CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Royal Caribbean International (RCL) Reviews

RCL Freedom of the Seas reviews


RCL Freedom of the Seas reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.97 / 5

Average Rating based on 12 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.923.92
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.833.83
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.803.80
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.673.67
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.923.92
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.174.17
SpaSpa = 3.503.50
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.674.67
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.184.18




RCL Freedom of the Seas itineraries and information



dbakeresq saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Good ship with some shortcomings, April 22, 2016
Reviewer: dbakeresq

Pros: Overall good experience, nice clean ship with great evening meals

Cons: Free dining was limited and the buffet was average at best

Date of cruise: April 10, 2016

Departure port: Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 8591

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was a nice ship, very well kept. The room was very nice and the service in the dining room was excellent.

There were many things to do on the ship, especially for the younger adventurer types; not so much for older crowd. This is the 20th cruise I have been on and the fourth on Royal Caribbean. I don't remember ever there being so many sales pitches. From the time you get on the ship until the time you get off they are trying to sell you something.

The dining in the main dining room in the evenings was great but past that the food was average at best. The buffet was pretty much the same thing all week and the other dining venues either cost extra or didn't offer much in the way of food selection or quality. I got a good deal on the cruise so I was happy overall.


agollop saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
First RCCL cruise - was good but not as good as expected, April 2, 2016
Reviewer: agollop

Pros: Beautiful ship

Cons: Buffet food and entertainment.

Date of cruise: March 13, 2016

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

This was our first RCCL cruise, we have been on two Carnival ships and we wanted to try RCCL because of the good things we have heard. This is also our first cruise bringing our teen son (he also brought a friend). We had two cabins, a balcony (we always get a balcony) and a promenade inside across from our balcony for our teens.

Cabins - they were great. Cabins similar size to Carnival balcony size. Carnival has more shelves in the bathroom but nothing to complain about. The balcony was deeper on Freedom that our past Carnival which was surprising. Our balcony glass was very dirty, we walked on and it was dirty and we left and it was still dirty. Our balcony was never washed and the glass was so dirty that it was hard to see through. Also it looked like the railings were stained recently and there were many brown drips down the white casing. Always with Carnival our balcony was washed once during our cruises, this time it was not.

Food - The main dining room was good, we went twice. Food was great, we knew to order extra and we did both nights; I was okay with the portions, my teens and husband had to order extra. It was beautiful in the dining room, nicer than Carnival for food and decor. Dinning room staff were our favorite; we did miss the Carnival entertainment in the dining room, there is no entertainment here.

We are buffet people and we very much prefer the Carnival buffet. The Windjammer was very congested, the flow is just not laid out right. The food was just okay, there was nothing I went back twice for but I didn't starve. There was a lot of pork and carb side dishes. There was usually only one hot veg and the salad bar for any vegetable options. Room service has more options than Carnival, full breakfast on the balcony was great.

Entertainment - We love to go to the comedy shows, this week there was only two nights of comedy and both were very packed - this should show RCCL that they need more comedy shows. The ice show was nice to see but it's nothing special. It's more the novelty of a skating rink at sea that drove us in, we would not go again. We went to another show (can't remember the name but the typical song and dance) and left part way through. Just not our cup of tea.

I have to say, they had several entertainment lounges that I hardly saw used, always empty. A few bars would have live music but it wouldn't last long, approximately an hour. Seems like wasted space. Overall Carnival has more entertainment to our liking with the dedicated nightly comedy clubs and main theater options more to our liking.

Our teens were not impressed with the sports area, way too packed and trying to get in to play some basketball was just not happening. They really need someone monitoring and have a sign up or something so everyone gets a turn. They played ping pong, however, at one point during the cruise the balls disappeared and that was it for that. The line-ups for the Flow Rider and rock climbing were crazy, not Freedom's fault but the kids were disappointed.

Embark and Disembark process - Getting on the ship was fine, we went at 11:30 and we were on the ship in about 30-40 minutes. The disembark process was the slowest we ever experienced. We were to get off with the 9:30 group, however, we finally got off at 10 and waited in a very long customs line. We didn't get out of the terminal until 11. Not sure if that's RCCL's fault or customs.

Spa - I always get a treatment while on a cruise, it's my treat. I usually wait until mid-end of cruise and take advantage of a combo special. The spa is very nice and I enjoyed it. Like all cruise ship spas, they try to sell you products. I actually bought for the first time only because I really liked it. Carnival and Freedom spas are the same, no difference.

