CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Royal Caribbean International (RCL) Reviews

RCL Enchantment of the Seas reviews


RCL Enchantment of the Seas reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.06 / 5

Average Rating based on 7 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.294.29
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.004.00
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.863.86
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.253.25
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.434.43
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.294.29
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.003.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.294.29




RCL Enchantment of the Seas itineraries and information



klb saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great ship for an easy getaway, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: klb

Pros: Good value

Cons: Service could be better

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Another ship that isn't necessarily bad, but if you're expecting great service and amenities for your travel dollars, you might want to book another sailing.

It's a great getaway for just some sun and fun while sailing. Nothing too exotic or exclusive. Basic fun.


tonalise saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great ship, great cruise!, April 29, 2013
Reviewer: tonalise

Pros: Ship was well laid out and kept immaculate. Service was excellent.

Cons: We had issues with our main dining room headwaiter and the quality/temp of food

Date of cruise: April 13, 2013

Departure port: Baltimore, MD

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 4034

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

Ship was wonderful and we had a great time. Not sure if it was our timing but the average age of the guest had to be mid-70's and it seemed the ship's entertainment, lounges and cruise director were geared to the senior crowd.

We are in our mid to late 40's with a 7-year old and found the entertainment severely lacking and the personality of the cruise director to be stuffy and very boring. However, we had fun finding our own adventures and taking advantage of the bungee jumping and rock climbing wall as there was never a line up.

The pools did get busy near the end of the trip but most of the time we were able to find a nice spot by the pool where we could keep an eye on our son and enjoy the sunshine.

The ship never seemed too crowded and I often got a chuckle out of the people who lined up outside of the dining room for the 5:30 sitting. Not sure if they were worried about someone taking their table? No way they could be that hungry with all the delicious food available in the Windjammer.

Staff and crew were excellent. We had an issue with our head waiter in the main dining room but everyone else was fantastic including our awesome stateroom attendant Michelle. We discussed our head waiter issue with the maitre d' but as we were a table of eight he was unable to move us. The food was good but often cool or barely warm. Not sure if that was the kitchen's fault or our head waiter. However, the food quality and temperature did improve as the cruise went on.

We were very disappointed with the Cruise Director. Found him very boring and stuffy. Did not hear from him too often which I guess was a blessing as whenever he did make an announcement or spoke after a show it was boring and uninformative. The ship itself was in excellent shape and we loved the layout. Very easy to get around.


seasonless saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Cabins look tired, common areas in better condition, October 31, 2012
Reviewer: seasonless

Pros: Cabin steward and dining staff did an excellent job

Cons: Windjammer bottlenecks and scheduling of shows very unappealing

Date of cruise: October 19, 2017

Departure port: Baltimore

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: 7672

This was an eight-day cruise to Maine and Canada departing and returning to Baltimore.

Let's get the negative out of the way! The Windjammer was always jammed. Tables unavailable. When vacated they were not cleared fast enough. Food stations could not restock to keep up with the demand. The staff tried but the task was impossible. I have never experienced this on any of my other 50 cruises.

Why were so many shows for late diners scheduled for 7 p.m.? It conflicted with cocktail hour and dancing to live music. Consequently after our 8 p.m. sitting in the dining room, there wasn't much going on other than casino action.

Late night "snacks," of which there were very few, were set up in the spa. It was an awkward set up with no space for setting down a plate or cup while serving one self. There were too many people loading plates and inadequate replenishing of selections. I like my cup of tea before retiring. On one occasion, the hot water ran out and was replaced by lukewarm. Ugh!!

On the positive - our cabin steward was outstanding and service in the dining room was exceptional. The junior suite was comfortable with adequate storage and a nice super-sized verandah across the back of the ship. The common areas were well appointed and the theater beautiful.

RCI has to resolve some of these issues if I'm to return. It's not the cruise line I once knew and loved.


obiwan saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Overall a disappointment, January 5, 2012
Reviewer: obiwan

Pros: The food was excellent and some of the entertainment

Cons: The fitness center was woefully inadequate & the constant upsell was irritating

Date of cruise: December 24, 2011

Departure port: Baltimore

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2044

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

I'd like to say it was a good experience but it was not and overall not one we would repeat. THere are too many downsides and gotcha's to make it worth the high cost.

The good:

Food was good and variety good but after 7 days it was starting to get boring. Some of the entertainment was great but not all and given the time at sea it did not offer the wide appeal we had hoped for a family.

