CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Carnival Cruise Lines Reviews

Carnival Glory reviews


Carnival Glory reviews

Average customer rating:
    3.74 / 5

Average Rating based on 12 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.753.75
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.004.00
EntertainmentEntertainment = 3.083.08
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 3.503.50
Food QualityFood Quality = 3.673.67
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.004.00
SpaSpa = 4.004.00
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.004.00




Carnival Glory itineraries and information



LGGA saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 11
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Issues with Cabin! Chef wouldn't accommodate food allergies in dining room!, January 15, 2016
Reviewer: LGGA

Pros: Our wait staff was wonderful! The Guest Services/Hotel director was great!

Cons: I have celiac, and the chef was unwilling to accommodate reasonable requests.

Date of cruise: November 28, 2015

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2481

I was traveling with my husband and our family. We booked two cabins total. Our cabins were oceanview rooms on level 2 in the middle rear of the ship. These cabins are AWFUL!!! They are loud and shake...by that, I mean it's as if someone pulled up next to you in their car with their bass turned all the way up. The rooms were shaking and booming. I immediately had a headache once we started pulling out of port. There is no way to sleep in these cabins, and this shaking and booming is constant when the ship is moving. It was difficult to even be in the room at all.

My husband and I, we turned Platinum on this cruise...thankfully, went to the VIP Guest Services desk and we complained to them. The guest services person apologized profusely and gave us a bunch of drink tickets...as if that would stop the ruckus in the room. She assured us that we would no longer have that issue the next day. We believed her. That was the wrong thing to do. We had a stop that day, and when we pulled out of port, while I was trying to get ready for dinner, the cabin began shaking and booming again. I immediately had another full-on headache.

I went to find my husband, and once again, we went to the VIP desk to complain. The person at the desk once again just wanted to offer us drink tickets. We told her that wasn't going to fix the issue and that we wanted to move to a different cabin ... even inside ... we didn't care. She finally agreed to have the head of housekeeping come to our room to verify the issue. The head of housekeeping came to the room. She apologized. She said the shaking started along the side hallway...which he had already noticed too...before she even got to our cabin. She admitted she would have a hard time just being in the room, let alone try to sleep in the room. She reported back to her boss to verify the issue.

The next morning...sleepless night #2...we went back to the VIP customer service desk. My husband demanded to speak to a supervisor again. This time, the head of hotel services came to speak with us. We told him that we were miserable and that we just wanted to get off the ship and go home. My husband told him that he could either find another cabin that was quiet on the ship or they could fly us all home from our stop in St. Thomas the next day. Either way, we weren't going to stay on the ship if something wasn't done about this issue. (We were traveling with family, another couple. They were in the cabin right next to us.)

He finally said that he would work on finding us rooms. He said that he had one inside cabin on deck 10 available and he thought he could make an inside cabin on deck 8 available by that evening. We told him that we would be very grateful if he could make that happen as none of us had had any sleep in two nights. Around 5:30 p.m. that evening the head of hotel services informed the four of us that he had secured the cabins. He said that cabin 1024 was immediately available. Our family insisted that my husband and I take that room. They were told that their cabin on the 8th floor would be available after dinner. We thanked him profusely.

We also told him that those cabins should be "sold" at a lower cost and come with a disclaimer to the effect of, "If you can't sleep with a constant jackhammer going on inside your cabin, you may want to steer clear of these cabins." I know we certainly wouldn't have booked them if we'd known about this issue. Keep in mind this is a known issue, and I'm guessing they get tons of complaints on each cruise about these rooms. If this had been my first cruise, it would have been my last.

In addition to moving us, the hotel services manager plied all of us with free drink vouchers for the entire trip. He also refunded the difference that we paid, because we paid for ocean view rooms. While we appreciate his efforts, I'm pretty sure that if my husband and I hadn't been Platinum level VIP customers, this would not have been handled appropriately. That was the first big issue.

