CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : MSC Cruises Reviews

MSC Poesia reviews


MSC Poesia reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.43 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.603.60
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.403.40
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.223.22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.603.60
Food QualityFood Quality = 2.502.50
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.504.50
SpaSpa = 4.254.25
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 2.502.50
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 3.303.30




MSC Poesia itineraries and information



veglover saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Basic cruise line. Nice Rooms but very bad food... Especially at the buffet!, November 6, 2016
Reviewer: veglover

Pros: Friendly staff. Ship was clean.

Cons: The food is so so so bad!!!!

Date of cruise: September 30, 2016

Departure port: Barcelona

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Inside

Cruise line does not live up to its promises....

On November 16, 2015, I purchased a cruise for two persons on MSC Cruises using the services of a travel agent working for Cruise Vacation Outlet.

I was sailing on the MSC Poesia departing on September 30, 2016 from Barcelona. As you can read, I purchased my cruise well in advance in order to benefit from the best rate possible with the best conditions. I paid $649.86 USD per person for a total of $1,299.72.

Over and above the cruise, I was offered the following benefits:

1. $400 shipboard credit per cabin;
2. 20 drink vouchers per person;
3. 1 specialty dinner for 2 persons.

I paid a deposit of $200 USD and all my benefits were confirmed in writing on the statement I received from the travel agent and the cruise line.

Early July I received a message from the travel agent advising me that the final payment of $1,099.72 USD was now due. I paid this amount immediately through the same credit card. I received a confirmation invoice stating that my cruise was now paid in full and confirmed the additional benefits listed above.

As you all know the 90-days before sailing final payment due date is very important as if I were to cancel after that date I would be subject to a penalty that can go to as much as the full price of the cruise.

Mid-August I received a message from my travel agent advising that I have now to do my check-in for the cruise on the cruise line website. I followed up immediately and registered. When I was on the MSC Cruises USA website I noticed that they had changed the conditions of the benefits I had purchased. They had taken away the 3 benefits listed above and replaced them by a $100 USD shipboard credit per cabin ONLY.

I contacted immediately my travel agent who contacted the cruise line to remedy the situation. I followed up with travel agent every 2 weeks to ensure that everything was going smoothly and was reassured that the delay in getting back to me was with the cruise line.

On September 21, 2016, only 7 days before my flight to Spain and 9 days before the sailing of my cruise, I received a message that nothing could be done for me and that was it!

I have everything confirmed in writing but neither the travel agent nor the cruise line will honor the contract.... Very disappointing...

Update: I have now settled my dispute over the missing credits with the travel agency.


Jrovick saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Too many sea days, not enough port time, few Americans, October 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jrovick

Pros: Good size, easy to get around, clean

Cons: Being a European cruise, a variety of nationalities. Few English-speaking gues.

Date of cruise: October 12, 2014

Departure port: Genoa

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 12058

Good for children: Yes

We took this cruise in between two land sections of our vacation. Although it accomplished this, having few English-speaking guests wore on us after a bit.

Its three sea days were not planned well with activities for older guests sailing by themselves and not spending much time pool side. Food was acceptable in both the buffet and main dining room although there was no personal interaction by the table staff during dinner. It was apparent in their training they were taught to be invisible. Perhaps part of this was the multi languages of guests on board. We found that few guests interacted with other guests in a fear of not understanding or guessing a wrong language.

Would perhaps try MSC in US again but not again on a European. I need a bit more upscale cruise experience


heidihowell saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
I had an excellent experience on MSC's Poesia. Excellent food and great service, August 6, 2013
Reviewer: heidihowell

Pros: Good value, friendly efficient staff, beautiful clean ship.

Cons: There were no cons for me.

Date of cruise: July 22, 2013

Departure port: Copenhagen

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 8060

Good for children: Yes

I have just returned from a wonderful week-long cruise on MSC's Poesia. MSC must have made great improvements since some of the earlier reviewers, as I have nothing but high praise for the whole experience.

The ship was kept immaculately clean with wonderful cabin cleaning. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without ever being too pushy. The food was good; maybe not French cuisine, but a great variety, and something for everyone. There was a fantastic selection of fresh fruit, and a varied selection for lunch and dinner in the self-serve buffet-style dining room. There was even a burger and fries section for the kids and any adults who like that kind of thing. The dining room service was excellent, with very speedy service, and a delightful waiter, Suatra, who remembered your interests from one day to the next. The food was better some days than others, but always good, and the two gala nights were a lot of fun.

Yes, everything was announced in five languages, but this was a European cruise and there were passengers and crew from almost every country in the world. By the end of the week, we were even picking up a few words from all of the different languages. We met and made friends with people from so many different countries. Overall there was a very pleasant atmosphere on the ship, and we found the crew to be unfailingly helpful, happy and willing to please.

There were some excellent shore excursions. The Hellesylt/Geiranger fjord transfer excursion was fabulous, with a great lunch at a spectacular restaurant in the mountains. The Flam Railway excursion was also a great experience, and the lunch on that occasion was a magnificent typical Norwegian smorgesbord with delicious food and desserts.

I would totally recommend this cruise without any hesitation. It was excellent value, and created lasting wonderful memories.


reiff0616 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Overall good - with changes could be great, April 11, 2013
Reviewer: reiff0616

Pros: Very smooth boarding, clean ship, great shows for a cruise

Cons: Poor in-room ventilation - highly recommend a balcony

Date of cruise: March 30, 2013

Departure port: Port Everglades (FLL)

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 12055

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

It was our first time on the Poesia. The price and itinerary are why we chose this ship/line. The food was not too good, as many would expect from a cruise. The buffet had a huge selection but it never changes. The sit down was about the same, not so good and few changes. The service in the dining room was average and took two hours to eat and often they got the wrong order - perhaps due to language differences.

