CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Liberty reviews


Carnival Liberty reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.96 / 5

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 4.224.22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 3.893.89
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.673.67
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.573.57
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.114.11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.004.00
SpaSpa = 3.673.67
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 4.334.33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.114.11




Carnival Liberty itineraries and information



long2travel saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Fun vacation, bargain price, July 15, 2014
Reviewer: long2travel

Pros: Fun cruise, lots of activities

Cons: Not quite as upscale as we like, and too many people

Date of cruise: June 28, 2014

Departure port: Port Canaveral

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We have had hit-or-miss experiences with Carnival and were leery about booking this one. However, given our time and budget constraints, we decided to take a chance on the Liberty. It is actually a lovely ship (not necessarily elegant...but not the neon, in-your-face decor I have seen on other Carnival ships).

The cabin was on par with other cruise lines, and the staff kept the public areas clean for the most part. I did not like that the casino was in the center of the ship and that cigarette smoke wafted into many other public areas and even up the stairwells. Ugh!

This is a very large ship, but during a summertime sailing it still seemed crowded, especially up on deck. Teenagers liked to hang out in the stairwells and on the elevators, which was annoying.

The service was quite good, except at the at-sea brunches -- both times, we waited over 40 minutes for food. The buffet was good, but didn't always seem to be open, which seemed odd. The hamburgers were exceptional, and the pizza place offered more varieties than on any other ship we've sailed. It did bother me that even though there were signs, people still came into the buffet area in their swimsuits; I don't want to eat while looking at someone's sweaty midriff (or worse!). I saw some staff members reminding passengers to cover up, but to little avail.

On this ship, a professional photographer, Dewa, is available for private bookings. He is absolutely brilliant and compiles beautiful albums for purchase (of course!). I only wish I could have bought more photographs from him...truly the most gifted photographer I have ever worked with. Definitely worth checking out.

The entertainment was very good, although it was difficult to get into the lounge for the comedy acts. Get there early if you want to see them! There was always something going on, which was nice since we were traveling with our two (teenage/young adult) kids.

Based on this experience, we will Carnival another try in the future.


Hotlocs saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
It was a fun and memorable cruise. I highly recommend this ship!!!, December 13, 2012
Reviewer: Hotlocs

Pros: The staff and food.

Cons: The smoking policy!! Smoking should be limited or eliminated..period!

Date of cruise: December 1, 2012

Departure port: Port of Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 1449

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

I'm glad I trusted my instincts and did not allow negative reviews about the ship to sway me. I enjoyed everything about this cruise.

The "faster to fun" pass is a must for more perks on board. We did not have to wait more than one minute to board the ship because of the pass!! We were front of the line for "tendering" and for disembarkment. I highly recommend it!!

The food was excellent in the main dining room and on the Lido deck. There was something for everyone and it was all delish!

The liberty is a huge ship so I was lost most of the time but all the walking kept me in shape...lol. The staff was amazing and helpful. Shout out to Dibilor from Serbia, he was funny and so attentive in the MDR.

The adult comedy show was crazy funny and the other productions were good, too. The shore excursions were amazing. The passengers were well behaved and friendly. We only saw one drunken person on the whole cruise...crazy right? Is this Carnival?

The ship was big enough so it never felt crowded in the buffet line or anywhere else. Yes, you had to wait for seating in the MDR but that was only if you wanted specific seating. Overall, we had a wonderful and fun time on the Liberty and highly recommend the ship.


sbcruiser saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Pleasantly surprised with Carnival., August 24, 2012
Reviewer: sbcruiser

Pros: Ports of call were great. The burgers and pizza were excellent.

Cons: Decor of ship badly needs updating

Date of cruise: August 11, 2012

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6264

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was the first time we sailed Carnival. We have avoided them because we thought it would be lower quality since they are sort of a entry level cruise line. We were pleasantly surprised.

The cabin was about the same as other cruise lines we have been on. The food was good. Maybe not as gourmet as Celebrity or Holland America, but definitely good. Instead of a big production show each night, they have a comedy club. Comedians were so-so. Only had three song/dance shows - average quality.

The ports of call were fantastic. Water so blue it doesn't even look real (and warm too!) Excursions are expensive and can really add to the cost of the cruise. Slot machines in the casino are a joke - don't waste your money. Spend it snorkeling or cave tubing.


kjc2011 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
First-time cruisers and LOVED the Liberty!, January 19, 2012
Reviewer: kjc2011

Pros: Guys Burgers, lots of activities, ports

Cons: Food in main dining room is just "ok"

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2223

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We were first-time cruisers, 2 kids (14, 11) with my best friend's family (kids same ages). We flew into Miami a day early and stayed at the Regency Hotel Miami. GREAT pool area, though food/bar service was verrrry slow. However, there's a wonderful restaurant right next door called "Catch of the Day" - fantastic seafood and live music beginning around 9:00.