In addition to the room debacle, I experienced HUGE issues in the dining room as well with the chef. I have celiac disease, so I can't eat gluten. I also don't eat a lot of meat, and I don't eat fish at all. My husband and I cruise often, and except for one other time...on a Carnival cruise, too...the chefs have all been very accommodating. This time was a nightmare for me food-wise, though.

I made simple requests, such as requesting an avocado for my plain rice and plain lettuce, and the chef said, "no." I also asked the chef, for example, to make the spring rolls gluten free as an appetizer, and was told, "no." My husband and I had just cruised on the Carnival Sunshine in September, and that chef quite willingly made not only the spring rolls, but he accommodated my simple requests. Not this time.

In fact, eating in the dining room was such a miserable experience for me that I would have skipped the dining room altogether if we had not been traveling with another couple. In fact, I would have preferred to just eat a Guys burger and fries every night to eating in the dining room. Dinner was boring and stressful for me each night. Dinner on a cruise should be fun and should be a part of your day to which you look forward. For me, it felt like two hours of very plain, bland food that I wish I could have skipped.

Our waitstaff and the dining room staff were amazing and they bent over backwards trying to accommodate me. None of this was their fault. They didn't like having to come tell me that the chef said "no" again. Shame on you, Carnival, for not hiring chefs who will accommodate passengers who have food allergies. This is only the second time that I've had this issue, but if it continues, we will be cruising other cruise lines. This is simply unacceptable and terrible customer service. The chef should be able to modify most of the foods on the menu with no problem, but this wasn't the case this time.

If you are traveling on the Carnival Glory, I wouldn't book cabins in the 6A category on deck 1 toward the back of the ship on both sides. I also wouldn't book the cabins in the 6B category in both hallways toward the back of the ship, including the cabins at the very back of the ship. We were in cabins 2481 and 2483. I still can't believe that Carnival charges the same prices for these cabins as it does for the other ocean view rooms, and that there is no disclaimer about the noise and booming/shaking of the rooms.

Even though this cruise got off to an extremely rocky start, we ended up enjoying the rest of our cruise overall...except for dinner for me. If Carnival had not corrected our issue, we would have flown home from St. Thomas, and this would have been the last Carnival cruise we'd ever take. (Keep in mind that we are Platinum, so we cruise a lot...and we have cruised other cruise lines with no issues.) I don't understand why Carnival would knowingly sell rooms that are that awful without some type of a disclaimer and at a discount. HORRIBLE!

Unless you don't mind very loud noise and constant booming and thumping, don't book the rooms on decks 1 and 2 at the back of the ship, including the hallways on both sides toward the back of the ship. Your travel agent may not warn you about these rooms. Ours didn't.


Teabags saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
All in all an exceptional cruise., March 7, 2014
Reviewer: Teabags

Pros: Food & service plus other staff excellent.

Cons: Little opportunity to dance other than the disco. We prefer ballroom style.

Date of cruise: February 23, 2014

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 1020

The excursion in San Juan was the highlight of our trip. A little expensive but the "Rum Mixology & Salsa Class" was really fun. The guide, Ms. Daniels, was knowledgeable as well as personable, and the Salsa class was hilarious. Really enjoyed the Don Q visit as well as the Mojito and tapas served at the restaurant. Highly recommended for small groups of less that 12.


klb saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 33
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 33
Get what you pay for with bargain basement prices, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: klb

Pros: Cheap getaway

Cons: Service, food, atmosphere

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

After sailing on the Carnival ship, I have to say I would never go back again. Yes, the bargain basement prices are enticing to getaway for a week. Yet the quality of everything, from service to food to décor, is about what you'd expect to get from cheap prices. There is no surprising value for your money on this ship.

If you want to just getaway, might be right for you. If you have higher expectations for your money, though, sail on another cruise line.


belladonnyd saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 11
The worst...my 26th cruise on carnival alone, July 1, 2013
Reviewer: belladonnyd

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Not helpful at all

Date of cruise: June 16, 2013

Departure port: boston

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 1335

I have been on 26 cruises just with Carnival...from the bottom of my heart this was bad.

