CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Cruise Ship Reviews : Royal Caribbean International (RCL) Reviews

RCL Allure of the Seas reviews


RCL Allure of the Seas reviews

Average customer rating:
     4.17 / 5

Average Rating based on 17 Reviews:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 3.713.71
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 4.004.00
EntertainmentEntertainment = 4.354.35
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 4.074.07
Food QualityFood Quality = 4.064.06
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 4.354.35
SpaSpa = 4.224.22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 3.923.92
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 4.814.81




RCL Allure of the Seas itineraries and information



MAMM saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 22
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
RCI has cut budget, raised stock price, lost value to consumer., January 7, 2017
Reviewer: MAMM

Pros: Great staff who tried hard to make up for all RCI took away!

Cons: Quality of food everywhere was disgusting. Not the A+ line it was 5 yrs ago.

Date of cruise: December 23, 2016

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Suite

Good for children: No

Good for teenagers: No

It sums it up when we did not speak to one person on cruise that would take it again. The bedding looks like they purchased it from good will store. The food experiences were awful, even speciality restaurant food was terrible quality. We got food poisoning, had the worst filet ever, with a $49 upcharge!

They cut out chocolates on your pillow, advertise upgraded bath products and only had generic, said they do not have anymore. We paid for a suite with expectations of getting what they advertised! Room steward said they cut everything, no bags, no treats, cards, pens, paper, generic coffee, use non dairy creamer, no half and half, no berries, all costs were cut.

We paid $17 for a glass of Kim Crawford wine. We can buy a bottle for $13. Popcorn at the movie -- that will be $2.50, ice cream --that will be $5. After paying $10,000 for a room, I would think they could still give out a bag of popcorn with the movie.

Activities were cut, we were bored there was so little to do. Oh yes, play bingo at their best deal of $49? No, thank you. We will sail on other ships. We are diamond members of RCI so not inexperienced, just very disappointed.


Clrg saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
SpaSpa = 33
Very disappointed, December 25, 2016
Reviewer: Clrg

Pros: No pros at this time

Cons: Bad quality for the price we paid

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8206

At this moment I am on the Allure of the Seas, the same boat I traveled 3 years ago. I am very disappointed. My first experience was to ask 4 times to the person who was serving me my salad to give me more mozzarella cheese and even then, I only get 5 balls. I clarify that I am not obese, nor opted for or going on a cruise to eat nonstop.

Then my cabin was dirty, no ventilation and with the mattress overdue, luckily came a supervisor and moved us for a slightly better mattress. In the bathroom there were only a few soaps, only if the passenger asks, they can give you shampoo, conditioner or shower gel, our cabin attendant told us that they had changed the policy to reduce expenses.

In my previous trips have always received a gift in the room for being a gold member, that does not exist anymore. And the most incredible thing is that at this moment is starting Christmas and there has not been a single celebration, not even at dinner. On my previous trip I felt treated like a first-class passenger, now we have paid much more expensive, of course this is because it is a special date, and the service is 5 times slower. The exception is the restaurant where we are perfectly catered for. If I could choose, I would ask for my money back and I would return home.

Spanish
En este momento estoy en el Allure of the seas. El mismo barco en el que viajé hace 3 años. Estoy muy decepcionada, en esta oportunidad, mi primera experiencia fue pedirle 4 veces a la persona que me estaba sirviendo mi ensalada que me de más queso mozzarella y aun así, solo logre que me de 5 bolitas, aclaro que no soy obesa, ni optó por ir a un crucero para comer sin parar. Luego mi camarote estaba sucio, sin ventilar y con el colchón vencido, por suerte vino un supervisor y nos cambiaron por un colchón un poco mejor. En el baño no había más que unos pocos jabones, solo si uno pide, te pueden dar shampoo, Conditioner, el asistente de nuestro camarote nos dijo que habían cambiado la política para reducir gastos. En mis viajes anteriores siempre me han recibido con algún regalo en la habitación por ser gold member, eso tampoco existe más. Y lo más increíble es que en este momento esta comenzando navidad y no ha habido ni un solo festejo, ni siquiera en la cena. En mi viaje anterior me sentí tratada como un pasajero de primera clase, ahora hemos pagado mucho más caro, claro esta que porque es una fecha especial, y el servicio es 5 veces inferior. La excepción es el restaurante en el que estamos perfectamente atendidos. Si pudiese elegir, pediría que me devuelvan mi dinero y volvería mi casa


aegrieb saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
We loved the Allure of the Seas, we had our 4 children (12,14,17,19) with us!, August 19, 2016
Reviewer: aegrieb

Pros: The promenade night life activity and the shows were fabulous and professional!

