CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Celebrity Cruises Reviews

Celebrity Millennium reviews


Celebrity Millennium reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.45 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.503.50
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.403.40
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.893.89
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.803.80
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.203.20
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.003.00
SpaSpa = 3.503.50
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.503.50
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 3.563.56




Celebrity Millennium itineraries and information



techshark saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Beware, This Could Happen to you on Celebrity, February 15, 2017
Reviewer: techshark

Pros: Many of the Destinations

Cons: I got interrogated while being recorded on a bodycam.

Date of cruise: January 26, 2017

Departure port: Shanghai, China

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7028

I want to let people know about my experience on the Celebrity Millennium. Because I complained about the horrible internet service and calling my room repeatedly after 9 p.m., I was (after being refused information about the purpose) summoned to Guest Relations put in a small room, interrogated and recorded on a bodycam.

When I complained to senior officers after I requested a meeting with them, I was basically told that this was fine with Celebrity and that if I complained again I would be sent off the ship so I spent the remainder of the cruise interacting as little as possible with the crew (my husband interacted including ordering my meals) as well as with other passengers.

This was a terribly upsetting experience. I think a bit like being questioned for a crime I didn’t commit. I woke several times in the night again upset about this and was uncomfortable just about all the time I was on the ship. I only really felt safe when I was off the ship and am OK now that I’m home.

I wanted to share this as widely as possible so people know this can happen to them on Celebrity as I would not have cruised with them had I known this could happen. BTW, Celebrity charges about US$100 for a load of laundry on the ship without any specials offered so be prepared for that.


Kevanr saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Rusting ship. Tired staterooms. Average food. Uncomfortable sun loungers., February 5, 2016
Reviewer: Kevanr

Pros: Great house band, good entertainers.

Cons: The ship is decrepit, stern decks empty and rusting.

Date of cruise: January 17, 2016

Departure port: Singapore.

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8135

The Millennium is well past its best. The ship is old and tired. The stern decks have no facilities and the floor covering is torn with rust showing through. Rust is also a theme on the stateroom balconies. Stateroom furniture and linen is tired. In fact, furniture throughout the ship is worn and faded. Sun loungers were thin and uncomfortable.
We joined the ship after norovirus affected the previous cruise. It was 3 days before we got robes in our concierge class stateroom. It took 5 days for the buffet dining to return to a normal service.
The food is very average and while the servers work hard organization in the restaurants is poor.
The entertainment was great. The director was first rate, the orchestra excellent and the artists were of a very high standard.
The embarkation and disembarkation at Singapore was superb. The most efficient we have ever experienced.


patc saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A very poor cruise experience on Millennium in Asia, June 9, 2014
Reviewer: patc

Pros: The crew did their best, as usual

Cons: See full review below

Date of cruise: February 1, 2014

Departure port: Hong Kong

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Balcony

We were in an Aqua suite (1115). We found the cabin generally to be too hot for comfort and that access to the rest of the ship was made difficult by the location of the cabins. Our friends in 1124 suffered even worse problems, but they will write to you about that.

Let’s start with the tour to Hanoi, which involved a drive of four hours each way. The guide was good and did his best, but the buses were dreadful. The seats were entirely inappropriate for a drive of that duration and it was made worse in our case, because we were seated over a wheel, which meant I had my knees around my chin for eight hours. Not good for an aging back and knees.

Then there is the internet. Apart from the ripoff prices that Celebrity charges, there were several problems. I took three devices to staff to be set up, as requested, one laptop, a mini iPad and a Kindle Fire. While the internet worked on the latter devices, it never worked on the laptop. Second, the system was charging for being connected to the network even when the internet was not available. I estimate that it chewed up almost half of my $99 doing that.

Third, there was a norovirus outbreak, which, as I understand it, was due to some passengers boarding the ship with it and not declaring it. You might say it is their fault and, in a sense, it was. However, I understand that on other Celebrity ships, like Solstice, for example, for the first few days passengers are not allowed to serve themselves in the buffets. Had this been done on Millennium, there would not have been a norovirus outbreak. This means that the outbreak was due, at least in part, to negligence on the part of Celebrity.

