CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Holland America Line (HAL) Reviews

HAL Nieuw Amsterdam reviews


HAL Nieuw Amsterdam reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.87 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.703.70
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.403.40
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.783.78
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.803.80
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.564.56
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.104.10
SpaSpa = 3.003.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.294.29
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 3.903.90




HAL Nieuw Amsterdam itineraries and information



Taner2011 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Best cruise yet, February 13, 2017
Reviewer: Taner2011

Pros: The staff was exceptional

Cons: We encountered a few rude passengers, but staff handled the encounters with tact

Date of cruise: January 29, 2017

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Suite

Cabin number: 8062

We couldn't say enough great things about the staff. Exceptionally good.
The ship is very well maintained, although we were told it is going in for renovations in November.


sjfransen saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
The cabin was extremely small, run down, parts held together with duct tape., September 12, 2016
Reviewer: sjfransen

Pros: Staff pleasant

Cons: People rave about Holland America but compared to Royal Caribbean

Date of cruise: September 4, 2017

Departure port: Vancouver BC

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5078

From the minute you step on the ship you get the feeling the only thing the cruise line is interested in is "upselling" everything from dining to future cruises. This became even more apparent as each day the number of "flyers" that came to the cabin mail was down right criminal.

The company claims to be concerned about the environment and they do all kinds of water and fuel treatment however it is pointless with the obscene waste created by this form of advertising. In a paperless society, this cruise line should be ashamed of themselves.


a23882 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Good experience, May 9, 2015
Reviewer: a23882

Pros: Price

Cons: Expensive tours

Date of cruise: April 8, 2015

Departure port: Ft Laurdale

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5033

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Nice ship. Attentive staff. Overpriced ship shore excursions. Poor menu selection in main dining room.


pinkone saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Good value for the price, November 14, 2014
Reviewer: pinkone

Pros: Main dining room food was very good. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Cons: Our AC was out for a week with our cabin at 76 degrees!

Date of cruise: October 27, 2017

Departure port: Barcelona

Region visited: Transoceanic

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5154

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

This was our 11th cruise with HAL and the first time on this ship. Crew was all very nice and helpful. The food in the main dining room was very good. Public areas are clean.

We've cruised with Princess and Celebrity before and prefer HAL.

The Lido is not enjoyable to us as it's difficult to find seating and time consuming to get all components of your meal and have your hot food still be hot(usually cold) when you sit down to eat.

The AC in our cabin was out for a week before it got fixed. Front desk shined us on at first. When I went down in person and someone came to the cabin with me to check the temp (76) it was fixed within an hour.

We ate at all three specialty restaurants. The Asian (Tamarind) was excellent. The grill (Pinnacle) on this ship seemed to have kitchen problems. Overcooked seafood twice. Waitstaff was great.
The Italian (Canaletto) was very disappointing, not good Italian food and waitstaff not attentive.

We like that there are very few children on board but I'm sure it depends on when you go and for how long the cruise is.
Didn't attend all the shows but enjoyed the ones we went to. Still believe we get good value for the money and will cruise with them again.


orracle saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
New and very pretty ship, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: orracle

Pros: Loved the art work on board, and enjoyed the enhanced dining options.

Cons: The Caribbean ports come to look so much alike!

Date of cruise: January 1, 2011

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Spanking new ship, big rooms, lovely food in the premium restaurants, and energetic staff. I like the feel on board - relaxed and happy. Shore tours ran smoothly, although they were the usual predictable ones.


Janiecleo saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent cruise, great food, they might change a few stops on the itinerary, June 25, 2013
Reviewer: Janiecleo

Pros: Staff very helpful -- letting us change rooms and helping when luggage was lost

Cons: Drop Marseille from the itinerary; no one we talked to had a positive experience

Date of cruise: June 7, 2013

Departure port: Venice

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for teenagers: No

This was my fourth and best so far Holland cruise. Staff were so helpful: our room on the 8th floor (8135) was directly below the Lido pool area and it seemed that at night and early in the morning they were moving around furniture which kept us awake. We requested a room change and they moved us to the 7th floor (7131) which was perfect.

Also, my luggage was lost by US Airways did not show up for four days. They were willing to lend me clothing, gave me toiletries, checked on my luggage daily, and even cleaned my clothing for free. They also sent chocolate-covered strawberries to the suite for our suffering.

Cabin stewards and waiters were most accommodating, learning what we liked and making sure we received it. For example, I always had a pot of hot decaf tea waiting for me at my table at dinner.

We did not take advantage of any of the evening activities, the spa, any of the fancy restaurants, or the casino so I doubt we made them much money. We spent lots of time sitting on a balcony enjoying the view.

The excursions we did take (Dubrovnik beach break, the Amalfi coast, transfer to Florence, and Gaudi's Barcelona) were excellent, although trying to get a good seat on the bus is like a cattle call. The strongest and fastest got there first and got the front seat and the rest of us ended up in the back.

