CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Elation reviews


Carnival Elation reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.77 / 5

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.004.00
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.403.40
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.203.20
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.503.50
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.803.80
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.204.20
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.503.50
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.204.20




Carnival Elation itineraries and information



sallygator saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Eight of us, shared rooms and laughs out of New orleans, December 15, 2012
Reviewer: sallygator

Pros: Sailing out of NOLA and down the river is always a TOP NOTCH history lesson

Cons: Occasionally coming across low class folks makes you wonder why they get aboard?

Date of cruise: December 6, 2012

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: e-196

Good for children: Yes

If some of these folks only wanted to drink, you
'd think they;d have stayed in New Orleans, a 24-hour party City, and spent the money on drinking on shore.

On occasion there were people who obviously wanted to save money and found a way to bring booze aboard and were drunk- I don't think you should have to ride with drunk people who are not in control of themselves. Other than that, the drinks aboard were delicious and free flowing and worth it.

The pool was small- and the hot tubs were tepid, but serviced and cleaned every evening on our four-night cruise. Would have enjoyed more ports but we all were floating on the cheap!

I enjoyed their BIG show in the forward MIKADO theatre -- excellent sound and costumes. Fun stuff otherwise with a towel puppet show, and dance lessons, magic shows, karaoke, casino -- kept me busy the entire time.
When I got off in New Orleans, I had gotten my moneys worth.

A few people get onboard thinking this is going to be a Queen Mary as far as service and food service are concerned, but they quickly learn that this is a less than first class-- maybe a third class-- but a fun, fun experience nonetheless for families and friends to unwind.


svbing saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great value, September 18, 2012
Reviewer: svbing

Pros: Food service

Cons: Older ship layout

Date of cruise: September 8, 2012

Departure port: New Orleans

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: E deck

New Orleans five-night to Progresso and Cozumel. 70,000 ton ship approximately 15 years old. Ship appears well maintained. Layout and use of space fair at best. Cabins good size but need facelift. This is a Carnival ship so a bit gaudy.

Get to know your cabin steward, will do the little extra cabin things. Food good overall. Dining room service good during dinner, fair at breakfast, but you aren't battling the masses at buffet. Buffet food good, too. Easy on/off in ports. Great value at $60/night outside.


QueenCruiser saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great value, June 21, 2011
Reviewer: QueenCruiser

Pros: Staff was excellent

Cons: Smoke smell in room, too many photos

Departure port: Mobile

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Jr. Suite

Cabin number: v21

I totally enjoyed both times I was on the ship.


Matilda saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
A so-so experience, June 2, 2011
Reviewer: Matilda

Pros: Value for the dollar

Cons: Kids club

Date of cruise: April 23, 2011

Departure port: mobile

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

We traveled with our three grandkids during Easter week. There were 900 kids on board and the kids club left something to be desired. Ours -- ages 12, 13, 13 -- wouldn't go along with most of the others. The smaller children played on the steps and with the elevators; a older gentleman was hurt by the elevator when his hand got caught in the door. My grandson got stuck in one due to these children hitting all the floors. Where were these kids' parents?

Anyway, Carnival has a lot to learn about the kids clubs. They should take a note from Disney. Also, the "new" show was terrible. They didn't have entertainment every night in the main showroom.

The kids liked it okay but if Carnival is trying to get away from the drinking party ship image and become more family-friendly they need to step up to the plate.


goinonatrip saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Carnival's Elation is kind of a "Days Inn" compared to Princess' Hilton., January 1, 2011
Reviewer: goinonatrip

Pros: Venues were clean and varied. Lots of activities to participate in.

Cons: Lodging was VERY cramped - could not walk around the bed.

Date of cruise: December 23, 2010

Departure port: Mobile

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: M31

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We were looking for a budget cruise for a family of six and this cruise met that criteria. We all had a good time on board. There was plenty to do and much more than plenty to eat!

They seemed to have trouble with keeping coffee available, in the MORNING no less! On two different days, I went looking for coffee at all the coffee stations in the casual dining restaurant, the grill, and the bar and I (and many other passengers) could not find any anywhere on the Lido Deck. I realize it was a busy breakfast time, but we coffee-addicts have GOT to have our coffee... NOW!!

Carnival advertised the Elation as their "newest ship" so we thought we would be on a new ship - alas, it is "new" to Carnival. Not quite the same as "new", but no problem.
This cruise was fun and comparatively inexpensive. It worked for us and provided us with what we were looking for with this vacation.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!