CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Disney Cruise Line Reviews

Disney Magic reviews


Disney Magic reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.39 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.174.17
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.834.83
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.504.50
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.004.00
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.004.00
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.504.50
SpaSpa = 3.753.75
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 5.005.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.834.83




Disney Magic itineraries and information



ayanna saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Review for adults with no kids on ship, July 5, 2016
Reviewer: ayanna

Pros: Best room of any cruise line I've taken. Separate shower room and toilet room.

Cons: Very PG/G experience which was not expected in the adult areas.

Departure port: Dover, England

Region visited: Europe

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2592

Good for children: Yes

I have cruised over 15 times on many cruise lines and this was our first Disney experience. It cost a lot more than any other cruise we'd been on but wanted to see what Disney had to offer.
I will start out saying that this was a cruise through Iceland so the weather was not conducive to outdoors lounging so I was not able to enjoy the adult only deck areas since the decks were too cold for most people.

I had heard good things about Disney cruises and that even with no kids, it is a good experience. I will admit that I am not a Disney fanatic. I appreciate their quality and service when visiting their parks and thought it was worth a try - plus different and interesting itinerary.

I was very pleased with the staff. Our waiter/assistant waiter were excellent. One of the best we've had. It was wonderful that they showed first-run Disney movies in their movie theater including movies that had just hit the theater that week. We even saw 3D versions. They kept showing movies up on deck but the temp was


Ssellers saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
My granddaughter aged 5 said it was Fabnificent!!, June 13, 2013
Reviewer: Ssellers

Pros: Caliber of the theater shows

Cons: Price of alcoholic drinks

Date of cruise: June 1, 2013

Departure port: Barcelona

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6303

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Do not hesitate to go if you are taking children 3-99! Babies are catered for by the provision of a nursery but buggies are not allowed in the evening events after 9 p.m.

As with all Disney holidays a lot of time can be spent in lines to meet the characters but kids will be so grateful if you line up for them and let them cut in later!

Pool was fresh water and heated which was such a good thing as weather in the Med is a bit chilly at this time of year.

We did not leave the ship in Rome or Naples as what can beat free ice cream, pizza, films and a water slide when you are 5. Staff were the best I have ever had and we all know cruise staff are wonderful.


Jackieblog saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Disney Magic is a delightful cruise for the young and young at heart., February 21, 2013
Reviewer: Jackieblog

Pros: Disney is always top notch and cruisers can count on that reputation.

Cons: Dining rooms can get a bit noisy but this is a kid-friendly cruise line.

Departure port: Galveston, Texas

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6050

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

When I told someone that I was taking my grandson on a Disney cruise, he smiled and said, “How sweet. Your little boy will love it.”

My “little boy” is 22 years old. And the thought did cross my mind that my grandson Logan might be bored stiff on a cruise with a bunch of kids.

I needn’t have worried. Logan loves the Disney Magic cruise and he is happy to share some of the reasons why and to urge other adults to enjoy Disney – with or without little ones.

First off, the travel group in my Disney cabin consists of my sister Elaine, daughter Kelly, Logan and me. I’ve been on other Disney cruises so I know the cabins are spacious, especially the balcony ones, and so far we haven’t gotten in each other’s way.

Since he is the youngest, Logan got the top bunk pull-down bed. At almost 6 foot tall, he is also the tallest in our group. “The bed was comfortable,” Logan says. “I slept just fine.”

Launched in July 1998, the Magic is the first ship in the Disney Cruise Line. It was followed by the Disney Wonder in 1999, the Disney Dream in 2011 and the Disney Fantasy in 2012.

“I thought there would be a bunch of kids and they would be running all over the place,” Logan says. “I thought there might not be much for me to do but there is.”

The 11-deck Magic has plenty of adults-only spaces. Take a tour of the ship and those secluded spots are easy to find – peaceful Vista Spa, entertaining Beat Street and relaxing Promenade Lounge. The Quiet Cove Pool is for adults only, as is the Cove Café and Signals.

Live musical productions in the Walt Disney Theater have a Disney theme, of course, but are fun for all ages. “The cast is very talented and seem to really enjoy what they are doing. You get that vibe from them,” Logan says. “The special effects are extraordinary.”

The Magic also has performers who tailor their shows to children and later to adults at the late-night cabaret and adult bars. For example, Buckets N Boards from Branson gave a taste of their wacky humor in the Walt Disney Theater and then presented a full-on adult show at 10:30 that night with precise percussion, nutty songs and high-energy tap dancing. Sounds bizarre and it is – but hilarious upbeat entertainment.

