CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Inspiration reviews


Carnival Inspiration reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.17 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.334.33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.833.83
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.673.67
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.334.33
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.334.33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.004.00
SpaSpa = 5.005.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 5.005.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.504.50




Carnival Inspiration itineraries and information



bgallo1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Outstanding Service! Great Entertainment! Tons of fun!!!, July 28, 2015
Reviewer: bgallo1

Pros: The outstanding service from happy staff and delicious food options!

Cons: Going to Ensenada. Next time I will stay on the ship & enjoy the pool!

Date of cruise: July 24, 2015

Departure port: Long Beach, CA

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: U4

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warm smiles and that never went away the entire trip. Our steward Sandy was amazing, friendly and totally on it for anything we needed. (Long Beach to Ensenada trip)

Our wait staff was amazing, the food was amazing - there was a few things I myself didn't care for, but that's just me. The breakfast in the dining room was awesome, the shows were wonderful. The comedy (18+) oh my gosh HYSTERICAL!!! The Piano Bar was a lot of fun too. Elizabeth was quite the character. Oh and Princess Marshmallow - oh what a funny guy!!!

I am totally going to miss the staff. It was just an overall great 3-night cruise. I recommend this for anyone who is looking for a short trip. The three nights felt a lot longer than they were....but it was great and I will be going back. :)

I definitely recommend getting the All U Can Drink card for $50/day (min. of 15 drinks valued at $10 or less) This would have saved us a lot of money. And if you are a soda drinker - there's a cheap card for that too. Just ask the bar tender. They will hook you up.


d26willhite saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Service was amazing, all of the staff very friendly and helpful., June 25, 2015
Reviewer: d26willhite

Pros: The service from the staff.

Cons: Not enough choices for food from the buffet.

Departure port: Long Beach, CA

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: E7

Good for children: Yes

The cruise on the Carnival Imagination was great. It was our first cruise and we had a wonderful time. The service from the staff was excellent.

It was hard to only have one electrical outlet in our cabin. We had to buy an extension cord on Catalina Island. Also, I would have liked to have seen movies as an entertainment option.


dwburris saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Old but well kept, May 12, 2011
Reviewer: dwburris

Pros: Good buffet, coffee shop, great pizza and large shower

Cons: Terrible theater, noisy cabins and non-friendly staff

Date of cruise: May 2, 2017

Departure port: Tampa

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: M163

We flew in a day early and used an independent shuttle to the ship. Arrived at the pier at about 11:30. We were checked in and ready to board before noon. They started boarding just after noon and we got on board about 12:15. The cabins wouldn't be ready until 1:30.

We went up to the Lido deck and found a table by the pool bar. We both got our lunch from the grill. We figured the buffet would be a crowded disaster. After eating we went into the buffet and found out it was actually well laid out with many tables.

We went to our cabin at 1:30 and it was ready. It was laid out strangely with the bed perpendicular to the door. My wife took the side by the wall and only had about 15" clearance to walk around the bed. The cabin had a comfortable bed. It had a flat screen TV with a terrible fuzzy dark picture.
The bathroom had a large shower and the toilet was too close to the wall for me.

We heard every noise in the hall and from the surrounding cabins. One night a gang came down the hall screaming and carrying on at 4 a.m. The cabins to our side made our walls shake every time they slammed their door and the cabin above made loud noises like moving furniture.

We finally met our cabin steward the second day for about 10 seconds. We never saw him again.

The first day was a sea day and although it was crowded there was sufficient space on the pool deck and above to find a place to sit.

The next day we were at Grand Cayman. They were tendering ashore. Since we have been there we stayed on board and enjoyed the fairly empty ship. The following day were at Cozumel. We went ashore to shop some. After about two hours we returned to the ship. Next day was another sea day.

Food: We ate breakfast most days in the restaurant. The same typical offerings every day. We ate one day at the buffet and were not impressed. The only meat offered was bacon.

For lunch we ate at the buffet most days. A salad, a great sandwich from the deli and/or good pizza. The one day we ate in the restaurant was typical cruise foods.

Most dinners were in the dining room and again Carnival's standard. Their old standard was much better. I believe the new menu saves them money. The chocolate melting cake is all we enjoy on the new menu. They have fantastic ribs but they are only available on the first day. The last day we ate at the buffet since the dining room menu was things we didn't like. The main disappointment was when my wife ordered turkey and it was lunch meat. Overall the food was as good as most cruise lines and better than some.

We only went to one show. My wife liked it but it was too amateur for me. We had a seat to the side in the balcony and could see all of the normal backstage stuff like moving sets and cast preparing to come out. Not professional.