The rooms were dirty/worn and often didn't get cleaned by the maid/staff. The air conditioner sucked in smoke and we were on the 12th deckr, the top full deck of cabins. I heard others with the same complaint so it was not isolated.

Another annoying thing is that every announcement including before/after the show was in 5, yes, five languages. Yes, I am an American but don't you think Spanish, English, and Italian are enough?

Speaking of shows, they were low-end Vegas-type shows, but much better than any ship I have been on before.

The (dis)embarkation was more organized than I ever remember. It took about 15 minutes to get on and 45 minutes or so to get off. When I got home I discovered that the MSC Poesia accounting department had put four different holds on my credit card, way in excess of my charges.


sacleland saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great value for families with children under 12 go free., March 10, 2013
Reviewer: sacleland

Pros: Grandson (11yrs) loved the kids program. We loved the food.

Cons: Entertainment in the evening shows was poor. Better artists in the bars.

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale, Fla

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

My grandson loved this cruise. He had a ball with the other kids in the kids programs. I thought the staff for these programs were excellent and very attentive.

The evening shows were not very good compared to other cruise lines. The wait staff and cabin attendants were all very helpful. I had read where many passengers are put off by the multi languages used for all announcements but that did not bother us. We became friendly with other couples from Canada, England, and even France.

Our cruise was just after Christmas, over New Years and it was crowded with kids but that is why we were there too!

I will take my grandkids again any time.


theperrys saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
A second disappointing experience on the MSC Poesia, January 17, 2013
Reviewer: theperrys

Pros: Nice ship. Good wines suggested by the sommelier Luigi. Roomy cabin.

Cons: Food, service and accounting mistake

Date of cruise: December 1, 2012

Departure port: FortLauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 11154

It was our second experience on the Poesia for the JazzFest at Sea experience. The price, cabin and itinerary were right and we enjoyed the ship. However, the food either in the dining room or buffet was either too salty or tasteless and the presentation very poor. Most of the staff did not speak or understand English.

The service in the dining room was horrendous and took 2-3 hours before everybody in our party was served and most of the time it was the wrong order. The barman was unfriendly and mixed our order with another couple and when those drinks were brought back he wanted to serve them back to us even if the couple who got them had taken a sip!

The disembarkation was very disorganized and took more than four hours so two persons in our party missed their plane. To top it off, we discovered upon our return home that the MSC Poesia accounting dept had used our credit card as a DEBIT card (!!) and we then encountered a bank fee of over $200 - we notified MSC of that mistake and requested a reimbursement but after more than five weeks still have not heard from them.

We take 3-4 cruises a year and never encountered such a disappointing experience. We definitively will not sail with MSC again.


Teddylou1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
As an experienced cruiser, very disappointed in the food, menus, June 25, 2012
Reviewer: Teddylou1

Pros: Ship was new and beautiful and chose it for the ports of call in No. Europe

Cons: The food in all restaurants, and no liquor drinks served at dinner tables

Date of cruise: May 26, 2012

Departure port: Kiel, Germany

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 12200

I chose this new (to me) cruise line because of the ports of call offered. The excursions were excellent, in particular, St. Petersburg, Russia.

However, I was very disappointed in the food quality and menus offered in the restaurants and did not elect to dine in the specialty restaurants because the menu was so blahhhhh and unappealing.

As an American, we are used to being able to have coffee served after dinner at the table, which was not available nor accommodated. Nor were liquor drinks available at the dinner table unless we got them ourselves. Poor service all around.

The balcony cabin was great and enjoyed very much and the service to the room was fine. The ship was beautiful inside and out and very comfortable throughout. I found most of the staff to be very accommodating and spoke very good English.

I doubt that I will sail the MSC lines again due to the food issues - although I understand from staff that when the ship reverses its itinerary and comes to Florida to sail the Caribbean, they cater more to American tastes so perhaps the food will be better and the staff more accommodating in the dining room.


kekap697 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
New ship, well-maintained, squeaky clean, friendly staff, world-class singers., December 25, 2011
Reviewer: kekap697

Pros: Whichever floats your boat.

Cons: Lack of variety on the dinner menu. Changed ship's time.

Date of cruise: December 6, 2011

Departure port: Port Everglades

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8009

$71/day for small balcony.


cheepskate saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
If the price is close -- take any other cruise line, December 17, 2010
Reviewer: cheepskate

Pros: Working on-board crew

Cons: Worst customer service/accounting counters ever; supervisor refused to see me

Departure port: Port everglades

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 8026

1-During formal "gala' dinner nights all other food options shut down.

2-All juices on board from concentrate, but they will sell you fresh squeezed OJ.

3- If you like going to the GOLDEN CORRAL on a Sunday after church, then you will love MSC.


tduenwald saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
I will never take MSC cruise line again, October 28, 2010
Reviewer: tduenwald

Pros: The cleanest ship I have been on in my 25+ cruises.

Cons: Worst food, worst service and worst employees I have ever seen on my 25+ cruise

Date of cruise: October 16, 2010

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 12178

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

The ship was well maintained and very clean. That is the only good thing good about the ship.

The food selection and preparation was one-star. The service in the dining room and buffet was one-star.

The employees all over the ship were not helpful and did not speak or understand English very well.

There was not enough time to plan your land tours because
they did not let you know until after dinner what time your tours would depart the next day.

I would never take a MSC cruiuse again.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!