CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) Reviews

NCL Pride of America reviews


NCL Pride of America reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.12 / 5

Average Rating based on 7 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 2.862.86
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.003.00
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.803.80
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.673.67
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.143.14
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.433.43
SpaSpa = 3.003.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 2.672.67
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 2.862.86




NCL Pride of America itineraries and information



alp40 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
The cost was higher than other cruise ships., September 30, 2013
Reviewer: alp40

Pros: Instead of island hopping, you get to stay in your room the entire time.

Cons: The food was very repetitive, bland and they didn't have the great quality.

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: Can't remember

Good for children: Yes

I had gone on NCL twice to Hawaii. We only did it because we wanted to see the islands again without island-hopping and NCL is the only ship that started from Honolulu. (I didn't want to spend days at sea starting from California.) This was the most expensive cruise (been on a total of six cruises, each seven days long).

The ship was clean, entertainment was okay, nothing spectacular. We loved the excursions we went on. We had a balcony, as always.

The only thing I really didn't like was the food. Other ships offered wonderful steaks, prime rib, etc. The restaurants that you didn't pay for had the same items as the buffet. We decided we shouldn't dress up only to eat the same food the buffet served... ham, chicken, etc. Even the cake desserts tasted like you were eating a sponge. I was very disappointed.

There was no gambling at all. On our last Alaska cruise we even got to gamble.


kwills2594 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Wonderful experience and way to see all the Hawaiian islands, September 11, 2013
Reviewer: kwills2594

Pros: The staff was top notch

Cons: There were no cons

Date of cruise: August 24, 2013

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 4504

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We had a fantastic time on this cruise. This is a very port-intensive trip, very little time at sea. The lines moved right along, from baggage check, checking in to having our first dining experience (lunch in the Aloha Cafe).

I loved that there was no set dining time for any meal. The Hawaiian ambassadors were helpful and told wonderful stories about Hawaiian culture and history.

We only did two excursions through the ship and both were impressive. Otherwise we did our own, rented a car at almost each port.

Our cabin steward was extremely wonderful and supremely nice.

This cruise is an excellent way to see each of the main islands, if you're interested in visiting only one you will want to make your way back.

Embarkation and disembarkation was easy, no hassle.

Jefferson Bistro is now a part of the free dining.

We also dined at East meets West and Moderno. Good experience at each.


Allanbos 26 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
We sailed on new years day and every thing was above expectations, January 15, 2011
Reviewer: Allanbos 26

Pros: Value for money was excellent, service and food 1st class

Cons: Cabin cleanliness could have been improved

Date of cruise: January 1, 2011

Departure port: honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8640

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Was a dream, everything was good to excellent. No queues for food or entertainment. Dining was informal as you liked it to be, with availability to dress up. Food and service matched. A full compliment of 2200 did not seem like it as there was room to move all over the ship.

The cabin dressing gown still had someone else's tissue in the pocket and a wine glass remained unwashed for 3 days, however these were small things.


tiggertaz saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
I would not recomend this cruise, even to someone I did not like, October 21, 2010
Reviewer: tiggertaz

Pros: Jefferson's Bistro food, the staff knew how to cook and provide great service

Cons: The food and service

Date of cruise: October 9, 2010

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 10126

Good for teenagers: No

I took this cruise because they did not spend time at sea. I read the reviews on Cruise Critic but thought it can't be that bad. I was wrong. I will apologize for the length but everyone thinking about this cruise should have a clear picture.

Now I will say that when I got to the pier it was after 1 p.m. so there were a lot of people waiting in line. I noticed that the Latitudes line had no one in it so took advantage of that even though I had just signed up for it on this cruise; no one even asked to see a Latitudes card. I could not believe that they were not sending people through the re-board security line or the Latitudes check-in with how long the line was.

I do not know if they did this if you had liquor in your checked bags, but they took my bottle of wine in the carry-on and took liquor from people in every port, so NCL is enforcing their no-alcohol policy.

My cabin was okay with one major issue and several minor issues. The main issue was being under Aloha Cafe and Gold Rush Saloon. When I booked the cruise I thought it would be fine since they are not open 24 hours, wrong. I do not know what the crew does between 1 and 4 a.m. but even with ear plugs I could hear things being dropped or wheeled over my head. The crew needs to be told that people are below them.

