CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Celebrity Cruises Reviews

Celebrity Equinox reviews


Celebrity Equinox reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.24 / 5

Average Rating based on 8 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.134.13
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.634.63
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.383.38
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.004.00
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.254.25
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.884.88
SpaSpa = 4.254.25
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.004.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.504.50




Celebrity Equinox itineraries and information



lellislcsw saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Loved the ship, service and whole experience!, January 7, 2017
Reviewer: lellislcsw

Pros: The ship is beautiful and beautifully maintained. Staff is friendly, competent.

Cons: Entertainment and onboard activities are lacking.

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1146

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We had been on the Celebrity Infinity a few years ago and found the experience ho-hum. We were delighted to find quite a different experience on the Equinox! The ship is absolutely lovely; the staff and service are excellent. Our stateroom was fresh, up-to-date and beautifully maintained.

Our steward was so helpful, kind and friendly. Food in the Oceanview Cafe was plentiful, ripe, and fresh. Main dining room food was good enough, though that can improve. Really enjoyed the great mix of cruisers onboard during the holidays. The cruise was over Christmas and New Year's, which made it all the more fun.

There is a big emphasis on drinking, which is boring. I wish there were more educational and enlightening activities and lectures; more and better movies. A truly dedicated cinema would be nice.


keely62158 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
First time Celebrity cruiser but not last. Best ship I've ever been on., November 13, 2011
Reviewer: keely62158

Pros: For the size of the ship, it never felt crowded. No problem with deck chairs.

Cons: Late seating dining service was horrible.

Date of cruise: November 9, 2017

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Central America

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1178

This was my third Celebrity cruise and the second time on the Equinox. This time was not as good as my first time. There seemed to be a disconnect with the staff. The ship had just come over from Europe and was starting the Caribbean with our cruise. It seemed like people were thrown together that had never worked together before.

Service in the main dining room late seating was horrible. We were pretty much guaranteed that we would be there for 2 hours and we only had a 4-top. The first night my onion soup was cold and I could stick my finger in it without feeling any warmth. This seemed to occur on most of our visits and though we had discussed the issue with the maitre'd, we only had one night of decent service.

We opted to go to the buffet on a few nights and had dinner in the steak house one night, which was excellent. We had never been to Panama, Colombia nor Costa Rica. There seemed to be a lot of issues with the Celebrity excursions as a few times we were late leaving due to these delays. There were also a couple of delays due to illness.

All in all, a good time was had by all, as I don't cruise for the food. It's all about the company I'm with. Will I cruise Celebrity again? Absolutely. It is still my cruise line of choice as I appreciate all the perks that are available. Leaving an 11-day cruise with an $11 credit is a good thing!


cmarshy saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Beautiful Equinox, classy luxurious ship, January 29, 2015
Reviewer: cmarshy

Pros: Elegant, great ship layout, awesome grassy area, luxurious decor, decadent

Cons: The chairs in the main dinning room are not very comfortable, they lean you back

Date of cruise: January 12, 2017

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1656

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Ship is luxurious, beautifully decorated and well laid out. After you figure out the "lay of the ship" it's a piece of cake to locate restrooms, restaurants and all activities.
The Main dinning room is a lovely space to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Buffet on the 14th deck is huge, with great fresh food selections at ALL hours of the day.
The grassy lawn on the top deck is a pleasant area to relax and watch the ocean.
Theater has comfy seats and great views no matter where you sit.

Stateroom: We stayed in a Concierge Class C2 room at the aft. This is the second time we have been on the Equinox and we noticed the rooms are starting to show some normal "wear." The vinyl couch has some small tears in it and was starting to look a bit weary. The shower stall had a few areas where the caulking was needing to be replaced.

As always the mattress and pillows were comfy. I get the best sleep while on a Celebrity cruise.

The balcony furniture was in good shape. The end of the balcony where the water catches could have used a good cleaning but wasn't gross.

The chairs in some of the common areas, especially at Cafe Bacio (the coffee shop) appear to be in need of a good cleaning or reupholstering. The cushions are in need of some "plumping"
Overall the ship is well cared for, carpets are clean, dining areas spotless.

LOVE the Equinox!


cruisefritz saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Relatively good cruise experience with some caveats, December 28, 2014
Reviewer: cruisefritz

Pros: Well designed and maintained ship, with many activity and dining options

Cons: Too many and too highly-priced extra cost items and services

Date of cruise: December 12, 2014

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1573

The ship is well designed and maintained. Food quality and presentations are mostly very good. However, there are too many and too highly-priced items and services that took away from the overall cruise vacation experience. For instance, a decent but not great cappuccino costs almost $6; most wines by the glass cost as much if not more than the wholesale price of a whole bottle. The "Bistro on 5" charges $7 to eat there but the food is very ordinary. The "included" food in the regular dining room and buffet venues is much better. Also, as per usual, Spa and shore excursion prices are exorbitant.


svbing saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Very nice ship, excellent service, cabin well designed, January 26, 2013
Reviewer: svbing

Pros: Simple elegance

Cons: Entertainment, daily schedule, no lounges

Date of cruise: January 11, 2013

Departure port: Ft lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6301

1/11/13 10 day. Just a very beautiful ship. Cabin design well thought out. We were in 6301. Last six cabins on port or starboard have larger balconies, although views directly below obstructed. Not an issue.

Food was good, but except for Murano is equivalent to dining room. Cafe was huge, set up island style with adequate seating. Service was superior throughout ship. Coffee good. Ice cream free, many selections.

Officers are seen throughout and want feedback! Very friendly.