Cons: Several maintenance issues going on around the ship.

Date of cruise: July 31, 2016

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 9711/9713

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We had a wonderful experience aboard the Allure of the Seas. My husband and I along with our 4 children (12,14,17,19), mother-in-law and sister and brother-in-law took this adventure together.

The ship was as incredible as we imagined. The reviews that state that even though the ship has a capacity of 8,000 (which includes staff) you never felt overcrowded were right on! You can choose to be as busy as you want or as lazy as you want. We had people in our group who did both and it was awesome that they could without holding someone back from what they really wanted to get out of the trip.

We did the early dining (6 p.m.), which we had never done while cruising before and we loved it! It left so much more of the evening to explore and take advantage of all the the ship has to offer when the sun goes down. Every venue offers something different and we experienced it all from jazz, karaoke, piano singer, champagne bar, acoustic guitar playing to name a few!

It definitely was a pricier trip for us this time but we are so glad we did and got the opportunity to experience it. The only tough part will be to have to settle for less "extravagant" next time we travel but who knows maybe we will win the lottery....lol!

To all those that are booked on this ship.....enjoy every minute of it! A week goes way too fast!


Pr050655 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 11
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 22
EntertainmentEntertainment = 11
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 22
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
Boring experience., May 15, 2016
Reviewer: Pr050655

Pros: Ice show a plus. Giovanni's restaurant a good choice

Cons: FOOD

Date of cruise: May 8, 2016

Departure port: Fort lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Southern

Cabin category: Outside

Cabin number: 3246

This was my ninth cruise, second on RC. No more RC cruises. Food was awful and boring in Windjammer. Same foods throughout entire cruise on all menus.

Cruise director needs to find enjoyable daily activities. Very boring cruise. Entertainment was ok. Those with food allergies stay away because Ben and Jerry's using the same scooper for all ice creams and puts in the same water cup to take bar off, free desserts are all made on same machines and we couldn't verify if made with peanut oil or not.

Our room was kept clean.

Silk dining room staff were friendly and outgoing.

Foods never came out together. My guest was eating while my dinner came out at a later time.

This cruise seemed very short-staffed.

Had to go get my own drinks as servers were seldom visible.

Same activities every day, sometimes twice a day. Nothing interesting.

Always someone trying to sell merchandise. Ship is huge, takes awhile to find the quiet, relaxing areas. Solarium is one for sure, though

Not a favorable experience but enjoyed the company of my friend.

Overall, very disappointing experience.


aaronryan saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Beautiful ship, March 27, 2015
Reviewer: aaronryan

Pros: Cleanliness of the ship and public restrooms

Cons: Having to make reservations for everything (shows, dinner, etc)

Date of cruise: March 15, 2015

Departure port: Port Everglades

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 8160

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Our family of six went on this cruise. We stayed in three separate rooms. All of us had great experiences as far as our staterooms are concerned. My husband and I stayed in a balcony room and we NEVER heard our neighbors on either side until the last morning. Their door kept opening and closing over and over again. There seems to be some really good soundproofing in these rooms.

Both my sons stayed in interior rooms (on the 8th floor and on the 11th floor). The son on the 8th floor stayed in room 8116 and he reported the bathroom door would occasionally swing open from time to time if the ship rocked. However the rest of us did not have this problem. You could feel the ship swaying the two days we were at sea but it was VERY minor. We have been on other cruise ships and this was nothing.

All of our rooms had the air conditioning on HIGH all the time. It was comfortable but never seemed cold enough. Some of the rooms on the ship seemed a bit warm. It could have used more AC.

