CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Disney Cruise Line Reviews

Disney Dream reviews


Disney Dream reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.67 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.174.17
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.834.83
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.674.67
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.504.50
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.504.50
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.834.83
SpaSpa = 5.005.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 5.005.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.834.83




Disney Dream itineraries and information



bucation saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Disney Cruise Line has made repeat cruisers out of us and we are very much looki, February 28, 2016
Reviewer: bucation

Pros: Castaway Cay is one of the best decisions the Walt Disney Company has ever made

Cons: none

Date of cruise: February 12, 2016

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9608

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

After boarding at the Port Canaveral terminal and exploring the ship a bit, we decided to make our way to the adults-only area known as "The Cove." To our surprise, we found The Cove abandoned. We had the pool, bar, and both lower and upper decks of lounge chairs all to ourselves. We cannot express how delightful it was to spend so much time during our cruise in The Cove.

Throughout our cruise, The Cove bar and pool was our own private paradise. Disney Cruise Line really has a nice balance of adults-only, teen clubs, kids clubs, and other activities to keep everyone happy.

The Disney Dream's Senses Fitness area located on deck twelve, forward offers the same state of the art equipment that you will find in a number of the Walt Disney World Deluxe Resorts as well as Disney's Coronado Springs Resort. Senses Fitness Area also offers a number of free and a la carte fitness classes with complimentary abdominal and yoga classes offered during each of our morning visits, and these classes are sure to help you show last night's dinner who's boss!

One thing worth noting is that we were completely unaware of the family style dining that takes place on Disney Cruise Lines. Unfortunately we were seated with a group that was not enjoying their time on board, to say the least. One of the lovely couples we met during our cruise recommended we not waste another second of our trip with unhappy diners. In result, we went to guest relations where they made this change for us. For the rest of our cruise we were seated at a private table which was a dream!

Disney Cruise Line's dinner service, at least in our experience, does not include any major productions or fanfare during your dinner seating. If you plan to dine at the Royal Palace to see Disney princesses, you will be highly disappointed. Unlike Cinderella's Royal Table in the Magic Kingdom, there were no characters, and there was no song and dance during dinner service at any of our meals. For us, this was a nice change from the norm of other cruise lines.

The Buccaneer Blast Fireworks at Sea show is the perfect example of how Disney Cruise Line pulls out all of the stops with its daily entertainment. From deck parties to Broadway style shows that rival those in its parks, Disney certainly knows how to put on a show. There is truly nothing like the Fireworks at Sea show, and this alone is completely worth every penny.

We truly believe the purchase and development of Castaway Cay is one of the best decisions the Walt Disney Company has ever made. We were so glad our cruise itinerary included a stop at Castaway Cay. The island is perfectly laid out with endless activities, and there is a flawless balance between family and adult where one does not impede on the other. The only down side was that we eventually had to leave this perfect island in the sun that had as wanting to sign up as permanent residents by the time our day had ended!

Although we've enjoyed our time aboard other cruise lines in the past, we can say without a doubt that the level of service we received, the amount of included onboard amenities, the quality of food offerings, and the unique dining opportunities with rotational dining on the Disney Dream far surpassed any of our experiences on other lines.

Our Disney Cruise Line experience was truly a dream come true. For all of these reasons and so much more, Disney Cruise Line has made repeat cruisers out of us and we are very much looking forward to our future sailings with DCL.

For a far more detailed review, including photographs and video, of our time on the Disney Dream, please visit our website at: www.bucation.com


klb saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The magic of Disney service at sea, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: klb

Pros: Guest service, food, personal touches, cleanliness, entertainment

Cons: Many children, heavy emphasis on character-themed entertainment

Date of cruise: May 1, 2012

Departure port: Port Canaveral, FL

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Sailing on a Disney Cruise is truly a magical experience. Disney takes the best of what makes their theme parks massively popular and translates it to sea. It's hard to put your finger on just what it is that makes a Disney Cruise so much better than others in the same class, but you know it's there.