I fell on the floor that was wet. Got hurt and Carnival just turns its head. I never got hurt on any ships I have been on in my life before. Their doctors took care of me on the ship but said to get it checked when I get home.

Well, I did and there is a problem and they don't want to hear it. All I was looking for is to pay the doctor bills, but now I have to get legal advice and take it from there.

If they treat me this way how do they treat the person who does not cruise that much. IM IN TOTAL SHOCK AT WHAT CARNIVAL IS DOING TO ME.


GRANTSO saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Newly refurbished - well done. Very accommodating staff., March 3, 2013
Reviewer: GRANTSO

Pros: We were especially pleased with the excellent service all over the ship.

Cons: We don't care for the push to have our picture taken.

Date of cruise: February 17, 2013

Departure port: Miami

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 2322

Good for children: Yes

All six of us in two cabins had a great cruise! We especially appreciated excellent service from our waiter, Pravit, our cabin steward, Rodney, the cruise director, Josh (Big Sexy), and the maitre d', Enrico.

Foodwise, the dining room and buffet lines did not disappoint. We loved the seafood in the Fish and Chips area! Our 5- and 9-year-old grandsons had a fun time in Camp Carnival, making lots of friends, including the staff.


Nadinenurse saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Don't believe all the negative things you read, July 20, 2012
Reviewer: Nadinenurse

Pros: Staff

Cons: Activities for 19- 22 year olds

Date of cruise: July 12, 2017

Departure port: Boston

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2423

Boy, was I HAPPY. I was worried from all of the negative reviews I read about the condition of the boat, food, etc. The boat was great. Yes, loud colors, but I actually really liked some of the couches and chairs in the main lounge. I went on expecting a horror but I and my family had a great great time.

The shows were a bit outdated, but comedians were funny, the movies under the stars were great. I was able to go to the casino and avoid some smoke, but did leave quickly. One side was non-smoking, but it did drift over.

The food at the buffets could be described as Old Country Buffet, Ponderosa, The dining room food was like any $25 a meal dinner resturant, think Olive Garden. Go with this in mind and you will not be disappointed.. go thinking you are getting 5-star Hilton food or $50 a meal food and you will not get it.

My son even tried the frog legs. Yuch, he said they were like chicken. That was in the mani dining rorom where we had great services and the waiters were fantastic.

My room staff were also amazing, would redo my bed any way they could as I could not get comfortable due to my back. The shower was adequate size, I even asked for and received a shower bench for my back. Bathroom was fine, all our stuff fit. Shower very hot with warning, be careful...

Room service: Shrimp salad very good but small, ask for two. Hubby is a diabetic so he needs small meals all day. We had room service three times a day to meet this need and it all came exactly as we ordered.

The ship was full, but I found empty spaces. I was in an outside area under the lifeboats reading for awhile. There were nice sea breezes and it was only me and my daughter and my Ipad for about 1-1/2 hours. Never saw another soul. Hard to believe. Everyone must have been at the pools which were crowded, too crowded to get by in a wheelchair so I did not go.
Son went to work out; he said there was always a piece of equipment to use.

Our statemroom was great! No noise from above, below or the side, not even at night and we were right by an elevator. I could not have asked for more. It had many spaces for clothing and stuff, three closets, one with shelves, underbed storage for luggage, a safe to fit my Ipad, Nook Kindle and three cell phones and money.. yes, we had way too many electronics. We also had laptops which did not fit. Housekeeping staff wonderful, polite and quick...always had multiple towels.

Definitely will go again and on this boat!


jmeema saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
I could not have been more pleased with the ship and staff., June 20, 2012
Reviewer: jmeema

Pros: The experience for my 2 teenage grandchildren.