Our highlights on this ship: It is a very beautiful ship. I would recommend walking around the entire ship and checking out every space available. It is breathtaking. We ate as a family every night in the dining room and we had to make reservations EVERY night to ensure our "favorite" table. Our waiter we called "Cereal" because his named is pronounced that way. Please don't ask me how to spell it. He was outstanding which is why we went back every night except for night two (we ate at Giovanni's).

This also was a fantastic experience. We had reservations at Chop's Table but the dining room offered steak and lobster so we stayed there. Saved us $240. My husband and I stopped in at the Mexican place "Rita's" and paid an extra $3 for guacamole and chips and salsa. It was good but nothing to write home about. Our service was incredibly slow at the time we went. We also ate breakfast mostly in the dining room. We got superb service every time.

We also ate at the Windjammer a few times, and at Johnny Rockets (an additional fee except for breakfast). The Park Cafe had delicious salads, fresh sandwiches, and small desserts; a good place to grab a bite to eat.

As far as ports of call: I wish we were in the Bahamas longer. We barely had time to do anything. Our best excursion was swimming with the dolphins at the St. Maarten stop. The only downside to this was they put too many people on the boat to Anguilla and the included lunch on the island of Anguilla was horrible. Very horrible. But the time spent with the dolphin was magical. We got to swim with them, ride on their fins, kiss them, and lastly got pushed by them on a boogie board. The private beach for swimming after was quiet, clean and beautiful.

On the island of St. Thomas check out Secret Harbor. You will not be disappointed. A very beautiful beach with a bar/ restaurant and clean bathroom facilities.

The only real complaint I have regarding this ship is the extra charge for almost everything. Having to pay $3 for popcorn while playing bingo is absurd. We spent a minimum of $64 every time we played bingo (which was four times) and they can't give out free popcorn to the players??? I thought this was ridiculous. Also, having to make reservations for shows was a disappointment. On our other cruises we walked right in to the show we wanted to see. Needless to say we did not get a chance to do everything on this ship we wanted to.

The casino was nice and large and had everything a casino should have. Half the casino is smoke free. All in all this vacation was extremely enjoyable and the staff and crew on the Allure of the Seas makes every effort to make it a happy and memorable one for everyone.


DeedeeG saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 33
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 33
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 44
When it comes to entertainment, no one does it better than RCCL's Allure, January 11, 2015
Reviewer: DeedeeG

Pros: The shows are top-notch and worth scheduling your day around them

Cons: The MDR food is adequate but not an emphasis on this ship

Date of cruise: May 1, 2014

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

What’s the Allure of the world’s largest ship? In a word, entertainment. Of the four cruise lines I’ve sailed with, no one does it better than Royal Caribbean.

The fare served up on the stages of Allure of the Seas is a refreshing departure from the usual shipboard shows and are worth the effort of scheduling your trip around them.

Allure’s full production of the musical “Chicago” was great fun, and the voices were strong and clear. How neat is that -—a Broadway-quality show for free! And if you get to the theater super early, you can even get the best seats in the house.

Then there was “Ocean Aria,” a diving and acrobatic show that’s so compelling you won’t want to take your eyes away for a second. Adonis-like acrobat brothers wrap their bodies around each other in poses where you can’t tell where one body ends and the other begins. Divers from 90 ft. high fly into the air and amazingly, land gracefully and securely into the Allure’s tiny theater pool.

Inside the ship, on the ice rink, professional skaters -— one a veteran of “Disney on Ice” — twirl, jump, spin and lift, while on a moving vessel, no less. The “Monopoly” theme lent itself well to playful and colorful sets and costumes.

The singers from “Chicago” re-emerged in “Blue Planet” which had everything thrown in -— acrobatics, singing and dancing —- all in a celebration of nature. I won’t give it all away, but it included a trampoline, large rings and a human tree.

This comes on top of onboard surfing, ice skating, zip-lining, rock climbing and miniature golf. And then there are the three “neighborhoods;” their personalities ebbing and flowing by the hour. There’s the Promenade, the hub of the ship and venue for parades, dance classes and the best people-watching; Boardwalk, where you can ride a full-size carousel over and over again for free or eat foot-high pink cotton candy for a cost; and Central Park, an oasis of real foliage and fake bird sounds.

