CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Valor reviews


Carnival Valor reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.98 / 5

Average Rating based on 11 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.733.73
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.913.91
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.823.82
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.384.38
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.913.91
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.094.09
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.003.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.364.36




Carnival Valor itineraries and information



1lks1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Carnival has really been lacking on customer satisfaction lately, April 26, 2016
Reviewer: 1lks1

Pros: The staff is always pleasant and ready to serve...except the bartenders.

Cons: Dining room food choices have gone downhill since my last cruise two years ago.

Date of cruise: April 9, 2016

Departure port: Jacksonville Florida

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6292

This ship was rather outdated in decor but seemed well maintained. The majority of the staff were friendly and always willing to assist. The entertainment was poor in the evening and not available every night. Deck service was poor, but I think that was because of lack of personnel.

My problem with this cruise was not the ship, but I think with Carnival Corporate. With their recent lawsuits they seem to be taking it out on all of their cruisers. My past 10 cruises have been with Carnival and every one was enjoyable...but not this one.


jb4691 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Great time, August 13, 2015
Reviewer: jb4691

Pros: Food and service was exemplary

Cons: Guest Services was not able to resolve issues with on board credit

Date of cruise: August 1, 2015

Departure port: Port Canaveral, FL

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6296

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

On the cruise: Food, cabin & dining service, & shows were excellent. Long lines at Mongolian Wok.

At Nassau port: Did Sail & Snorkel excursion with Seahorse Sailing & Snorkeling. Excellent time & experience.

At St. Thomas port: Took taxi to Magens Bay Beach. Okay beach but very crowded. Nice for one-time trip but do not plan to go again.

At San Juan port: Took free public trolleys around city and went to the two forts. Great time.

At Grand Turk port: Walked to beach by Jack's Shack. Beautiful beach and water.


lholber21 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Ship was bigger then I thought and really nice, February 1, 2013
Reviewer: lholber21

Pros: We missed ship sailing so getting on out of US we were treated great

Cons: Smoking in casino....WAY TO SMOKY!!!

Date of cruise: October 1, 2012

Departure port: Miami, FL

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 1297

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: Yes

We missed our flight out so we did not make it on board the ship before it sailed. Carnival wanted $300 a person to board the ship at the next destination - Key West. We ended up flying to the second stop and staying for two days to wait for the ship and were not charged to board because we were no longer in the US.

The ship was much bigger then I expected, the food in the main dining room was the same every couple of nights, I thought it would be a different menu each day for the whole week. I didn't expect to have to pay for soda but I haven't cruised in a while.

The smoking that is allowed in the casino is AWFUL...and you have to walk through the casino to get to one of the shows. Carnival really need to work on a better ventilation system for that area. Overall we had a good time and will cruise with Carnival again in the future.


earleydb saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
Poor, May 23, 2012
Reviewer: earleydb

Pros: None

Cons: Poor food and services

Date of cruise: November 26, 2011

Departure port: miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1057

Good for teenagers: No

Very poor ship. Will never sail the Valor again or any of the others again. Very poor service. I would sail any other ships but Carnival. They are cheap and that's what you get -- poor food and service.


Red1935hen saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Not our favorite cruise, July 30, 2011
Reviewer: Red1935hen

Pros: The itinerary

Cons: Most of the guests were rude and unfriendly

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9257

Good for teenagers: Yes

Having been on a number of Carnival cruises, we found this one to be our least favorite. While we had a good time, many of the guests were rude, which understandably made the staff a little "testy" at times. Also, we found the organization to be less than optimal. No more cruising out of Miami for us!


jdaddybear saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Our second Carnival cruise and the Valor was GREAT!, July 29, 2011
Reviewer: jdaddybear

Pros: Oustanding service, food and entertainment.

Cons: None

Date of cruise: July 17, 2001

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 1318

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was our second Carnival cruise and we loved it. The entertainment, food, housekeeping and guest services were amazing. My cabin was above the casino band and they moved me the first night.

My wife uses a wheelchair and our table was moved to a much better location for access. We found the ship clean and well maintained. Kudos to the entertainment staff. The shows and comedians were awesome. Special recognition must being given to Everson from the entertaiment team. He seemed to be everywhere and making a conection with all passengers.

Last year we sailed on the Carnival Liberty, the Valor's sister ship, and we rated Liberty a 7 and Valor a 10. We are planing to travel Valor again with a different itinerary.


snowgrl1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Wonderful ship, very well maintained, July 18, 2011
Reviewer: snowgrl1

Pros: Activities -- loved murder mystery

Cons: Dining service was awful, a minimum 2 hours for dinner each night

Date of cruise: July 3, 2011

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2220

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Enjoyed the cruise very much as always on Carnival. The only negative was the your time dining experience. It took 2-3 hours for dinner. Sometimes our food set there waiting to be served for a long time. We could watch the ice cream melting. I have had "Your Time" dining before and had no problem.

