CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Magic reviews


Carnival Magic reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.42 / 5

Average Rating based on 4 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.754.75
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.504.50
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.753.75
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.334.33
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.753.75
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.754.75
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 5.005.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 5.005.00




Carnival Magic itineraries and information



Jackieblog saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
The Carnival Magic - and its own beer - has devoted followers, including me., January 9, 2014
Reviewer: Jackieblog

Pros: Carnival Line's RedFrog Beer is great as are the restaurants and activities.

Cons: Can only get Carnival RedFrog Beer on a Carnival ship.

Date of cruise: November 1, 2011

Departure port: Galveston, Texas

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

While on my 2011 inaugural cruise of the Carnival Magic, I posted a photo on Pinterest of RedFrog beer. And the “repins” and “likes” starting pouring in. They continue still today.

Guess many Pinterest followers have either tasted that beer or want to taste it. Curious how RedFrog got started? Here is the story.

He used to live in the forest, soaking up the rain. Now he lives on the Carnival Magic, basking in the sun.

That’s the Carnival story about the RedFrog. And they’re sticking to it.

In fact, the little tree frog has made himself so at home on the cruise ship that he has his own private label draught beer, custom-brewed specially for Carnival – ThirstyFrog Red.

The first pub ever on a Carnival ship opened in May 2011, on the Magic with ThirstyFrog Red beer and the response was overwhelming. “They ran out of beer the first day,” said Vance Gulliksen, Carnival Cruise Lines spokesman. “This is a huge huge hit for us. ”

So popular has ThirstyFrog Red become that it is now served on other Carnival ships. “Carnival is the only place you can get it,” Gulliksen said. “It’s a fun thing to do but we didn’t realize how popular the pub and the beer would be.”

The pub itself is an island-themed watering hole located on the Promenade Deck of the Magic. The décor is decidedly Caribbean meets Key West with nautical styled interiors, warm woods, vibrant tile work, portholes and images of ships at seas, plus foosball and game tables, a jukebox and live music.

The 100-seat indoor-outdoor pub serves Caribbean favorites – Bahamian conch salad, grouper fingers, firecracker Jamaican chicken wings, Jamaican jerk pulled pork sandwiches, beef sliders, coconut shrimp and more. RedFrog Pub also serves top Caribbean rums and regional beers such as Jamaican Red Stripe.

As RedFrog himself might say – “Chill out. Live life to the fullest.”


Jacqueline saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Cloud 9 Spa on Carnival Magic is heavenly!, January 25, 2014
Reviewer: Jacqueline

Pros: Spa is clean, has great services, handy lockers, reasonable price for week us

Cons: Spa could provide robes and slippers. On my last cruise, it was way too crowded.

Date of cruise: December 1, 2013

Departure port: Galveston, Texas

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

After braving a snow and ice storm to catch a plane from Indy to Galveston, I was ready for some warmth and relaxation. And I knew exactly the place – the Carnival Magic’s Cloud 9 Spa.

Shipboard spas have long been a popular part of the sailing experience, the spa attendant said, leading me on a tour of the facilities shortly after embarkation.

In fact, the Carnival Magic offers spa staterooms. With direct, private access to the Cloud 9 Spa, these staterooms and suites not only give guests a spa-like ambiance in the room decor but also exclusive amenities and privileges. Guests enjoy unlimited access to the spa and its facilities, priority spa appointments, complimentary fitness classes and use of special Cloud 9 Spa logo items such as bathrobes, towels and slippers during the cruise.

Spanning 22,770 square feet, Cloud 9 offers sweeping views of the ocean and a multitude of spa therapies. The Thermal Suite is based on traditional Turkish baths with different herbal steam and sauna grottos, plus heated chaise lounges and tropical showers.

The Thalassotherapy Pool is a therapeutic oasis featuring the concept of a natural bubbling spring. Thalassotherapy is a name derived from ancient Greek words for “sea water” and “healing.” It is credited with multiple beneficial properties, including skin cleansing and toning, improving metabolism, boosting the immune system and relief oaf muscle pain.

Other spa services include acupuncture, facials, reflexology, tooth whitening, pedicures, manicures, haircuts and coloring, shaves and much more. A Fitness Center offers yoga, exercise and other classes, as well as individualized fitness programs.

On my first day at sea aboard the Carnival Magic, I enjoyed a leisurely dinner, a theatre production and a good night’s sleep. Don’t know if it was the ocean’s lullaby or the spa effect but I did sleep like I was on Cloud 9.


centex_mojo saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Outstanding ... can't imagine it being better!, January 6, 2014
Reviewer: centex_mojo

Pros: Everything... my favorite was coffee & bagel on the balcony every morning!

Cons: The lines getting on ... and the lines getting off!

Date of cruise: December 22, 2013

Departure port: Galveston

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 10276

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

My first cruise. Our cabins were 10272, 10274, 10276 with adjoining balconies. The agent gave us fabulous advice. We were on the lido deck ... close to the pool, food, bar, and nighttime movies. I can't stress how much we enjoyed the adjoining balconies!!!!!

Everyone was as outgoing, polite and helpful as can be. I can't imagine anyone wanting more. I've read reviews that described the food as mediocre. As a mother of four, anytime I don't have to cook and clean -- I think I've gone to heaven. Anytime my husband or children did not like their food for whatever reason, the staff went out of their way to correct the problem or bring them something else.

There was an activity every hour onboard - something for everyone. The photographers were GREAT! All of my souvenir money was spent on family photos. I wish I could have prepaid for a photo package - and have the digital photos sent to an email.

The only problems were the amount of time it took to get off the ship ... during one port (Grand Cayman) we had to "tender" -- and it took an hour and a half of waiting in line to get off the ship.

When it was time to leave the ship .. we planned to stay in the room until our "letter" was called.We all got very upset when the told us to leave our room but still wait for hour(s) until our letter was called.

Loved each and every person we interacted with ... the housekeeping, steward, bartenders, waiters and waitresses ... absolutely everyone!

Rooms were always clean -- twice a day.


cdjwadams saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Beautiful ship, excellent staff, mediocre food, May 17, 2013
Reviewer: cdjwadams

Pros: Beautiful ship and friendly staff

Cons: Roitan and Belize are ports only for snorkling or diving - not sightseeing

Date of cruise: May 5, 2013

Departure port: Galveston

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin number: 8232

Good for children: Yes

Beautiful ship with adult only deck. Friendly excellent staff.

The food was mediocre and they had a Mexican buffet at 10 p.m.???

I personally find that $50 per day per person in a cabin (must pay for all adults in the cabin) for unlimited drinks up to 15 per day per person is outrageous. Leads to overdrinking and drunkenness for people to feel like they are getting their money's worth.

No fancy food presentations and entertainment not as good as on other lines we have sailed on.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!