Exciting, yes. But it does steal the show from the real leading lady -— the mysterious, fascinating and ever-changing sea.

Not as Alluring
The Allure’s weak spot is the food. Some dinner dishes in the Main Dining Room were good (memorable was the shrimp on Italian-theme night), others were disappointing (Chicken Marsala was rendered as fried chicken with a nearly invisible sauce).

But what we noticed — and missed — was the absence of beef choices, particularly compared to competing cruise lines.

We found that among the free dining options, the Windjammer buffet was often the best choice. Not only did it have a wider variety (shrimp crackers, anyone?), but some standout spicy Asian choices. It was a nice break from the usually bland and unimaginative dining room dishes.

Aside from the food, the other area where the ship doesn’t compare well to, say, the Caribbean Princess, is the staterooms. While okay on size, the Allure’s cabins offered less in the way of storage space. The closets are tight and night tables have open slots, which make them minimally useful.

Another downside is that the balcony chairs don’t recline, which makes seaside napping a challenge (but nothing that a glass of wine can’t cure!).

The Bottom Line
But, hey, you can’t be good at everything.

This may seem heretical, given all that the Allure and Oasis have going for them, but I wouldn’t recommend these ships for first-time cruisers. Because you’ll be permanently spoiled, and forever searching for the carousel and ice skating rink on every other ship. - Musing About Cruising, http://musingaboutcruising.blogspot.com


shadow45 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Amazing organization allows for handling 6000+ passengers with tremendous ease!!, January 9, 2015
Reviewer: shadow45

Pros: Entertainment, service, organization exceptional

Cons: The food was not the best. I have been on 42 cruises - this was just "average".

Date of cruise: December 28, 2014

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Mediterranean

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 11446

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

I was worried about long lines on a ship with 6000+ passengers. However, there were NO lines at all - except for reboarding in Cozumel (because another RCCL ship was reboarding at the same time) and with disembarkation. Yet, it went smoothly. The ship is SO well organized - everything is easy to find.

Entertainment is superb, activities are great. Plenty of dining options. Of the 42 cruises I have taken, the experience ranked at the top. I was somewhat disappointed in the food - but the service was outstanding. We went at the most expensive time of the year - the week of celebrating New Year's eve (2014-2015). However, at other times of the year, it is well worth the price.


mksipley saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Amazing ship, Vegas quality shows, outstanding food, April 11, 2014
Reviewer: mksipley

Pros: Amazing

Cons: Poor Wi-Fi service that costs too much money

Date of cruise: March 3, 2014

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 14-0629

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Can't say enough about this ship. It was beyond expectations. Excursions were great. Would be good if we could stay longer in the ports though.


GBarker saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Royal delivers the WOW on their Oasis-class ships, January 26, 2014
Reviewer: GBarker

Pros: Lots of great dining options; zip line and surfing; have you seen Central Park?

Cons: Don't expect an intimate experience and prepare for lots of walking

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Big is the word for Allure of the Seas. Big in size, big in fun, big entertainment choices and dazzling in almost every way. It really is unlike other ship at sea. And even though you are sharing the space with almost 8,000 other passengers, you can still find those out of the way places to enjoy a cocktail and watch the sunset on the ocean. Bring some comfortable walking shoes and spend some time with the electronic monitors learning your way around. It's a lot of "WOW" for the money.


Michelle C saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Just a great all around ship with lots to do, January 23, 2014
Reviewer: Michelle C

Pros: Spa is amazing, and specialty restaurants are great

Cons: Maybe more ocean view rooms

Date of cruise: February 14, 2013

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale, FL

Region visited: Bahamas

Cabin category: Balcony

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Such a great ship - you never really feel like you are with all 5000 people because of the unique way they have the flow of the ship - love the entertainment, and spa area the best and the adults Solarium area is great. Of course the Central Park area for food is my favorite.


cscc1 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 33
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Nice experience, would go again., January 23, 2014
Reviewer: cscc1

Pros: Entertainment good, lots of stuff to do.

Cons: Pools always crowded, a lot of people, must book entertainment before boarding.

Departure port: Ft Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Had a great time. Mixed feelings about larger ship. Nice for all the activities but too many people. Lido buffet always packed.