Cons: Due to mother nature, the embarkation was absolutely hideous

Date of cruise: June 3, 2012

Departure port: Boston, Ma

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2308

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This cruise got off to a rocky start due to the weather and the whale migration. Honestly by the time we got onto the ship, all that was forgotten. The ship was beautiful and immaculate. We were a group of 4, my husband and I and 2 teenage grandchildren. Honestly I was not looking forward to sharing a cabin with 2 teenagers,but the cabin was spacious. My husband and I had a king sized bed and the kids were on bunk beds. there was plenty of closet and drawer space. Our cabin stewards were fabulous and friendly. My husband loves the Lido deck(9) for breakfast lunch and dinner. We spent very little time in the formal dining room. We are frequent cruisers and this is just our preference. The food was always tasty and plentiful. I love the seating arrangements on this cruise. The way the booths are placed on the Lido deck gives as many diners as possible a lovely view of the ocean while they eat. On my one opportunity to visit the guest service desk, the staff was friendly and helpful. What made me happiest of all on this cruise were the camps for the teenagers. Because of their ages they went to 2 different camps and they both had a blast. They both made friends that they are still in contact with by Facebook. The camp counselors were both very nice people.


jaugusti1950 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Great Time on the Carnival Glory to the Bahamas in May 2012, June 11, 2012
Reviewer: jaugusti1950

Pros: The Food and the Ports

Cons: Choice of Cabin, Debarkation

Date of cruise: May 16, 2017

Departure port: Norfolk, VA

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7446

We sailed the Carnival Glory out of Norfolk, VA from May 15-20 (6 nights), 2012. We live in Richmond, VA, so found it very convenient to drive to Norfolk (1.5 hours) and park the car.

1st Note: don't use the recommended cruise parking lot - it's a long ways off and expensive, while there are parking ramps right nearby! If you do use the cruiseport parking, the shuttle is a long haul (they wait until they are loaded up before they leave and return). We wound up taking a cab to the lot after disembarking. Also note that the majority of cruise passengers live close by, so upon disembarkation, the port is crowded with people trying to get to the parking lot! If you use cruise parking lot, best bet is to drop your luggage off first and then go to the lot before embarkation.

Embarkation was fairly smooth and we were on the ship by 1 PM, but debarkation was a nightmare. Most everyone (because they are from close by) chooses to take their luggage with them off the ship, and they are called first, but by deck number. For some reason, Customs took a long time to clear the ship, and they didn't even start disembarking until 9 AM - and then they were so SLOW. It was a very cumbersome process - not as smooth as most cruises we've been on.

Ports were great - super shopping in Nassau and we took a bottom fishing excursion in Freeport (fun fun fun)! BUT be advised that May is the start of the rainy season in the Bahamas. We were lucky to have only one rainy day in Nassau (unfortunately had to miss our Safari Jeep Excursion, so we shopped instead). But the cruise right after ours was not so fortunate. They hit a tropical storm and rain the whole trip. Always bring umbrellas and rain ponchos!

Notes on the cabin choice: We wanted to try an aft extended balcony cabin (specifically #7446), and the large balcony was very nice to have. BUT we were two decks below the Lido buffet and 3 decks above the restaurant, so around 11 PM - 12 AM we got an awful oily, greasy, smell in our cabin coming through the A/C ducts. They responded very quickly to our complaint, however (sent crew up to verify and ultimately gave us some cabin credit). Other folks in cabins close to ours experienced the same problem, but did not complain; therefore, they suffered through it with no compensation. Our advice: if you are unhappy with something, complain about it! It took a bit of work/time on our part, but once we spoke to the Manager of Operations, something was done for us! Make sure your cabin is not directly above or below food sources.

The cabin itself was roomy, with lots of storage space, especially in the bathroom, which is imperative! We just asked for extra hangers and our steward brought them right away.

This ship offers “anytime dining”, and because we love this type of casual cruising (our favorite line of the ones we’ve sailed is Norwegian, for that reason), we signed up for it. We didn’t really have to wait too long for our meals, but there were times when the lines were long. Of 2 large dining rooms, 2 floors each, only one floor of one dining room (25% of space) is set aside for anytime dining passengers. This is really not enough. On Celebrity, they have this option, but you can eat in any dining room you choose. ALSO, on the subject of dining: this ship appears to schedule its dining room hours at their convenience (make sure you always check the daily bulletin for the next day’s dining room hours - they CHANGE, especially on port days)!