Drink package - We like to have a few beverages while on vacation, we do not get crazy but I love slushy beverages while sitting in the hot Caribbean sun. For the first time we bought the beverage package. We probably broke even because RCCL raised their drink prices. It was nice not having to worry about it. A few times I tried something and then ordered something else and didn't feel worried about it. Carnival has a lot more options for specialty drinks. I asked twice for a drink menu and was told that they do not provide one any more as they were being taken and cost of replacing was expensive. I wanted to try new drinks and whenever I asked what they had for frozen drinks I was told pina coloda, mud slide, daiquiris and margaritas -- waaaaayyy less options than Carnival. I was actually disappointed with the drink package as I was really looking forward to trying new things.

Overall - The ship is beautiful. The Promenade deck is really stunning and gives the ship a rich feeling. There were spots that were not that clean, just needs a good scrubbing and maybe some new paint. I did not feel that RCCL was anything spectacular above our Carnival experiences. We would not specifically choose one line or the other but look more at the itinerary. RCCL is more expensive and in our opinion, there was no reason for it; no differences that would justify the price.

We had a great vacation because we made it so.


richblues saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 11
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Poor dining experience, January 17, 2016
Reviewer: richblues

Pros: The nightly entertainment

Cons: Food was terrible, onboard sales pitches were ridiculous

Date of cruise: January 3, 2016

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1388

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: Yes

Let me preface by saying that we go on cruises every year, the last six with our two small girls aged 4 and 6. First time with Royal Caribbean and the last. First the good. The ship itself (the main areas, ie, promenade) is very nice and quasi clean. They have a rock climbing wall and simulated surfing. Some of the nightly shows were good to very good (6 to 7.5/10). That’s about all the good things I can think of.

The food in the main dining room was mediocre to poor (ditto for all the food on the ship). The first night I ordered encrusted Salmon, it was salty beyond belief. The second night the chef had a feature which was supposed to be saffron cauliflower with some sort of fish. Dish came with a half of a roasted potato, the driest fish ever topped with salsa like spaghetti sauce (who puts tomato sauce on white fish?). When I inquired as to where my saffron cauliflower was they apologized and said they had none so they substituted , without telling me (but this was the featured meal of the night I argued?).

They brought me salmon instead (dry) after one bite, we left and went upstairs to the buffet which had variety but lackluster quality compared to EVERY cruise ship we had been on before (including the lowly Carnival which by the way had fabulous food).

On a couple of nights they had sushi, however, as with the consistency of low quality they substituted smoked (maple) salmon in the sushi rolls paired with the wrong type of soya sauce which made the rolls taste super salty and inedible. They hid the tuna rolls under the counter because “they would go too fast” and so you had to know to ask for them.

The majority of the food consisted of pork this or pork that, lots of rice dishes, the cheapest cuts of fish (basa, tilapia and unknown Chinese fish). If you saw shrimps they were the tiny canned ones which were very disappointing. In the main dining room I ordered scallops as an entrée and they brought me six pea-sized scallops in an escargot dish (unprofessional) drenched in butter (for taste). Everything was drenched in butter to enhance the low quality of the foods served.

I was VERY disappointed that it felt they purposely lowered the food quality so that you would be forced to eat at their pay for, overpriced restaurants ($79 USD PP). I have always promoted cruise lines because of the variety and quality of food but NOT Royal Caribbean. Got together with my cousins today and lo and behold they had the SAME experience on a different RCCL ship!. Terrible food (and they are cruise nuts going on Princess next for March break).

The other thing that left a sour taste in my mouth was the constant bombardment of sales pitches for just about everything they could sell you. I was really disgusted with that. They turned a beautiful ship into one big flea market. Drink packages started at $49 pp per day + 18% gratuity. $8/day each for kids for pop.

We were advised that we should not buy anything from the shops in front of the ship and that instead they had “preferred” shops which were authentic, guaranteed blah blah blah and we could get there for a inexpensive $8 by taxi. So we took their advice and it turned out the forum shops was one huge diamond store and not a mall as we had envisioned. The salespeople awaited us in front of our taxi like vultures to accost us with free margaritas and a draw to come in their diamond store and shop for diamonds and jewelry. The other stores we visited (rum cakes, tequila, t-shirt etc… ) same type of deal. We later found out that RCCLis compensated for all of the tourists that shop at their stores so they are making money in every way they can.

