CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
1
Find your cruise
& request quotes
2
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
3
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Cruise Ship Reviews : Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) Reviews
NCL Norwegian Spirit reviews


NCL Norwegian Spirit reviews

Average customer rating:
3.87 / 5

Average Rating based on 7 Reviews:
Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Fitness Center
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Specialty Restaurant
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 3.71
Cabin Design = 4.29
Entertainment = 3.43
Fitness Center = 3.25
Food Quality = 3.43
Ship Maintenance = 4.00
Spa = 4.00
Specialty Restaurant = 5.00
Staff and Service = 4.29
3.71
4.29
3.43
3.25
3.43
4.00
4.00
5.00
4.29







annedee4 saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 2
Cabin Design = 4
Entertainment = 1
Food Quality = 2
Ship Maintenance = 4
Staff and Service = 2
2
4
1
2
4
2

First sailing on Norwegian was disappointing, August 26, 2011
Reviewer: annedee4

Pros: Second City troupe

Cons: Freestyle dining, poor service, mediocre entertainment.

Date of cruise: August 14, 2011

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6079

I've been on 18 cruises and this was my first on Norwegian and it was disappointing.

I do not like the Freestyle Dining. I saw many couples sitting alone and by the end of the cruise, there was little conversation. There were three of us traveling together and one night we asked for a large table in the main dining room, for an opportunity to meet and talk with other guests, and were dryly told that was not available.

Also, the seating availability posting on the monitors was almost always yellow, denoting "filling up fast", and although there were often lines to get in, there were many open tables. Seemed like they were very disorganized.

I also had some problems with my room: No electricity and intermittant phone service. Our second room's shower was stopped up. Service was very SLOW!

Entertainment was mediocre and we left twice before the show was over. Several shows were in the Galaxy which has very little seating. We would arrive early and then others would arrive late and stand in front of the seating area and no one would care,even the Cruise Director. We complained to him and then to his boss, who sent a letter stating the CD would contact us, but he never did.

Also, they provide very faded pools towels, along with a notice that they will charge you $25 each if they are not returned. The pool area is small and many chairs were empty for most of the day but had personal belongings on them. According to their literature, after 30 mins. belongings would be removed from unoccupied chairs but that never happened so there was usually no place to sit.

We signed up for a sailing excursion in Cozumel and a city tour of New Orleans on our return which were great.


kadao saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Fitness Center
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 4
Entertainment = 5
Fitness Center = 4
Food Quality = 5
Ship Maintenance = 3
Spa = 3
Staff and Service = 4
4
4
5
4
5
3
3
4

I have never been on a bad cruise -- but this wasn't one of the best ones, July 16, 2011
Reviewer: kadao

Pros: The food was delicious, the entertainment and ports were great

Cons: Lack of variety of food in the main dining rooms

Date of cruise: July 3, 2011

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 5517

Good for teenagers: No

Embarkation was quick and smooth. The ports have changed a lot over the years, but they were still really good. NCL charges about double for shore excursions for what you can get off the ship.

The ship is one of the smaller ones so there wasn't as much of a variety of activities like I've experienced on other ships.

My main complaint is this: There are so many specialty restaurants (8) that the food in the main dining rooms isn't too exciting. There are not many choices, and it gets old quick. They often encourage everyone to use the specialty restaurants (for an additional fee). Out of over 20 cruises, this was the most boring menu I've experienced. However, the food was delicious so at least they did that well!

The shows were pretty good, too. For awhile shows on ships all did basically the same thing so it was nice to see variety coming back.

The kids groups were kind of noisy compared to other cruises.