Restaurants: This ship has the most unbelievable Delicatessen; we ate there a number of times! We loved it, as well as the sushi bar and burrito bar (ALL FREE)!

We had made a reservation at the Steakhouse, but after looking at the menu, we cancelled it. It cost $30 per person, and it just wasn’t worth it. They have HUGE steaks (18 oz., you’ve got to be kidding), lobster tail, lamb chops, etc. (but we got lobster and prime rib in the dining room). They appear to favor Quantity over Quality choices!

A note to Carnival: Add the in-room TV movie times to the bulletin. We had to call the Front Desk to find out when they played. Not a big deal, but a minor annoyance.

We would do this cruise again, just to get away for a week without any major travel hassle (so nice not to have to check baggage and be at the whim of an airline)!

We are just very sorry that the other cruise lines left Norfolk to go up to Baltimore. But we’ll try one out of there soon!

Excursions: Because of rain all day, our excusion (Jeep Safari) got cancelled. So we wound up going back to the ship early. We were in Nassau two days (we understand that this cruise is going to decrease by one night in 2013, so will only be in Nassau one day). We spent the next day shopping, which is fantastic. Great jewelry buys (don't be afraid to negotiate and/or walk away if the price is too high - there is a huge markup!). We found an Internet Cafe and checked our email (we don't pay the exorbitant Internet prices on the ship, because the speed is extremely slow). We also found a good restaurant (there are many) for lunch.

We had the perfect day - not too hot and a bit overcast, so the sun wasn't beating down on us. The fishing expedition was so much fun! We all caught at least one fish (small ones, unfortunately, but fun just the same). The Captain and Crew were great and very patient with those of us who had never done this before. It was just a great day out on the water (covered boat, so didn't have to worry about sprinkles/rain). We would definitely recommend this excursion.


Beanbagfrog saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 11
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 22
Horrible buffet, September 19, 2011
Reviewer: Beanbagfrog

Pros: Entertainment was fair; magician and comics were very good.

Cons: Absolutely the worst food I've ever eaten on a buffet.

Date of cruise: September 5, 2011

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 1248

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

Old ship, outdated design, most shows and entertainment marginal; one show and comics very good.

Dining room food ICE COLD and just fair in quality; we had the dine as you like plan, come between 5:30 and 9:30; what they don't say is you wait for an hour, half an hour to get to the hostess, who then gives you a beeper, like Applebee's and you wait another half hour for it to go off; then she seats us in the back, next to the kitchen entrance. We got there at 5 p.m. and waited one night just to get a decent seat, and I had to ask for a nice seat as she was going to stick us right back there, even though the place was EMPTY.

Buffet food was disgusting, cold, flavorless and the cheapest quality they could find. It made Sizzler look like four-star restaurant. Room service was just sandwiches and cold breakfast items. We ordered cereal and got a container of spoiled milk and melon which had turned; had to spit it out in the toilet!!!

I would stay as far away from this ship as possible. It was our first cruise, and it was awful.

It went to St. John, NB, and Halifax. Don't bother getting off the ship in St. John. W paid $43.50 each for the 'pink bus' and it was a 60-year-old double decker with hard uncomfortable seats, exhaust fumes spilling back inside, even on the lower level. The guide pointed out the marigolds on the main road planted by the high school kids and someone's house which was having aluminum siding installed. There is nothing there to see but the reversing falls, and we missed that because it only happens twice a day. Otherwise, a very depressed town.

We didn't even bother getting off in Hallfax, it didn't look much different from the previous port.

The ship was packed; they must have overbooked, allowing extra people per cabin. We asked how many passengers were on board, and were told 3,100, which is more than what this site says is the max passengers for this ship.

This ship isn't worth whatever deal you may get.


MaryErvin46 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 22
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Pleasant surprise with the Carnival Glory, June 12, 2011
Reviewer: MaryErvin46

Pros: The crew was fantastic, cruise director and staff was excellent, good times!

