CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Princess Cruises Reviews

Diamond Princess reviews


Diamond Princess reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.39 / 5

Average Rating based on 6 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.503.50
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.673.67
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.673.67
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 2.752.75
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.673.67
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 3.833.83
SpaSpa = 3.003.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.503.50
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 2.672.67




Diamond Princess itineraries and information



lewolf saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
We had a great time aboard the Diamond Princess!, August 13, 2016
Reviewer: lewolf

Pros: The design of the cabin with a large closet was very nice.

Cons: The cabin steward and waitress could have been more personable.

Date of cruise: July 25, 2016

Departure port: Yokohama

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: E203

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We have a great time aboard the Diamond Princess. The ship was clean. The design of the cabin was excellent for storage.

The shows were very professional. Enjoyed having the movies outside by the pool.

The fish in the dining room was not very fresh. The waitress and the cabin steward could have been more personable. No towel animals at night in the room.


andy267 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
It iwas my worst cruise experience with Princess, April 21, 2014
Reviewer: andy267

Pros: High end goods in the shops

Cons: No AC, bad service in Horizon Court, slow tender service.

Date of cruise: April 2, 2014

Departure port: Singapore

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: c627

The A/C did not work until the ninth day of our 13-day cruise with the outside temp over 95 degrees. Forgot my breakfast three times, have to ask for service before the drinks are served in the Horizon Court.

Have to pay for the food as per each order in one of the specialty rest.

By the time we received the tender tickets it took two hours to set foot on land.


travelguy saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Very pleased with the Diamond Princess, July 18, 2013
Reviewer: travelguy

Pros: Use of park rangers on board to explain the Alanskan wildlife and glaciers

Cons: The kids program that my 10- and 12-year-olds were in was more for younger kids

Date of cruise: July 6, 2013

Departure port: Vancouver

Region visited: Alaska

Cabin number: B202

Good for children: Yes

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise on Princess. We felt as if they did a fantastic job introducing us to Alaska - including it's geography and its wildlife. Bringing the Park Rangers on board and having them talk on the PA system was a joy for us. They were spotting wildlife far in the distance and alerting us in plenty of time so we could get to a viewing area and take pictures if we wanted.

We also really enjoyed the many comfortable common sitting areas on board.

We felt like Princess must specialize in the Alaskan cruises based on their many ties there including their own train in Alaska and their own bus system. We also felt as if our ship was getting preferential treatment when going through the fjords and visiting the glaciers.

Another subtle difference between Princess and some other lines we have sailed is that we rarely were bothered by announcements on our in-room speakers marketing/selling products or excursions to us. Plenty was available, but we weren't getting the hard sell 24/7.

Lastly, the embarkation and disembarkation process was extremely smooth.

Overall...very impressed by the Diamond Princess.


Toasty saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Nice ship, great itinerary, October 31, 2010
Reviewer: Toasty

Pros: Experiencing the people of Asia

Cons: Spa and shore excursion prices

Date of cruise: September 11, 2010

Departure port: Vancouver

Region visited: Asia/Far East

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: a708

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

This 38-day cruise from Vancouver to Singapore was a great experience. The ship was the biggest we've been on but did not feel crowded and after a day it was easy to find your way around. Our inside cabin was fine and our cabin steward excellent.

The food was good, not great, but service was very good on most nights. Entertainment was fair and the casino very unfair.

The ports of call were fantastic. There were even a few reasonable shore excursions. A bit of advice: Don't leave the ship without toilet paper in China, Vietnam and Thailand. The language can be a problem in some parts but the people really try to help you out. Forget the ship's spa and try the massages in town. They can range from $6-$20 for 40-60 minutes.

Also try some places on your own, but be smart and don't go to far off the beaten path. Be prepared for some long bus rides; some cities are 2-2.5 hours away. Buses are air-conditioned. Enjoy the scenery and be thankful for what you have. Respect their culture and religious buildings, follow their lead and always ask if you can take a photo.

For shoppers, feel free to bargain in the marketplaces and start at about 25% of what they originally tell you. You'll usually end up at 50%; bargaining is half the fun.

Ended up in Singapore; very clean and tons of choices for food. Lot of malls and everyone had food courts with cuisine from all over Asia. The Diamond Princess went into dry dock after this cruise and will be back at sea 11-3-2010 with new additions. It was a nice ship before and looks like it will be even better.


woodhall saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Beautiful ship, friendly crew, October 14, 2010
Reviewer: woodhall

Pros: Ship condition and amenities

Cons: Room service language problem

Date of cruise: March 1, 2006

Departure port: Sydney

Region visited: South Pacific/Australia

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: a441

We sailed on the Diamond Princess from Sydney to San Francisco for 29 days and had a wonderful cruise.

The only minor problem we had was the poor understanding of English by most of the room service staff, a fault on most ships. We would sail again on this ship anytime.


sunlilly saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Worst cruise ever, July 16, 2010
Reviewer: sunlilly

Pros: The pools were beautiful, the food and restaurant staff wonderful.

Cons: Pushy staff; overcrowded; too big.

Departure port: Los Angeles

Region visited: Mexico

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No



 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!