Daily schedule a bit wanting, but there is organized stuff to do. Entertainment was sub par, not sure why. Get to theater early, early, early to get a seat. Shop experience very nice as they are well presented as though walking along an avenue! Impressive atrium, library central part of ship.

Check-in easy. On/off ship in ports easy. Easy walk off end of cruise.

Just a very nice experience. Would sail again.


bkguido saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Service, Food and Overall Experience was Exceptional!!!, April 19, 2012
Reviewer: bkguido

Pros: Service and Food.

Cons: I do not have any cons to this cruise or Celebrity.

Date of cruise: April 7, 2012

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1180

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

The food is superior...it is 5 star, both in the main dining room and the specialty restaurants. We dined at Qsine and had an exceptional experience! On evening we arrived at the Main dining room around 9:15. We placed our order, only to find out that they had ran out of our entree choice. Our waiter explained that it would take about 20 minutes to prepare, as they would have to defrost, etc. and perhaps it would not be up to Celebrity's standards of excellence. He suggested an "off the menu" choice of Filet Mignon...clearly an upgrade. He went "above and beyond" to ensure that our dining experience would be excellent...he achieved his goal!

With regards to service, the entire crew, from deck mate to Captain are always courteous, friendly and always acknowledge you with a Good Morning, afternoon or evening. They are engaging in a subtle way...always willing to chat but not obtrusively. We had an opportunity to speak with the Senior Officers, engaging them in conversations ranging from service levels, food and competitive cruise lines. They were knowledgeable and professional. We got a sense that they were committed to providing an exceptional experience for all of their clients and this attitude resonated throughout the ship's crew.

For a cruise ship, the cabins were spacious, having adequate space for our clothes (6 suit cases). We had a Concierge's Level Balcony, with a large couch and large balcony, fitting 2 chairs with ottomans and a table. The room steward and assistant were excellent. We had a few additional daily requests which were attended to w/o exception. The amenities are truly upgraded. Their extra large, extra absorbent bath towels are excellent!!!


GreekExplore saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A fantastic cruise around the Eastern Med, didn't want to disembark!, July 23, 2011
Reviewer: GreekExplore

Pros: Great food; great service; great destinations; good mix of guests

Cons: Expensive internet, shore excursions and laundry

Date of cruise: July 11, 2008

Departure port: Civitavecchia

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8236/ 8238

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: No

This was our first cruise and we could not believe how fantastic it was. The facilities, service and food were amazing. We felt no need need to pay extra and eat at the specialty restaurants, but apparently the Murano was worth the extra cost. We loved having free room service too. There was no need to purchase a drinks package as drinks were reasonably priced.

Embarkation and disembarkation were very quick and easy. It was a 10-day cruise and we could have stayed on for longer. Our family had two lovely balcony cabins that could be connected through the entrance and balcony - both were serviced twice a day.

We used the medical facilities one day also and were pleased that they were of good quality.

The shore excursions were unnecessarily expensive so we only did one to Amalfi and Pompeii on the last day (we felt this may have been a hassle to do by ourselves). Every other port we explored by ourselves happily. Buses and taxis were cheap and we hired a car and quad bike on Santorini. We enjoyed the sea days so much we would have liked the cruise to have included more (possibly leaving out Messia.

As we weren't allowed irons in our staterooms, we felt that there should have been an 'ironing room' where we could have done our own so we saved money by just looking 'a little bit crushed.'

We also avoided using the expensive internet service, spa treatments and gambling. There was plenty of entertainment but sometimes it was a a little corny and old-fashioned for our children (young adults). Maybe this ship should have a rock-climbing wall instead of the lawn area? Also, a 'Meet and Greet' event early in the cruise would have assisted them in meeting others their own age.

Unfortunately, not all fitness classes were free so we tended to avoid these also. I wonder if there are any cruises where EVERYTHING is included? It would be worth paying extra in the beginning so you didn't have to think about it onboard.

However, everyone we spoke to said it was the best cruise they had ever taken so we think we chose well!


orygunal saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Life aboard the Equinox, December 22, 2010
Reviewer: orygunal

Pros: Food service was excellent!

Cons: Geriatric crowd! Poor internet service. Expensive specialty restaurants.

Date of cruise: December 6, 2010

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1575

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

This cruise definitely was designed for the older crowd. We saw more walkers and scooters on this trip than our other three cruises combined. I think that passengers with handicaps should be made aware of the restrictions on getting around on board.

For example, use of stairs is not recommended for people with handicaps! There are plenty of elevators to get from on deck to another! Restrictions on shore excursions should be made. We saw an amazing number of handicapped people attempting to partake in activities that were dangerous for them. It seemed that Celebrity was most interested in filling these various tours, rather than letting passengers know how difficult some things would be for the handicapped.

I also have a problem with Celebrity charging $35 per passenger to eat in their specialty restaurants. We avoided the specialty restaurants for that reason.

The layout of this ship left something to be desired as well. The midships elevators were in an open space that was adjacent to the library. The whole area was wide open and the noise carried up to the library. If you were looking for a quiet place to read, you had to go elsewhere!

The shops area was another annoying thing. There were too many of them! They were on two decks and it made you feel like you were in a mall!

Last, but certainly not least, Celebrity charged a large fee for very poor internet service. On average, it would take 15 to 20 minutes just to check email! Even when you purchase a prepaid package, it was still very expensive. There were times when you could not access the internet because of too many users! Very poor!

We have decided not to cruise with Celebrity in the future. It just wasn't a fun cruise this time. We enjoyed the ports of call, but not very enthusiastic about the ship experience.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!