Cons: Not really enough activities for different tastes, too many pool deck activities

Date of cruise: May 29, 2011

Departure port: Norfolk Virginia

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 2285

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We embarked at Norfolk, Va. Great place to leave from, nice hotels within walking distance of the ship! Can really save money parking at the hotels.

The Glory was in great shape for an older ship, the crew were always cleaning and sprucing up all over the ship. All were friendly and helpful, and always had a smile.

It's best to book shore excursions early as possible as the good ones sell out very quickly and there are only a limited amount to choose from!

The dining room food was good, not great, but had something available for most tastes. Tip, the red sail buffet, always had the same menu as the restaurants, so you didn't have to wait as long for your meal. So if you want to catch a show, it's best to choose the buffet.

They also had several other choices for food. The Mongolian Wok was the best place to eat on the ship! You choose your own ingredients and they prepare them for you! Also the sandwich station was excellent! They were also prepared to your order and served hot or cold, with several choices of side items. The fish and chips bar was also good, as was the burrito bar.

The Justin Illusion show was excellent, the other shows were just okay, the ones with the cruise ship performers was okay, but beware if you have children! The female dancers were wearing thong bottoms that left NOTHING to the imagination. The best shows are the game shows that the audience participates in, they were the funniest!

Our cabin was number 2285, it was really well laid out with a good-sized window. It had plenty of closet and storage space, and the largest luggage fit well under the bed. The beds themselves were very comfortable and had night tables with lamps. Make sure that you take a clock with you, as the room does not have one, but if you need a wake up call you can get one from the phone.

The bathroom was typically small, but had shelves on both sides of the mirror for your toiletries. They also had a nice welcome dish in the bathroom with nice razors for men and women, body wash, toothpaste and body soap. The shower itself has bodywash and shampoo. Each cabin has two really nice terrycloth robes to use while you are there.

Our first stop was Half Moon Cay. The horseback ride was amazing, both on the beach and in the water. You will love it if you like horses, and the guides were very good and friendly and matched you with horses that fit your skill level. Photographers took great pictures of you on the beach and in the water.

We also did the Historic Nature Walk, it was good, the guide was really knowlegable and pointed out various trees and bushes that were used to make teas and medicines. The buffet was good and there was great beach time fun to be had. Several small shops had souvenirs that were reasonably priced.

Next stop was Freeport, Nassau, The Bahamas. The western heritage tour is the best. Chad and his helper were the best guides ever, they taught us great history of the island and took us to some amazing places to see. The beach was great and the snorkeling part of the tour was the best. It was a five-hour tour that sells out really quickly so you had better book it online if you have the chance.

Several small shops around the port area right outside the ship, pretty expensive stuff for what you get, so be careful. You can get better prices on the ship in the shops.

The sea days were very relaxing and they had great round lounge chairs on the front end of the ship; it was the adults-only area, with plenty of lounge chairs and seating, it was quiet and peaceful.

The poolside deck was always noisy with lots of music and stuff going on, so if you like it that way, you will love this area!

Debarkation is MUCH EASIER if you take your own luggage off. We were off the ship in less than 30 minutes! You roll your own luggage off, and away you go!

Don't overpack, trust me, you don't need it all! They have two cruise elegant nights and all you need is two nice dresses or pantsuits. Then men don't need suits unless desired, polo shirts and slacks or khakis are fine, But if you want great photos, dress up! The photographers take excellent pictures of every pose imaginable and you are not obligated to buy any of them, but you will! All the other nights are cruise casual nights with most people wearing capris or sundresses and jeans and slacks for men.

Overall the value was good for the money, I would definitely cruise with Carnival again. You can also bring two 12-packs of soda, or water (no alcohol!) with you in your CARRY ON bag, Each cabin has a refrigerator with soda, beers, and water, and small bottles of alcohol, but beware the high prices!