Overall I would rate this cruise about a 7.


ocsportsmom saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Fitness Center
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Specialty Restaurant
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 4
Entertainment = 4
Fitness Center = 2
Food Quality = 2
Ship Maintenance = 4
Spa = 5
Specialty Restaurant = 5
Staff and Service = 4
4
4
4
2
2
4
5
5
4

Caribbean fun on the Spirit, May 20, 2011
Reviewer: ocsportsmom

Pros: Great port itinerary

Cons: Ship needs a makeover

Date of cruise: May 6, 2011

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9078

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

The Spirit is a great ship that is clean and well maintained, just needs a more modern look. The food was much better than the last time we cruised with Norwegian.

The spa was great, but the gym is way too small.

The staff was great, even comping wine for bad service in the main dining room. All in all, a fun time in the Caribbean.


momof three saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 4
Entertainment = 2
Food Quality = 4
Ship Maintenance = 5
Spa = 4
Staff and Service = 5
4
4
2
4
5
4
5

NCL and the Freestyle Cruising concept are hard to beat, September 8, 2010
Reviewer: momof three

Pros: Four interesting and varied ports of call were a plus.

Cons: Entertainment on this ship was not that entertaining

Date of cruise: February 7, 2010

Departure port: New Orleans, LA

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 6516

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No




KruisinKidds saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Fitness Center
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 5
Entertainment = 4
Fitness Center = 3
Food Quality = 2
Ship Maintenance = 3
Spa = 3
Staff and Service = 5
4
5
4
3
2
3
3
5

Great trip to introduce reluctant family members to cruising, August 20, 2010
Reviewer: KruisinKidds

Pros: Ease of boarding, relaxed atmosphere, all buffets were wonderful

Cons: Food in formal dining room was not great

Date of cruise: December 1, 2008

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We took our parents on their first cruise and had a wonderful time. The ship is well cared for, easy for handicapped to get around. Activities are spaced out so you never feel rushed but enough going on that you aren't bored either.

The buffet meals are convenient and delicious - our two attempts at the formal dining room left us all disappointed. Kids in multiple kids programs had a great time - they do a nice job of tailoring activities to age - and parents can really relax knowing the kids are safe and having a blast.

Staterooms are laid out in a way that made four people in a room actually all fit - that in itself is high praise and not always the case on a cruise ship!


kv5669 saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 4
Entertainment = 4
Food Quality = 4
Ship Maintenance = 4
Staff and Service = 5
4
4
4
4
4
5

The staff was excellent and overall conditions were acceptable, August 1, 2010
Reviewer: kv5669

Pros: The staff and promptness of services

Cons: One night our room service was not delivered

Date of cruise: July 9, 2010

Departure port: Boston

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 11792

Good for children: Yes

This was the first cruise we have taken with our 4- and 7-year old girls. The kids program was great, we felt comfortable to leave our children with them for a couple hours at a time and they enjoyed it. The shows were also a plus, all family friendly so there was always something for us to do.


theresa1 saw things this way:

Value For Money
Cabin Design
Entertainment
Fitness Center
Food Quality
Ship Maintenance
Spa
Specialty Restaurant
Staff and Service
Value For Money = 4
Cabin Design = 5
Entertainment = 4
Fitness Center = 4
Food Quality = 5
Ship Maintenance = 5
Spa = 5
Specialty Restaurant = 5
Staff and Service = 5
4
5
4
4
5
5
5
5
5

We will remember this cruise as one of our best times ever!, July 22, 2010
Reviewer: theresa1

Pros: The food was better than most of Boston's restaurants

Cons: The ship could be more modern

Date of cruise: June 11, 2010

Departure port: Boston

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 11110

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

My husband and I went on the Spirit from Boston to Bermuda in June of 2010. From the time we arrived on the ship we got the attention one needs on vacation. The staff was always smiling, offering their services and our balcony room was always impeccable.

The food was amazing - even the buffet tasted gourmet and we had so many options that sometimes we didn't know what to do or where to eat.

The cruise director did a great job entertaining people and all the shows that we saw were very entertaining. I can't wait to go again!!

Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
Let our Virtual Cruise Advisor(TM) recommend the best cruises for you.