How do I know this? Well, I am a lawyer; in fact, I am what in the USA would be termed a lawyer who specializes in litigation. Because of this negligence, everything that followed was, at least, in part, Celebrity’s fault.

I contracted a mild version of the virus, declared myself and was confined to my cabin for 24 hours, starting on the morning preceding my 60th birthday, which was why my wife and I were on the cruise in the first place. Thankfully, my symptoms abated and I was freed for my birthday. For that inconvenience, I was promised a discount voucher I could use on Celebrity. No sign of that voucher yet. In any case, such compensation is of no value to me, because we do not intend to cruise with Celebrity again.

To balance all this, let me say that the crew did the best they could, noting that many of them also were struck down by the norovirus. On the plus side, we enjoyed some of the tours, especially to Hoi An and to Halong Bay and the Zen Buddhism series by Marshall Stern was excellent, as was Mario D’Andrea. In fact, the entertainment was generally of a good standard.

Qsine was a pleasant surprise and that is where I had my birthday dinner. Olympic was a bit disappointing, the cuisine lacked imagination, but was okay.

Then we arrived in Singapore and moved into our expensive hotel, the Fullerton. My wife then developed acute gastroenteritis, due, in the treating doctor’s opinion, to norovirus. The doctor’s visit cost us $390 Singapore. My wife’s illness ruined our stay in Singapore and put her health – and mine – at risk.


jmysr123 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Oceanview cafe staff poor, maintenance of ship poor, lack of detail & attention, October 12, 2013
Reviewer: jmysr123

Pros: Specialty restaurants

Cons: Maintenance and some staff in certain areas

Date of cruise: September 22, 2013

Departure port: San Diego

Region visited: Panama Canal

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8109

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

After weeks being down, the Millennium was brought back into service for our cruise. The ship had paint on balcony windows, there were metal boxes in several places on the decks falling off walls. Overall cleanliness was bad.

The staff and service in the Oceanview Cafe were terrible. Ice machines were brokne in the back of Cafe. There was no one to be found for drinks and tables took forever to be cleaned, leaving everyone searching for seats as it was crowded.

We put in a special dining restriction request with Celebrity six months prior to the cruise and had to speak to four people on the ship to finally get to someone who we thought would help.

The specialty restaurants, Qsine and The Olympic, were outstanding. Food and service were fantastic. Bar staff in casino (Ari) and Cellar Masters (Elgebert) were great. Future cruise sales (Humberto) was very good also.


Lphs35 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
On the whole a good cruise, September 27, 2012
Reviewer: Lphs35

Pros: Best is Qsine hands down. LOVED food and service!

Cons: Olympic restaurant and ocean view cafe

Date of cruise: September 14, 2012

Departure port: Vancouver

Region visited: Pacific Northwest

Cabin category: Suite

Cabin number: 6122

When we arrived in our sky suite butler was nowhere to be found, no fruit, many things in suite not working but head of housekeeping was extremely responsive and had everything taken care of immediately!
Qsine restaurant is excellent but Olympic left a lot to be desired both in comparing food and service.
Entertainment was great. Loved comedian!


snickerful saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 33
Overall a very good experience!, September 13, 2012
Reviewer: snickerful

Pros: The service from the cruise staff was excellent!

Cons: We expected more from the food. Wouldn't spend $40 extra on specialty dining.

Date of cruise: August 31, 2012

Departure port: Seward

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7159

Overall, we had a wonderful experience on the Celebrity Millenium. The staff were friendly and very attentive! We enjoyed the onboard shows, especially the dancers!!

My husband and I were younger than the majority of passengers, hence most of the shows were geared a bit more for an over-50 crowd, still great though.

The ship is 12 years old so there were some signs of aging but nothing offensive.

We really expected more from the food. We may be a little spoiled in this area but we found everything to be just "okay." We never experienced anything with the "wow" factor. We dined in one of the specialty restraunts (The Olympic) and it was better but still nothing incredible and not worth paying an additional $40 per person.