Hollouise saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Amazing cruise for past cruiser with first cruise toddler!, August 25, 2010
Reviewer: Hollouise

Pros: Our steward! Pitu was amazing by anticipating our needs with a toddler!

Cons: The shows at night weren't as good as the past cruises

Date of cruise: July 12, 2010

Departure port: New York, NY

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7414

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

My husband and I are past cruisers on Carnival. This was our first cruise with our toddler son who was 16 months old. We also traveled with my mother and father-in law, sister-in-law and uncle-in-law, who were first time cruisers.

From the first 15 minutes on the ship, our steward Pitu was absolutely amazing. He moved some furniture out of our cabin so the pack-and-play for my son fit easily. He opened up the balcony dividers so all of our cabins connected. He also made sure he stopped by an extra time in our room to remove any diapers. The room was always kept really clean.

The waitstaff in the dining room (we had the 6 p.m. seating) were also attentive to my son and his needs. They got him bread immediately and made sure he got food rather quickly and didn't have to wait for appetizers to be served. They also played peek a boo with him to keep entertained also.

The hallways were spotless. There were always staff in the hallways cleaning the floors, walls and ceilings.

The one downfall I have about the buffet area is that you cannot move tables together. So when you have a larger group, you either eat separately, or try to find tables close by.

Overall, I loved the Carnival Glory and it's staff. Our cruise director, Jorge (who we cruised with in the past) did not disappoint! He was as funny as ever with his Ship on a Stick trophy!

I would actually try to find a ship with Jorge as the director again!


aparsons saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Location of cabin and dining room staff/food clinched the experience, July 31, 2010
Reviewer: aparsons

Pros: Stateroom and dining room staff and quality of dining room food

Cons: A tad too focused on upselling rather than maintaining excellent service

Date of cruise: July 22, 2010

Departure port: New York

Region visited: Canada/New England

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9287 and 9289

We'd just finished another seven-day cruise from Montreal to Boston one week earlier before boarding the Carnival Glory in New York for a quick three-day, four-night, visit back up the coast to Saint John, NB.

Coming from a smaller Holland America ship to this one took a little getting used to although we'd booked two great verandah cabins (9287 and 9289) on Deck 9 (Lido) RHS. Cabins were roomy and only a 10-second walk to the main Lido deck and facilities through a mostly unused walkway.

We had a late seating (8:15p.m.) The service was just incredible - timely, personal and professional with a team of three to help the family to enjoy the experience. The food was amazingly well cooked, tasty and with a high level of presentation. Five-star quality in my opinion. Coming back to the same four-seat table (414) meant no queues each night unlike other cruise lines. Soda cards worked well at $4 USD each child per day (plus taxes etc).

Good choice of wines in the high $20-35 per bottle region which we thought was reasonable altough we also openly brought a bottle on board with us for our verandah afternoons. You could get a $95 USD collection of five bottles as a package if you wanted. Lots of good live music and entertainment suiting a range of tastes. Getting a chair was often difficult with around 3,600 on board so we tended to use them when available or chill on our verandah or at events when not.

The ship showed no real swaying movement for the entire journey although you could feel more engine vibrations the lower the floor you were on. In-cabin dining for breakfast was convenient although things were missed and coffee was generally cold upon arrival. We started with basics to get us going and then went to the Lido for a more hearty breakfast after. Queues were often long so adjusting your eating times can pay off.

Getting to our assigned dining room in the back of the ship was a little tricky and required a walk through the extensive casino area and then down a few back flights of stairs.

Embarkation and disembarkation was extremely well handled and meant an easy start/finish to an overall good experience. Wide diversity in staff origins (57 countries) so that was also great to experience. Would personally sail on this ship again although my wife prefers the intimacy of the smaller Holland America ships and layouts.

Our two young teenage sons were unfortunately just too young for the 15+ o2 club and a little old for the younger 8-12 club so didn't get to maximize the benefits of meeting others. But being only three days, it didn't much matter in the end.

Onboard shopping was in the main reasonably priced although you need to know your local prices for things like watches, etc., before making impulse puchases.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!