Then there’s Mike Price. I usually don’t like jugglers or magicians. But Mike is a way-out juggler. Known as the “rock-star juggler,” he makes juggling cool not only with his juggling skills but also with his running patter. After that sample in the family theater, I planned to catch the juggler’s performance in the adult cabaret but I couldn’t stay up that late. Logan went and said it was fantastic.

The Buena Vista Theatre was a hit with my whole family. “I was surprised to see new movies in there,” Logan says. “They show movies that are just coming out in theaters.”

In the big screen movie theatre, we saw the Oscar-nominated “Lincoln.” Other choices were “Wreck-It Ralph,” “Brave,” “The Avengers,” “Chimpanzee,” “Tangled,” “Frankenweenie,” and “Finding Nemo.” Logan and Kelly had planned to see “Wreck-It Ralph” – movies have several showing times – but there were just too many other activities to do.

Kelly tried bingo and games. There are also adults’ seminars on wine tasting, art and health. Elaine, Logan and I bought passes for the Vista Spa’s Rainforest Thermal Suite. At $70 each for unlimited visits during our week-long cruise, this was a wonderful adults-only treat. We went every day – sometimes twice a day – for the two steam rooms (mild and aromatic), dry sauna, heated mosaic tile chairs and invigorating showers. I was a bit surprised that Logan liked it so much.

“It was very relaxing and peaceful, one of the things I liked best about the whole cruise,” Logan says. “It was never crowded and it was very clean.”

The ship also has a complimentary fitness center with treadmills, stair-clumbers, exercise bikes, rowing machines and free weights with a fantastic ocean view. For an additional fee, fitness classes such as Pilates and yoga are also offered. I always intend to work out when I board a cruise ship. But I haven’t yet.

Logan has never been a picky eater so I doubted he would find things he liked on the Disney Magic. Food is so delicious and so plentiful, plus the Magic has that fantastic adults-only Palo restaurant. Logan’s favorite restaurant, as was mine, was the lovely Lumiere's. His favorite entrée? Lobster, of course. Mine, too.

I read somewhere that a third of all guests aboard Disney ships are adults traveling without children. Magic Cruise Director Darren McBurney says that the Disney ships are a popular place for weddings and honeymoons. Some of the newlyweds, he says, met on family cruises when they were younger.

“We’ve had romances on here that started in our teen club,” he says.

The Magic also schedules “Singles Mingle” and other events for single people. “We have about six single cruisers on this cruise,” he says.

One of the most popular events for all ages is the Pirates in the Caribbean Deck Party where crew and passengers turn out in their pirate finery to feast and shake their bones. The buccaneer bash always ends with a big fireworks show.

“We are the only cruise line that has fireworks on our ship,” Darren says. “All four of our ships have fireworks at certain times in certain itineraries.”

Seeing the night sky night light up with all the magical colors did make it seem as though a bit of pixie dust was sparkling through the dark. A Disney Magic cruise is certainly a memory maker – for the young and the young at heart.


tmatang saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent fam cruise, however, as retired seniors, we would not cruise w/out fam, November 11, 2010
Reviewer: tmatang

Pros: Excelllent opportunities for kids

Cons: Not so many opportunities for seniors

Date of cruise: October 30, 2010

Departure port: Cape Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 2647

Good for children: Yes

As grandparents, we joined our son and family but found the cruise to be mostly child-centered (as one would expect with Disney). There were not many activities or were very late ones for us to participate in. We would not cruise Disney again unless accompanying our grandchildren again.

On other cruise lines, we were offered libraries, free computers and shows earlier than what was offered on this ship. We did enjoy the private area for adults. We found excursions to be pricey and in one case, not very efficient. Of course, the excursions were offered by Disney but were with private companies.


Michelle C saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Excellent ship for Families and groups traveling, August 30, 2010
Reviewer: Michelle C

Pros: Very large staterooms compared to most lines

Cons: Food is average. No casino on board

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6630

Good for children: Yes

The service is what stands out on the Disney Cruise line. Wonderful for families and the kids counselors and programs are top notch in the industry. Their one adult restaurant, Palo's, has a good menu and wine list, just wish they had others on the ship.

Staterooms have lots of room and drawer space, separated bathroom area and good size balcony that did not look on top of others.


kopke saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Quite pleasant, actually, May 14, 2010
Reviewer: kopke

Pros: Good for families

Cons: Quite noisy

Departure port: orlando

Region visited: Bermuda

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Nice short cruise after a week at the park

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!