 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
It was a wonderful experience to cruise on an ocean liner!! Must do again!, August 30, 2013
Reviewer: landre1020

Pros: Doing something in style!

Cons: Not enough good dance hosts!

Date of cruise: December 22, 2012

Departure port: New York, New York

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

It was a spur of the moment decision - some people close to me had passed. I was transformed into a world of wonderful sights and sounds a million miles away.

I loved the idea of getting dressed for dinner, having a private cocktail lounge, a private sunning deck, and, of course, meeting some wonderful people!

I did come down with the dreaded norovirus the day after we sailed and was very well cared for by the medical staff and those assigned to my care.
I am spoiled. I did a cruise many years ago and had a cabin without windows and shared my room with some nasty bugs. The QMII was spotless!! Loved it!! I had a marvelous time.

Once I made the decision to go, not once did I have to wonder if I chose the right ship or cruise line. I did decide I should take some ballroom dance lessons before the trip but, silly me, it takes a few more lessons than a mere dozen!! But, next time I do this, I'll be much better prepared. And, what an absolute blessing to have most of my luggage picked up ahead of time!!


azamara saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Good alternative to flying to Europe; ship lacking if viewed as a cruise, June 1, 2013
Reviewer: azamara

Pros: Variety of activities, avoiding jet lag

Cons: Ship showing age. Staff never smiles or looks happy. Cabin bathroom had mold

Departure port: Southampton UK

Region visited: Transoceanic

Cabin category: Balcony

Consider as an alternative to flying to Europe but not as a stand alone cruise. Unlike other cruise ships, the staff never smile or appear to be enjoying their jobs. Food in main dining room and in buffet are below many other cruise lines.

Pros:
1) Variety of activities each day
2) Planetarium
3) Lecturers
4) Ceremonial activities such as daily tea
5) Size of cabin

Cons:
1) Mold in bathroom
2) Evening shows are below expectations
3) Staff never smile and have no time for informal interaction with guests
4) Food did not meet expectations
5) No on line monitoring capability of your account. Must ask Purser for preliminary hard copies.


saltcay saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A fantastic crossing on a beautiful ship., November 21, 2010
Reviewer: saltcay

Pros: First class all the way.

Cons: Traditionally an older clientele onboard, but that isn't always a bad thing.

Date of cruise: November 11, 2017

Departure port: Southampton, UK.

Region visited: Transoceanic

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 9016

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

The Transatlantic crossing on the Queen Mary 2 is all you would expect it to be. Traditional, classic ocean crossing on a beautiful ship.

The QM2 is larger than I like; it was easy to get lost, and sometimes trying to meet up with someone was difficult. There are many nooks and crannies to be holed up in. If you try meeting up with someone in the Kings Court, make sure you are very specific as to where you are meeting.

The accommodations are great; however, for a single traveller, there are no single staterooms. I was lucky to get on a voyage where they waived the single supplement, but many others were made to pay the supplement of 175-200%.

The families that I talked to that did have children with them said the youth programs onboard are great. However, with a Cunard voyage don't expect many children on the ship.

The food onboard was delicious, especially in the formal dining rooms. I wasn't as impressed with the Kings Court, the "self serve" casual dining room. It was good, but some could have been better. There was also never a traditional midnight buffet as on other cruise ships. There was a fantastic chocolate buffet in the Kings Court at noon on one day.

The entertainment onboard was great; the Royal Court Dancers put on some fantastic broadway-style review shows. The band in the disco was a Jamaican/Reggae style band that was very good, however, they needed to enhance their repetoire: There was a lot of repetition in their music each night. Plus they would play at other locations on the ship during the day. Some of the music started getting old after awhile.

The embarkation and disembarkation was as easy as possible. This is always a problem when you are trying to load or unload that many passengers at one time. Coming through US Customs was amazingly fast.

Overall, Cunard and the Queen Mary 2 are an excellent choice for a first-class voyage.


klabenz saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Finest ship on the sea!, November 6, 2010
Reviewer: klabenz

Pros: Beautiful ship, fine staff.

Cons: Not enough dining choices.

Date of cruise: October 28, 2010

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 1073

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Lovely trip! Well worth the money.


shadow45 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Only the very best!, June 25, 2010
Reviewer: shadow45

Pros: The quality of the food, staff, entertainment, and ship!

Cons: the cruise was NOT long enough!

Date of cruise: May 18, 2017

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Transoceanic

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

My wife and I have been on numerous cruise lines - none compare to Cunard. The Queen Mary 2 is the very best. If you want top quality food and entertainment, along with an incredibly beautiful ship, she is the way to go. She is not necessarily a "family" ship with numerous swimming pools with waterparks - but, for a family to sail transatlantic, she is the best. We have sailed on her three times - and would go more if there were more transatlantic sailings.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!