The Bad:

Maybe this is a cruise thing and watching the education videos on the various cruise guide sites gives and indication "Cruises make most of their money on 3 things, alcohol, gambling and shore excursions". What was not clear was how hard the cruise works to sell you things and often times with very poor disclosure....by way of an example;

The first morning we went to breakfast we were offered "Fresh Squeezed orange Juice" at the entrance to the Windjammer cafe. How nice....but as soon as you ask for a glass they want your key card. When I asked if this was an additional cost I was told no, it was just added to the card as if this was not a cost or real money.

This was repeated many times and got to be quite wearing by the end of the trip. The photographers were exceptionally irritating when after the saying no we were pushed by another photographer wanting to take our picture - quite intrusive.

The sports club was terrible and woefully inadequate for the passengers. Trying to attend a yoga class in a small exercise room surrounded by exercise bikes packed with people who are all staring at you is frustrating at best. Attendance was limited to the first day after which we gave up.

It seemed to us that the ship had too many people to cope - this was only made worse when we failed to dock at what was to be the highlight of the trip Coco Cay - a private island with beautiful beach and a barbecue laid on for all the passengers. So while we understood the safety issue of not docking, offering some token to make up would have been nice but it was tough luck we have you captive for an extra day to sell you more things.

The swimming pools were over subscribed as were the hot tubs and as such not part of any enjoyable relaxation or time to relax.

The other ports of calls were a hit and a miss. Port Canaveral was dreadful. Cold, windswept and nothing going on anywhere. Nassau was nice and the local area at least interesting with opportunities for passengers to explore and enjoy the local life. But the return to the ship unpleasant for the passenger search in the name of security but clearly the ships desire to search you for any alcohol to ensure that there would be no potential for you to enjoy a drink unless you were willing to pay 4x the price on Nassau.

There was some great entertainment Dwight Slade was great as was Jay Johnson but the others not so much.

As for kids and teen friendliness - hope you don't have a tween that is under 16 as everything they might like to use or do is disallowed.

Maybe this was all because it was a full boat during the holiday period but my sense was with fewer people there would be even more pressure to sell things and this feeling of constant pressure ruined what was supposed to be a relaxing break. Add to this a boat that was far too busy for the space available and it proved to be a big disappointing for this family.


stevieboy1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Fun, relaxing cruise; friendly staff, great food & professional entertainment., November 18, 2011
Reviewer: stevieboy1

Pros: Friendliness of staff; made to feel like the cruise was 'all about me'.

Cons: Could have been more 'quiet areas' for chilling and reading.

Date of cruise: November 13, 2017

Departure port: Baltimore

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3160

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was our first cruise - in honor of our 25th wedding anniversary - and will definitely not be our last. ALL the staff were friendly and helpful. The entertainment shows were top quality - with lots of variety. The food was plentiful in the Windjammer buffet, and in the My Fair Lady Restaurant (where we ate most meals) the dinners were excellent. We often ordered (and consumed) more than one starter, main course or dessert. The rooms were comfortable (not the greatest bed in the world, but adequate) and there were plenty of areas to explore. A special shout-out to Mitch, the Cruise Director, and his staff who did a fantastic job keeping us from getting bored. All tastes and interests seemed to be catered for. The excursions in Bermuda seemed to be well organized - but a little on the expensive side. We opted to bypass the excursions and make our own way through the country like locals. Had a great time. Will definitely cruise on this ship in the future.


HarleyGirl42 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A good value for the money. Going again next year!, December 3, 2010
Reviewer: HarleyGirl42

Pros: Wonderful staff, from cabin attendant to wait staff to towels, bartenders, cafe

Cons: Minor complaints only

Departure port: Baltimore

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 2027

Good for children: Yes

This was a Thanksgiving cruise; over 500 kids on board, not something we had thought about when we booked a holiday cruise. Somewhat annoying if you are expecting more tranquility, but we'll go back next year with our own grandkids and their parents.

Can't say enough about the great staff, everyone courteous and helpful, a terrific feeling of camaraderie, fostered especially by cruise director Carly.

Not the best internet service, we might bypass that altogether next time. Minor complaints about coffee and drink service in the cafe, but a good variety of food choices.

Loved the solarium, an adults-only pool area sheltered from sun and wind. Guest entertainers were very... entertaining!


saved_angel saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Incredibly relaxing!, September 11, 2010
Reviewer: saved_angel

Pros: Amazing service and staff.

Cons: Could have been more activities for younger couples.

Date of cruise: August 26, 2010

Departure port: Baltimore, MD

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2638

The ship was beautiful! The staff was friendly and helpful. The guest performers for the entertainment were excellent (we loved the comedians -- clean and still funny)!

The food was some of the best we have ever eaten. Our cruise director did a great job (Jimmy Rhodes). We loved the quiet intimate atmosphere of the ship. It was exactly what we needed to relax.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!