Everything is fabulous, across the board. The only problem - for some - is that there are so many children on board. During my sailing, it seemed that there were a rather high amount of 3- and 4-year-olds sailing compared to sailings from several years ago. The older kids tend to stay in the kids programs, but the younger ones too young to stay separated from their parents for long is who you'll really see. So if you're not with a family with young children, it might be something to think about.

Most of the entertainment is Disney-related, too. Not a problem unless you're expecting Broadway review shows and lots of bingo games, which you WILL NOT find onboard.

This is a great cruise line, and the Dream and Fantasy definitely are bigger, and dare I say better, than the Magic and Wonder.


labraham saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Very good cruise. Castaway Cay was really good. Wish we had another day., May 3, 2013
Reviewer: labraham

Pros: The room with verandah had ample space and did not feel crammed. Service is good

Cons: I would have preferred if there we more choices for snacks.

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Highlights were the shows. Very well choreographed but not so fun for toddlers.


gwubree saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Our family had a wonderful vacation!, October 23, 2012
Reviewer: gwubree

Pros: Service!

Cons: Having to get off the boat :(

Departure port: Port Canaveral, FL

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6632

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This vacation was amazing! From the moment we were welcomed onto the ship until the departure on the last day, we were treated to unparalleled service, beautiful onboard amenities, and entertaining activities.

We were traveling with two small children who were very catered to as well. Although this is a perfect vacation for families, this would also be an exciting and relaxing vacation for adults traveling without children. There are many areas on the ship for adults to enjoy a serene or more mature atmosphere.

If you go on a Disney cruise, we HIGHLY recommend reserving a night at Palo -- do not miss the chocolate soufflé for dessert!


asiamommi saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Just what you would expect from Disney!, May 22, 2012
Reviewer: asiamommi

Pros: Wonderful, almost overbearing, friendly and helpful service.

Cons: You do pay for it.

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

From the get go, we were treated like the number one guest on the ship. As was everyone!

Beautiful ship that was constantly being maintained and cleaned. Room (Concierge V) was large enough for two adults and two tweens. All four beds were comfortable. Plenty of storage. Veranda large enough for four chairs. Only complaint is you must climb over sofa bed if it is open to get to the veranda.

Table service restaurants, all three, had a menu with something for everyone. Servers will accommodate you if you are extremely picky. Buffet has a large variety of foods for all three meals. Even miso soup for breakfast! And there are several counter service places spread out all over if you are peckish during the day.

The pools are small. You may be disappointed. But there are a ton of activities all through the day on board. Aquaduck is fun, but the line can get long and the ride is short.

Skip Nassau, my husband was sorry he set foot there, and enjoy the ship instead!


nhhh56 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great ship for families but couples may be disappointed, April 15, 2011
Reviewer: nhhh56

Pros: Brand new, production shows awesome, service & Castaway Cay excellent

Cons: Food just okay, adult pool small and not secluded, long lines for AquaDuck.

Date of cruise: April 7, 2011

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 9045

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

This was our seventh Disney Cruise, the first without kids. We had sailed on the Wonder previously and always had great experiences.

The Dream is a larger version with three different named dining rooms. The Animator's Palate has the same name but is very different from the Wonder's, and it is very entertaining. We had an inside cabin and the highly promoted "virtual porthole" was certainly different, but not all it was cracked up to be.

The buffet was average and always extremely crowded, even with the multiple segments. The main disappointment for us was the adult pool area. Beside being very small, it was not at all secluded. It seemed hordes of people were always passing through on their way forward and aft.

The production shows were probably the highlight of our trip. Very professionally choreographed and immensely entertaining. Never got off ship at Nassau. Castaway Cay's adult beach, Serenity Bay, was wonderful and BBQ lunch was pretty good featuring ribeye steaks. Neat to rent bikes and tour the island.

Crowds on the other beaches reminded us of the Jersey shore; wall to wall people. Speaking of crowds, the lines for the tube slide, AquaDuck, were always at least 40 minutes long. Fun ride once you got on it, though.

Service from the cabin steward and dining room staff was top notch. In conclusion, we enjoyed our Disney cruise, but will probably only consider future cruises when we have the family going along.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!