For kids the kids camp was great but it’s also great on every ship. The sour part was the cost of the arcade games which ripped us off for $20 (none of the games worked when we swiped our card) and the prices of the games were $2 each play. These should have been FREE (if I did my math right they had 4,300 people on the ship @ an average of $1,000 pp they have to pull in more than $500 million a year on one ship when you include all the kickbacks from store excursions, casino, on and offshore retail sales etc… yet they treat us like suckers and feel like vultures going after a prey (in this case it’s how much money can we squeeze out of these suckers).

Line ups for rock climbing were usually one hour so that didn’t work out. If we tried to order water from any of the ship bars we got looks from the bartenders as they couldn’t charge their 18% tips.

On every other cruise line, the crew dotes on children. Not so on RCCL. No special greetings in the dining room, we had to ask the room steward for kids lifejackets on day 3 (would not proactively bring) also reminded to do up room earlier than 9-10 pm due to small children (this should be intuitive).

The getting off the ship at ports was strenuous but the poor experience was getting back on scanning us like we were all criminals, patting down old ladies and just plain mean demeanors (wasn’t that picky or uncaring on other ships.)

The ads for packages for everything just drove me mad. Internet discounts, photo discounts 50% one day only (sign was up for 3 days) photo costs are exorbitant @ $22.99 for ONE photo but $495 if you want to buy them all. Other ships are around $12-$16 plus discounts. The bazaar like atmosphere selling T-shirts in the pool area for 50% off, then tables of purses, watches, jewelry all marked up by double then marked down by 50%.

We attended a scotch-tasting event in the general store and even that turned out to be a sales pitch (after the tasting was had one hour to get a 10% discount). I found the same scotch (double black) JW etc.. on shore in a regular Publix in Florida cheaper than the “duty free” ships prices.

Pizzas on Norwegian and Carnival were fresh made, fresh dough, fresh basil, buffalo mozzarella (you know, great ingredients). On the Freedom of the Seas? Pre-made cardboard-style grocery-like crusts with sour tasting ketchup sauce and cheap ingredients (and they had a pizza store on the promenade same deal as dining room or buffet).

On our second day they had the genius of an idea to varnish our railings on our private balcony, it never dried for the duration of the trip and so we could not touch or go near the rail which defeated our enjoyment of the balcony premium.
I thought I had paid for a 5-star ship paying premium for a balcony and expecting first class everything. Boy, were we disappointed. RCCL is dead to me. Will never board another one again. If anyone is leaving positive reviews in my opinion it’s because they are either paid bloggers by the cruise line or first-time cruisers with nothing to compare against.


cscc1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Nice vacation., January 23, 2014
Reviewer: cscc1

Pros: Wait staff great. Enjoyed entertainment.

Cons: Not crazy about private island, Coco Cay.

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Nice vacation, everything turned out good. Itinerary was a little different which was enjoyable.


ralphien123 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Food was very good, entertainment was just OK., January 3, 2014
Reviewer: ralphien123

Pros: Relaxing, very rarely were waitstaff bugging you to buy drinks!

Cons: Couldn't launder or iron your own clothes.

Date of cruise: December 22, 2013

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 7315

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

My wife and I had a relaxing time onboard the Freedom of the Seas. This was my first Royal Caribbean cruise (I have been on three Disney and three Carnival cruises).

The food was very good (a little better than Carnival, especially the buffet), but the entertainment was fair at best. We attended most of the stage shows and caught one ice show. They weren't bad, but I enjoyed the entertainment on the Carnival ships a bit more.

I also found the fellow passengers onboard this ship were too reserved for a cruise. Even during dance parties, most just stood around instead of getting involved.

The ship is beautiful, top to bottom, and the Promenade gives an amazing feeling of not even being on the ship at all.

Our cabin was an Deck 7 inside stateroom overlooking the Promenade. Having the window made the cabin seem much bigger than it was.

All-in-all, I would happily do another Royal Caribbean cruise. Or I would go on a Carnival cruise,....it would depend on which had the better deal was at the time. I like them both.


geeva saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
This is my fourth cruise and it is the best cruise experience so far., August 3, 2012
Reviewer: geeva

Pros: Love the promenade setup, theater shows, onboard activities and food.