The theater was horrible. Not enough slope to see above people in front of you and posts all over blocking views. It seems Carnival is the worst for too many obstructions.

Public areas: There were many places to sit and read and except for around the pool the ship didn't seem crowded. We spent most of our time in the promenade area.

One thing is the majority of the crew had scowls on their faces and did their job but no smiles. I would say this was about 60-65% of the crew.

We got off the ship ahead of our scheduled time. Went right through customs and to our bus. Then things stopped. We waited about 20-25 minutes until they filled every seat. It took forever to fill they last few seats. The driver announced that he wanted a tip.

Overall it was a good relaxing cruise. I note things that I see but I don't let them bother me. This was a party cruise to some passengers.

The largest complaint of any cruise is your fellow passengers. I was run into several times and only one person said excuse me. They cut in line at the buffet. The seniors are by far the worst. Unfortunately the cruise lines can't control that.


Sarah saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Cabin was overcrowded for four, staff was great, One good, one bad excursion., June 15, 2010
Reviewer: Sarah

Pros: Very friendly and attentive staff.

Cons: Cozumel shore excursion (Playa Mia beach break) and on-board swimming options.

Date of cruise: May 31, 2010

Departure port: Tampa

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: M143

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

My husband and I took our kids - ages 15 (almost 16) and 12 - along on this first cruise for any of us. We booked 10 months in advance and the price was right.

We had port stops at Grand Cayman and Cozumel. At Grand Cayman, we did the Snuba excursion and had a great time. Two of us could have used more weight on our weight belts, but for the other twp of us it was probably the highlight of the cruise. We know what to change for next time.

At Cozumel, we had by far the worst experience of the trip. We chose the Play Mia beach break. The food was poor. (For example, no cheese. What? We're from Wisconsin!) But the water and beach were horrendous. Specifically, as you enter the water from the beach, you are stepping on sharp and slippery rocks. You can't avoid them, but you also can't see them because the water is thick with stirred-up sand.. This problem improves, but never really disappears. I'm almost six feet tall, and when I was in water up to my neck within the swimming area, I was still slipping and stepping on rocks when I tried to stand. My 15-year-old got a big gash on his foot from navigating this mess, which affected the rest of our trip because it was painful for him to wear shoes and to walk after that.

Carnival's response to this injury has me stunned. At the shore excursion desk, they told me they were aware of the problem at the beach but that it was still the best beach in Cozumel. (So skip the beaches in Cozumel!) Next, we tried the guest services desk. (We tried this because my son wasn't satisfied with the shore excursion desk attendant's response to my complaint, and he wanted to show off his injury so they would understand what had happened.) There, they asked our cabin number and the attendant wrote a note to himself that said "report incident."

When we returned home, I used Carnival's website to complain. They offer hollow apologies but they are still endorsing this excursion without warning patrons of the unbelievably poor conditions.

Finally, the virtual tour of the ship shows a resort-style swimming pool and a set of water slides. We believe that the resort-style pool was replaced when they put in the water slides, but at any rate it definitely is not on that ship any more. So on-board swimming isn't really an option. Don't be misled by the pictures!

We had a great waiter - Frederick - in the Carnivale dining room. And our room steward was also amazing. Our room was supposed to fit four people, but if my 12-year-old weren't tiny, I'm not sure what we would have done, because the regular twin-sized rollaway bed would not have fit in our cabin. She slept on a smaller portable bed which, again, only worked because she's about 4' 10"" and weighs 75 pounds.

Overall - the beach break was a total waste of money and, since we were stuck there because of the bus transportation, also of time. It spoiled our overall impression and if we cruise again, I can't imagine it will be on Carnival.


kekap697 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent value, older ship provides many great features, May 26, 2010
Reviewer: kekap697

Pros: George the Greek, Serenity deck, Inspiration orchestra, captain's party

Cons: The shows

Departure port: Tampa

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: several

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Older ship, recently refurbished, lots of Carnival goodies. Don't miss George the Greek in the Mardi Gras dining room.


mucklucks811 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Party all the time, May 19, 2010
Reviewer: mucklucks811

Pros: Easy embarkation, great crew, fun activities, slighty updated ship

Cons: It is an older ship without a lot of the new bells and whistles

Departure port: tampa

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Suite

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: Yes

We have been on the Inspiration 4-day to Cozumel once before the refurbishment and once after. We were in an ocean-view the first time and a penthouse the second. The ship has a great crew especially George the Greek maitre'd.

We loved the Serenity area of the ship and the penthouse accommodations were great. It is relatively inexpensive to take a four- or five-day on this ship and although it is truly gaudy it made for a fun experience worth repeating. Bon Voyage.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!