The coffee served was horrible! That was THE most disappointing thing for me. I didn't want to shell out $4.50 every time I wanted a decent cup of coffee. We were also disappointed that there was no late night buffet or more options other than pizza.

Again though, overall it was still a wonderful experience!


cruiseheart saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The 4 and 5 day cruises were one of our best cruise experiences, October 18, 2011
Reviewer: cruiseheart

Pros: Beautiful ship, great cruise director and staff, outstanding service and food

Cons: Cannot fault the Millennium on anything

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8086

Back-to-back cruises on the Millennium gave us nine nights which were still not enough. We had such a fantastic time, we hated to disembark.

Everyone treated us like family - cruise staff, wait staff, room steward and even the officers. The entertainment was great. The singers and dancers were some of the most talented and energetic we have seen. Food in the dining room and Ocean Cafe was excellent. Even the ice cream was extra good. The M&Ms and jelly beans were a nice bonus.

We appreciated the friendliness and availability of the officers. All onboard worked to ensure that we were happy and satisfied with every aspect of our cruise. Our daily planner was chock full of activities for us even when we were in port. The brunch on the final day was spectacular with ice carvings and a dizzying array of food choices.

Celebrity has always been one of our favorite lines and once again certainly met our expectations.


066027 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Good But Not As Impressive As Expected, September 8, 2010
Reviewer: 066027

Pros: Good Facilities

Cons: Dining experience was a let down

Date of cruise: April 9, 2009

Departure port: Vancouver

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9019

Generally the experience was as expected but I would like to discuss the areas below:

Excursions

This was a problem for us as my wife is disabled. We sought clarification from Celebrity's head office on suitable excursions but they took too long to respond so that by the time they did some of our excursions were sold out!! Head office staff seemed to be just reading from a brochure and had no hands-on experience of the excursions they were selling.

On-bard ecursion staff were helpful and disembarkation and embarkation ran well.

Dining Facilities

We ate in the Metropolitan restaurant and The Emporium specialty restaurant. The Emporium decor and food was nice but not worth the additional expense. The Metropolitan food was disappointing given Celebrity's reputation; it was okay but nothing special.


LenKap saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
I found the ship comparable to Princess lines, September 2, 2010
Reviewer: LenKap

Pros: Good quality overall

Cons: A change in itinerary was made without prior notification and for no reason

Departure port: Sydney

Region visited: South Pacific/Australia

Cabin category: Balcony

The cruise went from Sydney to Auckland and was very beautiful, especially the New Zealand portion.


karoggra saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Our cruise from San Juan was good value for money., May 13, 2010
Reviewer: karoggra

Pros: Take the trip to San Juan for the cheap cruises.

Cons: We didn't like that the late dining seaters had to go to the shows before dinner

Departure port: San Juan

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9201

Good for children: Yes

The ship is 10 years old and it shows. Public toilet doors could not be closed and in many public places one could see the signs of the age of the ship. Our cabin door was difficult to shut. The covers of the cushions on our balcony were covered in paint.

Our cabin steward really did not do his job: Leftovers from the previous passengers could be seen in the bathroom cupboard and I had to dust the shelves before we could settle in.

It is definitely not worth the money to pay the extra for Concierge cabins as the canapes every day are the same and the flowers consist of one stalk of flowers in three thin vases. There's no priority boarding and you'd be better off paying for a bottle of champagne (actually sparkling wine) on departure than pay the extra for Concierge class.

If you have ordered late seating, you should be aware that the entertainment, which we've been used to being after dinner on this ship, is before dinner. We missed most of the entertainment, as we were either in the gym or taking a spa treatment at that time. Both the gym and the spa amenities are excellent!

We had a lovely meal in the Olympic speciality restaurant (but at a cost...)but our daughter and boyfriend did not. During their meal, the staff were arguing, the food was late arriving and they didn't get what they ordered. It should be said that after complaining they had a fantastic meal with excellent service for free.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!