Cons: For some reason, this ship rocked more than any other ship I have been on.

Date of cruise: July 22, 2012

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 7506

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

I took my family on this ship on 7/22/2012 on a 7-day vacation. Loved the promenade concept, felt like walking in the mall. Wasn't too crowded at any point. As usual, our restaurant head waiter, waiter and assistant waiters were great, energetic and treated us like a VIPs. Enjoy rocked climbing, boogie boarding, etc.

Wished there were more energetic crowd it the disco lounge. Couldn't stand watching the teenagers on the disco floor, bare footed, still wearing the bathing suite and acting like idiots. So, we opted for Baleros for latin dancing and Arcadia for ballroom dancing.

It was disappointing that you can't do your own laundry on this ship or iron your own clothes. Have to pay them to get it done.

The entertainment director Graham Seymour was a hit. He is hilarious, entertaining and very energetic. We had a street party on the promenade one night full of rock music. Great atmosphere and entertaining.

The nightly shows are just beyond awesome. These are not cheesy shows. Great entertainment and we didn't miss any of it. Even my kids (9/11/19-year-olds) enjoyed it.

We will go on this ship in a heartbeat.


bellybutton saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
FANTASTIC, December 16, 2011
Reviewer: bellybutton

Pros: Great crew, beautiful cabin, great dining experience, great ports

Cons: Deck 8 Aft balconies unusable when Windjammer windows are washed

Date of cruise: December 5, 2017

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Suite

Cabin number: 8414

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was my 59th cruise, for what it is worth ... I normally cruise on smaller ships, but I was pleasantly surprised at how uncrowded the ship felt. I hardly ever encountered a LONG line.

I am a Diamond member of RCI's Crown & Anchor Society. That entitled me to access to the Diamond Lounge on FOTS. Loved it. There were many Diamond and above cruisers, so the lounge overflowed into the Olive or Twist Lounge on Deck 14. When it was too crowded up there, I went to the Suite Lounge on Deck 10. This area was less crowded; but had the same amenities. Access is gained using your Gold passkey. What could be better than FREE booze for 3.5 hours each day????

The cabin was beautiful. It was a RFS; two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living area. The balcony was huge, with two loungers and a large table.

The balcony is unprotected from above. I was very concerned. We were directly below the Windjammer Buffet on deck 11. I saw trouble immediately. Sure enough, trouble arrived rather quickly. When the windows above are washed, the balconies on Deck 8 are thoroughly soaked with dirty soapy water, and then with the dirty rinse water.

They DO NOT drain quickly. Cushions and the glass tabletop are wet. No one comes to clean up the mess. I called and complained to the Housekeeping staff. I spoke directly to the Hotel Director at a cocktail party. They couldn't care less. (They did send me a cheap bottle of wine in the hope of quieting me, but that didn't work....)

So, we had this oversized balcony that we couldn't enjoy. Do not book an aft balcony one deck 8 if your intent is to use it every day. You, too, will be disappointed. Consider yourselves warned. It is a shame that RCI has chosen NOT to correct this Deck 8 Aft issue. As a retired engineer, I came up with a relatively inexpensive FIX; but no one was interested in listening to it.

(Oh well, my complaining will continue. Look for it on Cruise Critic; Facebook; Twitter; the RCI website; and wherever else I discover to address this issue. Join me if you, too, were subjected to an experience like me.)

This cruise was my first time to experience MyTimeDining. I was pleasantly surprised. We sat on the starboard side, with Alicia, EVERY night. In fact, we sat with the SAME people EVERY night. We had a very congenial and cohesive group. Alicia was our server. Floyd Neil was the bar server. All three did an excellent job.

My cabin attendant was Ronnie. He also made sure that our cabin was always immaculate. He gets a 10 on the hard-working scale. Thank you, Ronnie.

We found ourselves walking the Promenade on a daily basis. There was always something going on. Yet,it was never overcrowded. Pizza was always ready; there was always a pastry or sandwich to check out at the coffeeshop. Don't go into Britto unless you are ready to exit with a purchase; consider yourself warned....

We visited Cococay, St Thomas, and St Maarten. I have been to all three ports many times in the past.

Cococay has really evolved since my first visit in 1997. There was so much to see and do there. There were also many intimate and shaded places to lounge and do nothing.