The shows were great and the usual activites kept us busy. I do tire of the sales pitch in the spa though. When I pay a hugh premium for a massage, I don't want a sales pitch at the end, it ruins the experience.

We love Carnival overall. My kids won't sail on any other ships.


ECM225 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Staff and "your own time dining" was excellent, food selection superb, July 16, 2011
Reviewer: ECM225

Pros: Food was top quality, Rosie's had great selection. desserts excellent

Cons: Expected soda to be free, so drank iced tea/lemonade. Beware of internet

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 8238

Good for children: Yes

This was our first cruise. It was everything my parents told us they enjoyed about cruises -- great food, entertainment, things to do.

More info available about ports and land excursions before the cruise would have been helpful, but it was probably overlooked on our part. Private Island in Bahamas was just okay however the ship luncheon on island was great. St. Thomas and Puerto Rico were great. Excursions were very negotiable. San Juan has a trolley/shuttle that takes you all around San Juan for free.

Turks island could have been better if we had taken a snorkel excurson. The costs seem reasonable. There is a captive excursion market at Turks Island and the private Bahamas island so there isn't room for negotiations. Personal taxi to Cooktown, visit to museum was good. Beach was nice.

"Your own time dining" was great. Go before 6:30 p.m. and after 8 p.m. for no waiting. 6:30-8 you could run into 30 minute waits (they give you a wireless pager to get an alert).

Beware of internet charges. You can eat up 250 minutes (.40/minute) quickly. If you pick a lower category you can't upgrade. You can only buy another category. The "buy more time" implies you can add on but it is only for buying a new category in addition to what you have. Track your time. If you go over, it is a rip-off at .75/minute and you don't get any warning. And the manager is very non-negotiable. Printing is $.50/page. We brought our own portable printer and it was free. Internet was the only disappointing (and very expensive) thing.

Phone use was also very expensive (dollars/minute). Use GOOGLEVOICE or MAGICJACK. Worked out very well. Need your own headset/phone. The cabin phone isn't a standard RJ11 interface.


linnybear saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A great cruise for our family that includes adult children and grandchildren!, October 29, 2010
Reviewer: linnybear

Pros: Our entire experience was great; staff attention, food, service and ports

Cons: The smoke is overwhelming in areas where it is allowed ie.casino, bars, etc.

Date of cruise: October 17, 2010

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8430

Good for children: Yes

Ours was a very positive experience that I had not anticipated in comparison to previous Carnival cruises! We had a fabulous time!

However, in this day and age it is unacceptable to allow smoking on board. I cannot imagine being an employee of Carnival Cruises where I would be exposed to this health hazard over and over again! As a passenger it was very difficult to enjoy the casino, etc., being exposed to the smoke and I am appalled that the policy has not changed in regards to this issue.

On a more positive note, the food was delicous and we appreciated the cappuchino every night at dinner along with unlimited ice cream all day long.


Sloan222 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Wonderful family cruise, with excellent value., September 2, 2010
Reviewer: Sloan222

Pros: My daughters loved Camp Carnival; the food exceeded expectations

Cons: Congestion at buffet, too few quiet places, no midnight buffet

Date of cruise: October 1, 2009

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

First, what we liked: The slide!!!, Camp Carnival, the dining room food, and the sushi. ur room was designed very well, with lots of storage. Our steward took very good care of us, as did our waiter. My daughter and I especially liked the afternoon tea.

The not-so-great: difficulty getting food and a table at the buffet, not much for older children (9-11) at Camp Carnival, and whirlpools crowded. The ships layout was awkward to navigate, as well as a sewage smell in our hallway.


tbow saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Valor was a clean boat with attentive staff., June 8, 2010
Reviewer: tbow

Pros: The burrito bar and yogurt machines were the best

Cons: The food choices were ok, not the best

Date of cruise: May 23, 2010

Departure port: miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 8311

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

I enjoyed this boat tremendously. The food isn't as good as some of the other cruise lines but you can certainly find something to eat any time of the day or nite. The yogurt machine and burrito bar were my favorites and I dont normally eat junk food.

The entertainment was good and they usually had things going on. I wish the TV screen outside played a different movie each night though...the movies played at noon and the sun made it hard to see the screen. Overall my trip was nice and the ports were great!

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!