CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Holland America Line (HAL) Reviews

HAL Oosterdam reviews


HAL Oosterdam reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.88 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.803.80
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.803.80
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.203.20
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.803.80
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.504.50
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.803.80
SpaSpa = 3.333.33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.674.67
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.204.20




HAL Oosterdam itineraries and information



wd5fqx saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Ship was very clean and employees very helpful and efficient., June 14, 2013
Reviewer: wd5fqx

Pros: Ship public areas, cabin and dining room were excellent

Cons: Entertainment was mediocre

Date of cruise: June 2, 2013

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5035

Good for children: Yes

Check-in and check-out was the most efficient of any cruise line I have traveled on and was very rapid. All personnel was very friendly and efficient. Our dining room server was the best with a wonderful personality, excellent memory and was so kind and attentive to my 8-year-old grandson.

Really appreciated the HAL children's program and my grandson was very happy to spend time with other children his age. He loved swimming every day in the heated pool and playing ping pong on the deck.

Entertainment was disappointing but everything else was great.


Pat Woods saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
We enjoyed our third HAL cruise and will return, August 18, 2012
Reviewer: Pat Woods

Pros: Fabulous food in Vista (main), Pinnacle, LeCirque dining rooms

Cons: Veranda cabin was a bit smaller than expected

Date of cruise: May 14, 2017

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: VC 5178

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Alaska: See the Great Land from a great ship
By Pat Woods

To celebrate our anniversary, husband Rob and I took a 7-day Alaska cruise on Holland America’s ms Oosterdam. We enjoyed seeing God’s natural wonders from a safe and comfortable ship --giant glaciers, abundant wildlife, majestic peaks and luscious rainforests.

Embarking in Seattle on a sunny Sunday, we saw Mt. Rainier from the ship’s stern pool. After attending the lifeboat drill and Catholic Mass, we enjoyed a five-course dinner with other guests from Los Angeles and Dallas.

After dinner, we listened to the Adagio Strings quartet play selections by Mozart, Bach and Schubert in the Explorer’s Café. Other guests played Bingo, watched a comedy show, gambled in the casino, sang along in the piano bar and danced.

A sea day highlight was Tracy Arm, a scenic fjord with steep granite walls carpeted in green Sitka spruce striped by long cascades of whitewater. Within a one-hour time span, we had rain, snow, hail and momentary sunshine.

Some guests watched the scenery indoors from the forward observation deck. We donned warm jackets to experience the glacier on an outdoor deck. During the brief hail storm we ducked into the Lido buffet for hot tea.

Fabulous food

We ate most meals in the bi-level Vista dining room. As You Wish dining enabled us to eat with pleasant, friendly people from around the U.S. and Canada.

The Pinnacle Grill ($10 lunch, $25 dinner) provides elegant china, stemware and linens for a romantic dinner for two or a special group celebration. Dinner at the Pinnacle Grill is table side food theater at its finest. Servers lace lobster bisque with aged cognac, flambé entrees and desserts such as Baked Alaska. Creative chefs go beyond simply preparing mouth-watering dishes. They create food artistry.

One night during each cruise, the Pinnacle Grill transforms into the legendary Le Cirque of New York City, ranked among the world’s best restaurants ($39 dinner, $59 dinner and wine pairing).

For our Le Cirque dinner, we had delightful lobster salad and butternut squash with huckleberry soup. Lucia, our efficient and attentive server, sliced Rob’s chateaubriand table side. My seared Alaskan black cod was prepared with a red wine reduction. For dessert, I chose a decadent napoleon with fresh berries, while Rob ordered his favorite, crème brulee.

On-board activities

Built in 2003, the Oosterdam caters to a wide range of interests. To work off calories, we hit the fitness center and walked around the promenade deck.

Other guests took digital computer or cooking classes, attended art auctions, played trivia or cards, visited the spa, took afternoon tea and socialized in lounges. More active guests played basketball and volleyball.

Throughout the voyage, we heard few complaints from fellow passengers. As expected, outdoor temperatures in Alaska were cool in mid-May—ranging from the high 40s to low 60s.

You won't need a pricey wardrobe to experience Alaska's laid-back, friendly ambiance. Wear sturdy shoes and dress in removable layers. Dozens of ships ply Alaska waters between May and September. Details: www.hollandamrica.com or 1- 877-932-4259.
End

Writer bio: Pat Woods is widely-published Arizona cruise writer.


Stats1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
SpaSpa = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Our cabin was dirty on arrival and did not get any better, December 15, 2011
Reviewer: Stats1

Pros: Casino was ok the the manager there was very helpful

Cons: Poor service, dirty, too many sales pitches and inconveniences

Date of cruise: December 4, 2017

Departure port: San Diego

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5123

This was our 4th cruise, 1st with HA. Never again. Our luggage was ripped apart and they suggested it was the airline's fault. I informed them that the wheels worked fine when I wheeled it to their bus at the airport. They gave us $11.00 so our first day in port we had to shop for luggage and drag it back to the ship.The suitcase cost $120 and they did not offer/provide a taxi. A wasted day.

We needed a extension cord for my husbands CPAP machine and they were informed of this months ago. Although we boarded the ship at noon, this was not installed till 8 PM. They were also told ahead of time that my husband required a extra large housecoat. This arrived on Day 2 afternoon.

The cabin was dirty on arrival and even though we complained it was not cleaned until the last morning when I was on the deck resting and my husband on the bed. They wanted to wash (hose down) the deck and clean the room and were very insistent when we said "no we were resting". They were concerned that the ship had to be ready for the next cruise.

The "class" of cruising was not provided at all. I would rate this cruise with a 3 star motel. They reserved seating for staff next to the food line and we had to carry food to the front of the ship. On the final day they turned off the speakers in the cabins (to not disturb those not disembarking) so we could not hear our call to disembark unless we blocked our door open.

Many times we had to assist an elderly or disabled person (we are not young ourselves) as staff was not willing to help.
Dress codes were non-existent, people came to meals on the Lido deck in housecoats!

Not at all pleased with this cruise.


stuttmr saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great experience; first time cruising on Holland America, December 16, 2010
Reviewer: stuttmr

Pros: The food was excellent

Cons: The drinking glasses were too small

Date of cruise: December 4, 2010

Departure port: San Diego

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5077

The cruise was excellent, first time cruising on HAL and first time cruising out of San Diego. Embarking and disembarking were the easiest we've ever had.

The cabin was very nice and room stewards were very helpful, in fact, everyone was very friendly and helpful. We have cruised other lines before but liked this the best so far, will definitely cruise on HAL again.


darosaali1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Fabulous value, great service, loads of fun., July 1, 2010
Reviewer: darosaali1

Pros: Value.

Cons: Internet access was very pricey.

Date of cruise: March 20, 2017

Departure port: San Diego

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6144

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes



 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!