St. Thomas is one of my favorite ports. But due to world economic conditions it is no longer the bargain shopping port it once was. Shops that I used to frequent are now gone. You must do your homework at home if you hope to find that SPECIAL bargain.

St Maarten is also a shoppers' paradise. I've been calling there since the 1980s as well. But this time I decided to visit Maho beach to watch the planes take off. It was a hoot!!! I had no idea that watching folks get blown into the water would be so much fun.... WHO KNEW??? There is still time to shop for booze, Cuban cigars, and scents. Did I mention tablecloths?? Oops, MY BAD....

OMG, I forgot to mention the Port Canaveral personnel.They were the nicest I have ever encountered and I mean that. They eclipse the staff in Port Everglades, Jacksonville, Galveston, NYC. Embarkation was quick, seamless, and pain-free. Boswell was my porter. e traded cellphone numbers so that he would have my luggage when I disembarked one week later. And there he was, with all of my luggage as I disembarked. He even helped us load my SUV.

Thank you, customs, for allowing me to disembark with 24 bottles of booze; DUTY-FREE. What a great Christmas present.

I am planning a return to Port Canaveral in 2012. This time I am considering a B2B cruise. Seven days just isn't enough...for me.

If you are looking for a cruise on a ship with quiet corridors; good food; comfy cabins; excellent waitstaff; and a great itinerary, this is a ship to consider.


mipen saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Good time overall, December 17, 2010
Reviewer: mipen

Pros: The shows and food are second to none

Cons: Smoking on top deck

Date of cruise: December 5, 2010

Departure port: port canaveral,fl

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6109

Check-in the at port was not very efficient and they didn't seem to be prepared for lunch in the Windjammer. When we couldn't get off at CoCo Cay we noticed the staff was also arguing with each other that day. Staff not very friendly any day at the Windjammer.

The food was great and a good selection. Our stateroom attendant was very nice; main-sitting dining staff was excellent!

The shows were great also. The smoking areas on the top deck were not marked well if at all.

Don't know if we would take another 7-day due to the fact that we could not get off at CoCo Cay so out of the seven days we were on the ship for five. The ship was beautiful but seemed to start closing in on us after so long on it -- even the other couples at our table said the same thing.

We also had a small fire on the bridge one night but they extinguished very quickly.

The ports of St. Thomas and St. Maarten were very fun and beautiful, just wished we had more time to spend on beaches.

This was our 25th wedding anniversery gift to each other and overall we would give it an 8 out of 10 rating


2Schramms saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The ship was beautiful & the staff treated us like royalty. Excellent cruise!!, October 8, 2010
Reviewer: 2Schramms

Pros: Cruise Director, food, shows, staff, excursion to honeymoon cove on St. Thomas

Cons: Slow elevators, but with all the great food, probably better to walk the stairs

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6629

Was an amazing trip. It was our honeymoon along with 80 other couples and there was a special night in one of the clubs for us.

They decorated our room beautifully. The food was excellent and a lot of it. The ship is beautiful and her crew is the best. I was expecting a tiny bathroom and it was larger than I imagined, shower pressure great. Room cleaned twice a day. Our room was near the elevators, made getting around easy, overlooking the Promenade.

Cruise Director was so much fun we found ourselves tuning in to his show every morning knowing he was going to make us laugh. Thank you, Gramham!!! There was so much to do everyday and the shows were at different times to give you a chance to see them. The hot tubs were great and my husband loved the Flow Rider. We played golf and table tennis, only went in the gym once but it was wonderful with lots of things going on and equipment.

The ports were great, too. So relaxing in Cococay on the beach and hammocks. Reasonable drinks there and shopping for trinkets. Our favorite day in port was the excursion on the schooner "Bones" in St. Thomas to Christmas Cove and Honeymoon Cove. It was an adventure we will never forget. The crew was great. They took great care of us. Wwe laughed, relaxed, learned so much from them about the islands and wildlife of the ocean. Very knowledgeable and respectful of area.

We went snorkeling for the first time and had a blast with Jason teaching us how and showing us so much in the water. I would highly recommend this excursion, well worth the money. I was patting myself on the back afterward for booking this one.

St. Maarten has some of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen ans lots of shopping. All in all there is nothing I would change about this trip, couldn't ask for a better honeymoon.

