CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) Reviews

NCL Norwegian Pearl reviews


NCL Norwegian Pearl reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.86 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.333.33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.503.50
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.333.33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.334.33
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.253.25
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.334.33
SpaSpa = 4.604.60
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.674.67
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 3.333.33




NCL Norwegian Pearl itineraries and information



scorpio1861 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Very enjoyable cruise, December 5, 2013
Reviewer: scorpio1861

Pros: Balcony room

Cons: Nothing

Date of cruise: November 10, 2013

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9118

Good for teenagers: Yes

I just recently went on this cruise. Great ports of call, ship was very, very nice. Went snorkeling in Cozumel through an excursion on the ship and it was great!! Would do THAT again.

Not crazy about the freestyle dining. Great price for all of the upgrades and perks that my bf and I received. Our cabin was in the middle to the back part of the ship on deck 9, which was very accommodating to everything. Nice staff pretty much everywhere we went. I would go again on this ship and/or cruise line. Thank you


somik saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Horrible experience, would never cruise on NCL again, January 11, 2011
Reviewer: somik

Pros: The spa was the best thing on this ship

Cons: The lines, the nasty and arrogant staff, the horrible island tours, lack of info

Date of cruise: December 26, 2010

Departure port: miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 10118

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Most of the cruise was spent standing in lines and being insulted by arrogant staff. Both main dining rooms looked beautiful, however the lines were over one hour till 10 p.m. and no reservations were accepted -- never had a chance to eat there.

Stirrup Cay is under construction and is not in shape for tourists. If you want a chair, it is $30 aperson or you can just sit on the sand. Every activity costs a large amount of money and you need to stand in line.

The tours were horrible, especially Samana.

We spent a huge amount of money and had the worst vacation of our lives!


bilibob saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Fantastic ship and crew, September 8, 2010
Reviewer: bilibob

Pros: Freestyle atmosphere; something for all walks of life and demographic

Cons: Cabins could use higher end finishings and attention to smaller details

Date of cruise: April 24, 2010

Departure port: Los Angeles

Region visited: Pacific Northwest

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 10540

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Repositioning cruise along Pacific coast was fantastic. Ship was well appointed and crew aims to please.

Great food, nice shops (reasonably priced for cruise ship), and good common areas. Entertainment lacked, but probaby because it was a repositioning, not a standard run. Would definitely cruise Norwegian again, but would probably try another ship just to compare.


olsonda saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Overall good to excellent compared to other cruiselines, great food, bowling, July 1, 2010
Reviewer: olsonda

Pros: Excellent specialty restaurants and prices, good to excellent staff

Cons: Bar staff not as outgoing as other cruise lines, some areas loud

Date of cruise: September 21, 2008

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Panama Canal

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

This review is based on a 19-night cruise aboard the Norwegian Pearl. I am rating this as a good to excellent deal depending on what you find important. I went on this cruise with my husband, and we are younger to middle aged. We noticed right off the bat that there was a slightly older age group, especially on this long of a cruise.

There were still the all ages activities, but there weren't the number of people participating. This was fine with us. We are not really activity type people. Overall, the activities are the same as on any other cruise line, and we have been on two other cruise lines.

There is a lot of trying to sell you stuff, but this is the same on all cruise lines. As soon as we told them we weren't interested, we were left alone. Staff was generally friendly, but not quite as outgoing as on other cruise lines. The decorations on this ship was nice. Vibrant colors were all around, so this kept the mood light.

The big screen was nice to watch people play Wii, and it was nice to see sporting events on the big screen for those who wanted to watch them. My only negative here was that I am not a person that wants to be around a lot of people and they blocked out the sporting event that was being shown on the big screen so you couldn't watch it in your room. There were also no network tv stations, so hard to keep up on everyday shows. It was also hard to watch shows off our Ipod as there were no connections to the TVs.

The rooms were nice and roomy, although we were in the mini suite. The couch in the room was nice as not all cruise ships have couches. There was a coffee pot in the room, which was used quite a lot by us. The bathroom was also roomy for being on a cruise ship. A separate toilet area was the best idea yet. There was also a small cooler type area for pop and whatnot. This was nice to have when a snack attack hit.