The balcony light would flicker. I reported it four separate times and it was never fixed. The water in the shower would only produce cold; reported it twice before it got fixed. Their attitude when I asked for a time was we can't give you one so stop asking.

I did my own excursions based on the the information I received from Dan at cruisevacationoutlet and glad I did as I did not pay as much and had more freedom. You can do every thing and more that the ship offers on your own for less. All the major rental car companies have shuttles at the pier and many of the companies I booked tours through offered to pick me up at the cruise ship. The two best companies to use are Trilogy (snorkeling) in Maui and Jack Harter (helicopter) in Kauai. In Hilo, take the Kilauea Caverns of Fire Tour it was amazing.

The service I received from the cruise staff made me feel like I had been sent back to the 90's when a woman traveling alone was ignored and received sub-par service. If this is how NCL will be treating the people traveling in their new single cabins, pay more and go to another cruise line.

The food was awful and I am a foodie so it is important to me. I spoke to other cruisers who have been on other cruises and they said this was the worst food. There was only one restaurant that had good food and service: Jefferson's Bistro. The downside is that there is a cover charge. They even took off the cover charge when my meal had to be sent back at brunch.

Unless you are addicted to salty food and like crunchy rice, along with not being able to talk to the rest of your party, do not go to the Teppanyaki restaurant. The Lazy J Texas Steakhouse can't do a baked potato or creme brule and they have Tweedledee and Tweedledum working there; it took ten minutes to get coffee. The Little Italy restaurant destroyed veal and tiramasu to the point that all Italians would be insulted.

No other restaurant offered to correct their mistakes and when they made them ignored me more. With uncooked baked potatoes, bad omelets, too much salt and poor service I honestly cannot believe anyone would like this cruise.

If another cruise company would do this route right they could take over the area.


td7of7 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
It was enjoyable, though maybe not top-notch., August 27, 2010
Reviewer: td7of7

Pros: Nice ports, good food, nice way to see several Hawaiian islands.

Cons: Couldn't get a reservation in one restaurant the whole week.

Date of cruise: November 24, 2017

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: dont remember

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

It was a nice trip overall. Got to see several ports and islands in a convenient way. Good food, though we couldn't get reservations in the Benihana-type restaurant the whole week on the ship.

The ship had a casual, family like atmosphere rather than a huffy, stuffy top of the line classy ship. But what would you expect for a ship touring Hawaii? It kind of followed the attitude of the islands, I guess. The ship's workers are all American, so perhaps the attitude of service isn't the same as with workers from another country, but I didn't find much of a problem with it.


iand74 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
I would never sail on NCL again, August 8, 2010
Reviewer: iand74

Pros: Good choice of restaurants, decent entertainment

Cons: Sewage needs to be fixed, not very pleasant staff

Date of cruise: July 24, 2010

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 10052

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes




luv saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
This was our 40th cruise and it was by far our worst cruise ship ever., July 15, 2010
Reviewer: luv

Pros: Good ports

Cons: Where did they find the employees? In the reject lines at McDonald's?

Date of cruise: June 12, 2010

Departure port: Honolulu

Region visited: Hawaii

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8116

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

The ports on this seven- night cruise are so wonderful but the employees on this ship have not been trained and are clueless. Our room steward didn't even come meet us on the first day (which was a first for us on our 40 cruises). She left no ice repeatedly and when we would request some from room service they didn't bring it. She did not try to accommodate us in the ways that our room stewards always have on other ships and she was unfriendly.

The balcony stateroom was the smallest stateroom we've ever been in on any ship. The dining room waiters were terrible. They obviously had not been trained properly. The HR person for this ship must be trying to sabotage the cruise line hiring these people. The food was not very good and very basic. Not nearly as many choices on the buffet/salad bars as on most ships - pizza only available a few hours a day while on many other ships, it is offered 24 hours a day. During the day only tea, coffee and water available for free at the drink stations - no lemonade, punch or juice - not even straws were there.

Amenities on this ship were kept to an extremely bare minimum. The decor for the most part is the cheapest possible way they could do it. Not a live flower on the ship in the public areas (but lots of outdated ugly plastic ones) and we were in Hawaii where beautiful flowers abound. The artwork seemed to be wall paper murals in the stairwells instead of real art. We have sailed on six other cruise lines and this was by far the least enjoyable of any cruise. Such a disappointment! It's very sad that this is the only cruise line doing the seven-day sailing around the islands.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!