CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : AmaWaterways Reviews

AmaCello reviews


AmaCello reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.05 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.204.20
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.604.60
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.203.20
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 2.332.33
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.404.40
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 5.005.00
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.503.50
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.204.20




AmaCello itineraries and information



AShann72 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Iím pleased to say this line has it right, one of our best trips ever!, June 15, 2012
Reviewer: AShann72

Pros: Ambiance, food, ports

Cons: Lovely overall trip, no complaints

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: Yes

My husband and I discovered the joys of river cruising a couple of years ago and recently took a cruise with AmaWaterways. This was our first voyage with them and Iím pleased to say this line has it right, one of our best trips ever!

My husband and I opted for Amaís Rhine River via the Amacello. Being that this our first time with the line, I was a little nervous, but was very pleasantly surprised. Itís fairly new, tastefully decorated, and clean with quiet rooms and wonderful amenities. We stayed in a Category B room on the Violin Deck which had a French Balcony (most rooms do) and measured about 170 square feet. I found the accommodations to be spacious enough for the two of us, and thought the color scheme (kind of a dusky orange) to be restful and elegant. The room had a floor to ceiling window (making the room nice and light) and a bathroom with both a shower and tub. Thereís internet access available ensuite, a flat-screen television, and good-sized wardrobe.

We enjoyed the food; there were lots of options for both my husband and myself. I am mostly vegetarian- and there were almost always good choices; rich and creamy vegetable soups, salads and fish. My husband, on the other hand, tried out heavier fare such dishes as lamb and bacon-wrapped filet and was very pleased overall. We both enjoyed the beers and wines that accompany the meals- they also make their own ice cream onboard.

Our itinerary included stops in Amsterdam, Cologne, Rudesheim, Strasbourg, Basel, Lucerne, Zurich. We both loved being able to take bikes off the ship and ride (Ama provides bikes and helmets onboard), letting us venture out and explore the region. We did this mostly on our own, although Ama does offer guided bike tours, too. My favorite port was Lucerne, where the old world flavor of Europe is so evident; the city has cobblestone streets, public spaces with gorgeous fountains, covered bridges and lively and colorful frescoes are everywhere. Another fun option is to take a cable car ride to the top of Mount Pilatus, which is the mountain which stands in majesty over the city.

Iíd recommend this line and shipÖ we are already planning our next cruise with AmaWaterways, looking at the Christmas cruise that starts in Prague. Would love to hear from anyone who has taken this cruise!


ride saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Not for me, May 22, 2011
Reviewer: ride

Pros: The cabin design was excellent and the views while sailing were fantastic

Cons: Bad tour guide; new chef not good; bad entertainment; powdered decaf coffee

Date of cruise: May 1, 2011

Departure port: Amsterdam

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: b216

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Our cabin was small but well designed,cat. B. The french balcony window was nice but we rarely opened it because of bugs. The linens were good quality. The soap and shampoo were poor. Bring your own. Good hairdryer. Laundry services were good and cheap. Food was fair. Not enough variety. Ice cream everyday for dessert was boring. The snacks were dull. The decaf coffee was a jar of Nestle powdered mix. The included wines were good and bad. German wines were better; French were bad. The included tours were mixed. We were left abandoned by guides in more than one port. The tour director didn't care. The entertainment was dull...and the piano player was awful. The scenery was beautiful. The weather was sunny. The people on board were very nice. The cabin service and the wait staff were good to fair. Some were great; some had poor attitude. AMA is not for me.


steamer61 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Very good value for price as we booked through uet.com, September 8, 2010
Reviewer: steamer61

Pros: Very helpful staff and brand new ship

Cons: None

Date of cruise: May 20, 2010

Departure port: Nuremberg

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Our cruise was the "Legendary Danube" itinerary and we also booked the pre-cruise program in Prague which was well worth it. We arrived a day earlier and this was a good thing as it gave us time to unwind from a long flight.

This was our first river cruise and we liked the intimacy of a small boat where it was easy to get to know many of our fellow travelers. Our AMA cruise exeeded all expectations and we will certainly go on other river cruises again in the future.


tcambron saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Beautiful ship with good service but rather uninteresting itinerary, September 4, 2010
Reviewer: tcambron

Pros: Ship design, cleanliness, and friendliness of the staff

Cons: Lower Danube itinerary far less interesting than Upper Danube.

Date of cruise: August 16, 2010

Departure port: Rousse, Bulgaria

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 329

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No




jane44 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Our recent Danube cruise was wonderful! Crew was thoughtful and friendly., August 3, 2010
Reviewer: jane44

Pros: I was impressed with organization of all activities and the helpful attitude.

Cons: Weather was very hot, crew preformed well and made everyone comfortable.

Date of cruise: July 13, 2017

Departure port: Budapest

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 107

I have recently returned from a wonderful cruise on the AMACELLO from Budapest to Neuremburg. It was a wonderful and comfortable seven days. From the moment we arrived, there was wonderful efficiency in the movement of people and activities. The ship was well designed and comfortable. The staterooms had great storage, packing and unpacking was made very easy and secure.

Excursions were well planned and we were given good pre-tour information. The weather was horribly hot and the staff was very thoughtful in having cool drinks and water readily available. here was sincere concern about the happiness and comfort of all passengers.

We would very definitely recommend this cruise line and the Danube itinerary to others. It was a great experience.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!