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart, you are the BEST cruise ship out there. I know there were about 150 kids on there but I rarely seen or heard them. One parent on the elevator told us there were so many things for them to do, so I imagine thats why we saw so little of them.


BevMoreOcala saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Overall RCC does a great job providing the cruise experience, September 24, 2010
Reviewer: BevMoreOcala

Pros: The ship had plenty to do to make this cruise very enjoyable

Cons: The promenade room was so narrow it was hard to walk around the bed

Date of cruise: September 12, 2010

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6609

The Freedom is a beautiful ship and very well maintained. We had a promenade room which was great because you could watch the activities in the promenade from the room, and you have light during the day when the curtain is open - but the room is so narrow that it was hard to walk between the bed and the wall and suitcases had to be lifted over first bed to get to the second one to unpack. There is also very little drawer storage. On occasion, you could hear some noise from the promenade.

The activities were well planned even to jewelry making workshops and the usual Quest and Love and Marriage shows. The evening shows were very good. If the hurricane had not stopped us from getting off in one port it would have been a perfect cruise.


Michelle C saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Wonderful ship with a superb staff and crew. Port Canaveral is great, too, August 30, 2010
Reviewer: Michelle C

Pros: Entertainment was great, staff was wonderful, activities a plenty

Cons: Not enough times for Flow-Rider sessions; Johnny Rockets always crowded

Date of cruise: November 1, 2009

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 8673

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We really love the Freedom and I think by far the cruise director on this ship is the best I've seen in years. We had a Promenade cabin which I loved and also had meetings on the ship so saw some meeting rooms which were nice.

Chops and Portofino are more than worth the cover charges you pay and if you want different dining experiences I highly recommend these. We also spent a good amount in the Vintages Bar and really thought the wine secelction was good but could be better - nice that they do offer wine pacakges.

They were working on Labadee but, wow, it is much nicer now than in years past and the zip-lining here is the best I've seen from the top of the mountain back down to the beach. Great beach bar areas; go to the left of the beach past shopping for a quieter lunch experience.

Shore days were great and the tenders were crowded but mostly because our sailing was sold out.


kcarde saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Ship is beautiful and clean. We all had a great time., June 26, 2010
Reviewer: kcarde

Pros: Easy to find my way around the ship, nice kids program,comfortable beds

Cons: Limited time segments of night life and events

Date of cruise: June 13, 2010

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3248

Good for children: Yes

This ship is gorgeous and extremely clean. The crew in all areas were so very nice. Kids liked the kids club and also the pools. The evening activities were limited to 45 time slots around the ship and it was a bit confusing chasing down something to do. Many bars and areas were closed and empty when we got there. It was a little too regimented.

Kids were a bit disappointed that they ran out of planned event items (pillowcases that night)and also that the ice cream machine closed early every night. Alcoholic drinks were not overly priced although be careful the bar tab adds up quickly.

Don't be afraid to book a room near an elevator for convenience - the rooms are soundproof and this was a great perk for us to not have to walk far to the room. Food selection was nice at the buffet and my boys were very happy that there was sushi available at night.

Make sure you bring water shoes to Haiti - beach is really pretty but there are lots of rocks and coral in the sand. Rafts are $12 to rent. The dragon roller coaster in Haiti was very cool - kids loved it! Don't be afaid to haggle with the local vendors. Dunns River Falls in Jamaica - you can take a local taxi $7-10 pp and then pay for your $15 pp entrance as an option to a ship tour - although you will be on your own. (also bring your water shoes to climb tha falls) The DVD we purchased was hysterical.

Margaritaville in Jamaica was great - kids loved the slide into the pool in the restaurant. Grand Sayman was great. Took a tour with Moby Dick to swim with the sting rays - do this! Shopping was okay - but higher priced area and more jewelry. Tenders from the ship did not take long at all - very well done. Margaritaville was also nice in Grand Cayman - we sat and had drinks while the kids swam - also big slide into the pool. Cozumel - took taxi to the shopping area just a few miles and walked and bought some nice silver. They like to haggle there too - ate at Carlos and Charlie's - great food and lots of fun.. Also visited Margaritaville there - no slide or pool - but you can dive off the porch into the water and snorkle- lots of fun.

Overall it was a great cruise and a good value. I booked through CruiseCompete.com and received a nice on-board credit which helped offset our bar and gameroom tab! Have fun!

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!