The hotel offered a free shuttle to the port the next morning which was fantastic. We arrived at the port about 11:30 a.m. - and waited in the long lines, though they moved pretty quickly.

Our first steps onto the ship - we were awestruck - didn't know WHERE to look! We decided to head up to Lido (9th) deck to get some lunch and so that the kids could go swimming. My 11 year-old was the very first to jump into the pool - and was all alone! There are no shortage of waiters passing out those delicious fruity rum drinks! They are $7.75 each - but, oh, are they yummy!! (and strong, too!) We hung out on Lido for a few hours, dancing, drinking and just enjoying the views of Miami!

Our entire party loved Guy's Burgers (esp. the Piggy Patty!) Watch out though, one of the trivia questions asked how many calories are in the piggy patty - and it's a whopping 1,900!!! YIKES! The burritos and tacos at Blue Iguana are also excellent! LOVED the Blue Iguana bar - the margaritas are all delicious - and better than anywhere else on the ship.

We ate dinner every night (except for one) in the main dining room (Golden - Anytime Dining). We liked the Anytime Dining option, as we weren't tied in to a time and could just go when we felt hungry. The food was "eh" - not 5-star, but not too bad, either. My son and I LOVED the chilled fruit soups - they were delicious! The crab cake is also something not to be missed. I had read so many raves about the chocoloate melting cake - and pictured it to be a nice "lava" cake, but it's not. It's more like a bowl of melting chocolate pudding. The kids loved it, though. The lobster tail was delicious, and cooked to perfection. Did not at ALL like the lasagna bolognese ... tasted just like Chef Boyaredee. Everything else was "ok."

We pretty much let the kids do their own thing - and just set "meet up" times - however, we usually bumped into them on the Lido. The kids met friends their own ages and had a total blast. My daughter (14) has said she only wants to cruise from now on!

We attended a couple of the family comedy shows which the kids really enjoyed - and the adults attended a few of the adult shows and thought they were hysterical. Tony Esposito was hilarious! Get there EARLY though, as seating fills up very quickly and it becomes standing room only!

The piano bar was fun, though we did NOT like the piano man. He constantly made references to not playing a song unless it had money accompanying it - otherwise it was just a "suggestion." He would also offer to stop playing a song if someone paid him. Overall we found him kind of surly and obnoxious.

Sea days were definitely fun - but the Lido deck gets crowded FAST! People are up EARLY EARLY hogging chairs by putting towels on them...and it's so frustrating when you're looking for a chair and there are none - and the only thing occupying them are towels!! I did find that the upper decks (above the basketball courts and the Serenity) were a little less crowded and you were more apt to find seating. The other perk was the beautiful breeze that was up on those decks, though it DID get chilly/windy as the sun was going down.

I had worried, a little bit, about the kids having enough to do - but that NEVER seemed to be a problem at all - not ONCE did I hear "Mom, I'm bored" lol. Between basketball, mini-golf, shuffle board, swimming, water slide, hot tubs, etc. - they always seemed to have something to do. I think both kids LOVED the notion of getting soft serve ice cream whenever they wanted it - and certainly ate enough to turn into cows! The idea of getting food "for free" whenever they wanted was also appealing to them. In fact, my son (11) who hardly EVER eats got a Guy's burger every single day - he couldn't get enough!

The one "negative," if you will, of our entire cruise was the "tilt" that happened on the second day. I was still in our stateroom laying on our bed, as the kids were still sleeping. My husband had gotten out early to get coffee and go to the sauna. When the ship began to tilt, things began sliding off the desk and I could hear things falling onto the floor in the bathroom. Because this was our first cruise, I didn't think much of it - just "hmmm, this can't be normal".

My husband, who was on Lido said it was unreal. Dishes/glasses were falling out and smashing, some people were running, half the water in the pools spilled out flooding the halls and the elevator shafts, he said it was crazy. Later he spoke to a former crew member who said he believed we were at a 40-degree tilt - and that at 50 degrees a ship can't right itself.

I don't know if this was true or not, but it was especially frightening to think of in light of getting to the airport and learning about the Italian ship.