We only used a couple of sodas during the cruise. Our cabin was right below the teenage or youth room, so it was extremely loud a couple of nights. This was even more strange when it was about 2 a.m. one night when they finally stopped playing the loud, base type, music.

The room stewards were not quite as efficient as those on other cruise lines, but they were nice. The spa and the workout areas were very nice and provided lots of options for those interested in many different things.

Our favorite part by far, was the steak house, where we ate approximately five nights on this cruise. The food was exceptional and the staff were the absolute best. This was also compounded by the fact that after the first couple of days on the ship, the price of the speciality restaurants went down to two for the price of one. This was excellent and sold it for us. The buffet food was the best of any cruise I have been on. There was a ton more international food there, and all the food was excellent. Obviously this was the case as it looked like every night there were tons of people eating there. Ice cream machine was out of order a lot though. It was definitely not 24-hour a day thing.

There seemed to be more shopping available on this ship as the stores seemed to have more room than others or was just set up better. The other favorite here was the bowling alley. We played there more than once while in port. The price to play drops while in port. This also made my bowling score better, not having to worry about the swaying ship making me worse than I already am.

Overall, this is a cruise line that I would recommend to those that don't want tons of younger crowd activities but yet still likes things such as Wii and bowling.


lynncounselo saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
No variety of food in main dining rooms., June 20, 2010
Reviewer: lynncounselo

Pros: Nice cabins and stewards.

Cons: Too many specialtiy restaurants. Rude staff. Fair entertainmant

Date of cruise: June 6, 2010

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 8586

You get what you pay for and this cruise was only fair compared to others I have been on.


cheltx saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Freestyle concept is good, June 18, 2010
Reviewer: cheltx

Pros: No formal nights, no need to dress up.

Cons: Constant hyping of things to buy - raffle tickets, bingo, art, photos

Date of cruise: June 6, 2010

Departure port: Seattle

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Outside

Good for children: Yes

Chose NCL (after being on three other cruise lines) for a trip to Alaska because of freestyle cruising and reputation for being family friendly. Traveled as a group of six - two grandparents, two adults and two children (12 and 14). All liked the fact that there were no formal nights and everything was casual.

Had outside cabin which was adequate, except for lighting by the beds which was useless for reading.

Ship had two main dining rooms which did not have extra charges. Felt menu was quite limited in terms of choices and food was nothing out of the ordinary. Very few vegetarian options (mostly just pasta dishes). Think that the cruise line would much prefer you eat in the specialty restaurants which involve a service charge. Not as much attention to extra details in the buffet line, like carved fruit and vegetable displays (not essential by any means, but added to the experience on the other cruise lines we've used).

We were offended by the constant hyping of things to buy. We would attend the evening entertainment and before the shows started the cruise director would spend time encouraging us to buy raffle tickets and remind us of the next bingo game. Picture taking was omnipresent.

Was disappointed that on an Alaskan cruise, which many people take because of the destination and the chance to see wildlife, that there was no naturalist onboard. On the day that we cruised Glacier Bay, three National Park Service personnel did board the ship, gave wonderful presentations and were available for questions.

Each day's newsletter, in preparation for a port of call, gave detailed shopping information, but no information about the port (and no map). I know that the cruise line wants you to book its shore excursions, and we did that for many of the ports, but some explanation would have been helpful if you just wanted to walk around or go to a local attraction on your own.

Staff for all the dining rooms and our room stewards were very accommodating and friendly.

No galley tours were offered. We have taken them on other cruise lines and found them fascinating because of the sheer size of the operation.

A behind-the-scenes tour was mentioned early in the cruise, but there was a charge for it - certainly not necessary to charge for that - it's a good marketing tool.

Embarkation and disembarkation were handled very smoothly. NCL offers what is called "Easy Off" which gives you the ability to disembark at any time if you take your luggage with you. I had inquired about disembarkation times when booking the cruise, because I wanted to schedule a flight home which left around noon. They never mentioned "Easy Off" as an option and said that noon would be too early to book a flight. So I booked one for 6 p.m. and had almost the whole day in Seattle before the flight and got home very, very late that night. I could easily have made a noon flight.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!