Also, it was sometimes difficult to hear the guide, and only once did they use the Magnavox system (in the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona) where the guide wears a microphone and the rest of us wear receiver devices with headphones. I have used this on other trips and found it most helpful, especially for those of us who don't hear as well or tend to be in the back.

The guides were also not consistent in terms of how we were to find them in crowds. The best held up banners or displays of the group numbers but some did not and were harder to find, especially in crowded places. Also, the tour buses are not particularly handicapped friendly and are difficult to ascend and descend; most have no handholds or railings for the disabled.

Holland America seems to have a dedicated following, and most people I talk to have taken multiple cruises with them. I certainly plan on going with them again as well


marie saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
beautiful new ship with great service, January 28, 2011
Reviewer: marie

Pros: everything was well done

Cons: none

Date of cruise: January 9, 2011

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5138

The Neiuw Amsterdam is a beautiful new ship. Everything is very well done. The crew made an effort to give personal attention to all and to address everyone by their name.

Service was spectacular. We cruised the eastern and western Caribbean (14-day cruise). We would cruise again on this ship regardless of where it went.


pstoli2 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Very nice cruise, mix of passengers,, January 8, 2011
Reviewer: pstoli2

Pros: New ship - very large balconies

Cons: Shore Excursion desk - not as helpful/knowledgeable as on other lines

Departure port: Port Everglades

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Suite

Cabin number: 6096

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

Holland America does a nice job of taking care of it's passengers. I often travel with my Mother, and the staff are always quick to help her in any way (i.e. carry her plates in the Lido). There seems to be varied activities for every taste.

Food was very good. The Pinnacle Grill was well worth the additional charge. This was a superior dining experience. Very talented and fun gentleman in the Piano Bar.

I prefer HAL's smaller ships, but it was nice to be on a brand new ship. This ship of 2,200 passengers had the same size public areas as their 1,400 passenger ship. There did not seem to be enough space to go around, particularly on sea days.

Cons: Tables line the area of the Lido where people are accessing the buffet - this it tight. Kids and teens in the adult pool/hot tubs, loud games and music in the adult pool area; the movie theatre was either too small or the seats too large, so that we were never able to see a movie - it was always full; not enough chairs for everyone at the main pool - many cabanas and tables line the area around the pool. There were many empty chaises, but they were all being "saved."

I booked a shore excursion to go to a particular beach specified in the description. I also confirmed it was going there (I had been there before and wanted to return) after getting on the bus, we were informed we were going to a different beach. Where we were taken was terrible - it was in a development with golf courses and condos, a manmade, small beach, crowded with people and children. The water was so murky we did not even go in. When I asked about this at the shore Excursion desk, they confirmed that the excursion did specify a particular beach. They were unaware that we were taken elsewhere. The manager said she would contact the tour company to find out what happened and get back to me. I never heard from them, and I was charged the $54 pp for the trip. This was very disappointing. I was okay paying for it, but would have appreciated the follow-up. I will not use HAL's excursions in the future.

Overall, this was a very nice cruise, always a wonderful selection of delicious foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent service and attention from the dining staff. Reasonable price/quality for wines by the glass. Very nice library, love the fresh orange juice and the popcorn from HAL. HAL remains a favorite cruise line for me.


lguertin saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Dining Room service was excellent; the rest was the worst we ever had, October 11, 2010
Reviewer: lguertin

Pros: Shows were good, and the dining room

Cons: Staff would cut off in front of everybody, not pick up stuff on the floor

Date of cruise: September 24, 2010

Departure port: Venice

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 4189

It was our first time on Holland after experiencing Royal and Celebrity (which was to us superior to Holland. As we said, the dining room service and food was excellent. Shows were also real good.

But the staff was not up to par for us. Dishes in the hallways for hours, some staff did not speak English at all, would talk between themselves all the time.
Ask for breakfast in room for between 6:30 and 7 a.m.
Guy shows up at 6:05. No utensils for breakfast, never brought any back. Went to complain about it, the guy at the front desk did not want our room number.

For us it the last time we use Holland.


bcrum1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Worse cruise experience ever. They obsessed with extra charges, September 13, 2010
Reviewer: bcrum1

Pros: Nothing good

Cons: Service, food and entertainment all worst experienced in 28 cruises

Date of cruise: August 8, 2010

Departure port: Barcelona

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 5037

Our ninth HAL cruise. Last two have been poor. Open seating on HAL means eat in Lido. Peddling water at breakfast in Lido instead of warming coffee!

Kids running halls outside staterooms (although experienced the same on an NCL cruise also sailing from Barcelona). In fairness, a previous Med cruise in '08 on HAL's Zuiderdam was very good. Seems they have changed a lot for the worse in two years.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!