OH - one thing that should DEFINITELY be tried is the Fish & Chips place on 10 Aft! I only tried it my last day as they are only open from 12:00-2:30...but it was SOOOO good! In addition to the fish that day they also had fried calamari fritters that were delicous! Definitely a must for a sea day!


jtsquirrel saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Disappointed with Carnival, will stay with Royal Caribbean from now on..., April 14, 2011
Reviewer: jtsquirrel

Pros: The price was good for an Eastern Caribbean cruise, and the ports of call :)

Cons: Carnival is low quality, poor service, very disorganized, not very friendly

Date of cruise: April 2, 2011

Departure port: Miami, FL

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

I have been on three Royal Caribbean cruises before this Carnival cruise - we figured we'd give Carnival a try and see if we liked it. Well, we won't ever do a Carnival cruise again.

The comparison between RC and Carnival is not even close. Carnival was very disorganized - there were lines everywhere on the ship for everything. Buffet never seemed to be open when we wanted food - and we ended up getting burgers every time. Sports Deck was very disappointing... half court basketball was loaded with little kids all day and it closed at 5 p.m! Food wasn't very good.

Ports of call were nice. Days at sea we couldn't wait until they were over! Royal Caribbean is by far superior to Carnival and is worth the little extra $$.


sophiezhuo saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Fantastic first cruise experience with Carnival Liberty, January 13, 2011
Reviewer: sophiezhuo

Pros: Food, housekeeper, entertainment

Cons: Nothing

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We took our first cruise trip with Carnival Liberty from January 1-8,2011, and it was fantastic. Best experience ever!

The housekeepers worked very hard. They clean up our cabin at least three times a day. Most of housekeepers come from Asia and they are extremely friendly.

The food is awesome as well. I read some negative reviews about the food at buffet, but my experience is that they did a great job offering food of different style every day. The breakfast buffet does not change much everyday but they provide us with lot of choices, so I never got bored with it. Food at dinning room is awesome too. The great thing is that I can order as many starters, entrees and desserts as I want. They NEVER say no.

I have to mention the entertainment on Liberty. It was great! The dancers and singers are energetic and awesome. They usually have to perform two shows every night so they must be really hardworking! I couldn't remember their names but I want to give all of them a big thank you for bringing audience so much fun. Also, there is a magician who is excellent on Liberty. He is very talented and nice. We all liked him very much!


obxkaren saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great First Time Family Cruise!, December 29, 2010
Reviewer: obxkaren

Pros: Great Service

Cons: $$ for Activities

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 6346

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was our first cruise - traveling with our 15-year-old and 21-year-old.

Cabins were nice (inside) and our room porter was great. Food was good to excellent - we got tired of the buffet after the first night - usual buffet fare. Formal dining food was excellent - we chose anytime dining and most nights were seated right away with the exception of the first formal night - very long lines and long waits.

When we returned to the cabin later that night, the dining staff had sent a plate of goodies and a note of apology for the long wait. The kids loved room service and ordered at all hours!

Weather was beautiful so spent a lot of time on the upper decks - no problems finding chairs together even mid-day. Pool deck was loud and fun - something going on all the time!

Enough to do to keep everyone busy and entertained - loved the comedians during this cruise!

Overall everyone had a wonderful, relaxing time -- great weather, great ports, great cruise!


giagator saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Carnival is cutting corners on food, service not as good as past, October 1, 2010
Reviewer: giagator

Pros: Liked the layout of ship, big cabins

Cons: Service wasn't as good as it used to be, ship not maintained like it should be

Date of cruise: September 19, 2010

Departure port: Tampa

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 6238

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

I enjoyed the ship's layout and the ports. I felt the food wasn't its best; watered-down soup, ranch dressing etc. Waiters were okay, we had maybe two that we enjoyed. We did "Anytime Dining" and felt most didn't put in the effort and were so unorganized.

The ship had alot of rust on it and by the pool there were tiles that were chipped off. I remember the days that the ships were meticulous. I just felt it wasn't being kept up like it should have.

I am a platinum member of Carnival and have always defended them but I don't feel that way after last two cruises I have been on.


jansarts saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Best crew on the ocean, very nice ship, August 17, 2010
Reviewer: jansarts

Pros: Every member of crew loved his or her job and it showed

Cons: Ship was very crowded

Date of cruise: August 30, 2008

Departure port: miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 1066

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Great Ship. The overall design was very nice. The crew was excellent, all smiling and happy to be on board. Absolutely every crew memeber was polite and happy which really made for a plesant trip.

The ship was magnificent. Food was great. Shows as with all Carnival ships were good but always the same, except for the few that are flown in.

We had a problem with our room and they all went to great lengths to correct it. Really had a nice trip, Would cruise the Liberty again.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!