Pkrplyraa saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Loved every minute! From the moment we checked in until we had to leave., January 12, 2014
Reviewer: Pkrplyraa

Pros: So many different areas of the ship offer something for everyone at any time.

Cons: With so many extra dining choices we had no dinner company in main dining.

Date of cruise: December 29, 2013

Departure port: FT Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 9531

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

We have been on the Oasis three times and now the Allure. We found the experience very similar. This time we had an inside cabin, typically we go for an oceanview, decks 8 or 9, midship because the square footage of the cabin does not include the area directly under the angled window overlooking the helipad.

This time we booked last minute for the New Year's sailing and our anniversary. The cost of the holiday cruise was more than our usual and we rarely do more than sleep, dress and shower in the room anyway so we booked cheap.

We were not disappointed at all. The room was great! Just right for us. We slept late every day! We will be keeping that in mind when we book our next cruise to relax for sure.

My favorite part of the cruise is taking time to have my afternoon snack at Vintages. I have eating issues and large quantities of food are not my thing. I enjoyed spending a hour or so just trying the wine flights and having a tapa all alone while my husband took his nap. The waiter on this sailing was exceptional. Knowledgable and very enthusiastic. I hope to see him again.

Our typical day consists of enjoying the solarium, hot tubs and adult area. Then dressing for dinner which we usually enjoy in the main dining room. We like to enjoy dinner with other new people but it appeared to be quite empty in our area each night. The dining staff was great. After a couple nights they recognized my eating habits and adjusted accordingly without my having said a word. I liked that and found it personal.

We ate dinner at 150 Central Park for our last night of the cruise. Our first time. The dinner was to die for in my opinion. Three hours and we never once realized we had been there that long. The waiter was wonderful. I just wish he spoke a little slower. I had to ask him to repeat himself a couple times, not because of the accent but because of his speed of speech. But his knowledge and suggestions were enough to make me overlook that. It was actually the best dinner I have had in years! I would definitely do it again. I've eaten at Chops on the Oasis a couple times and found that venue to be excellent. If there is another rating above excellent, then 150 Central Park gets it!

After dinner (or before) depending on timing we typically go do some trivia which is always fun. Great way to meet new people.
After dinner we enjoy the entertainment. We saw Chicago which was great and the comedy show which had me laughing for quite a while. Two of the nights we enjoyed karaoke. I enjoy this at home and thought I'd have some fun. I was not disappointed. People are happy and having fun, what could be better!

My husband and I are big poker players so we skip on down to the casino and play the tournaments and sometimes the small cash games. The staff is great! I think it would be nice if they had more sit and go tournaments during the day and/or early evenings. The demand for poker is bigger than the casino takes into account. If there are not enough players then they could easily give the option to push off to the next one. Just my opinion. My husband won the free cruise for the second time. Once on the Oasis and once on the Allure, so we cant complain too much. We even tried the slot and black jack tournaments too! No luck there...this time.

After the Casino we tend to go to the cigar bar on the 17th floor or at the Solarium bar depending on where it happens to be that night. We meet the best people there. We could spend hours just talking to people while the men indulge in cigars. I had an impromptu singing match with a lovely Italian man who sang like an angel.

The only improvements I would like to see on this ship are the following: The dining rooms are noisy, It would not take much to install sound limiting drapes or walls to minimize the noise. It's very distracting no matter where you are seated.
The buffet is noisy and crowded. While there is a definite attempt to minimize the negative of this, there needs to be more improvement. I saw children touching and leaving with no staff noticing. There could be improvement in this area. We usually don't eat in the buffet but because we slept so late in the great room we had to.

We will definitely be booking on this ship and/or the Oasis in the future. It's our favorite Royal Caribbean ship for sure.
Cheers
Donna


charlyclown saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 44
EntertainmentEntertainment = 44
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Our stay was nice and relaxing., August 17, 2012
Reviewer: charlyclown

Pros: Size of ship

Cons: Too many specialty restaurants, sauna/steam room for a fee

Date of cruise: August 5, 2012

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 12579

Good for children: Yes

Nice ship, but too many extra-for-a-fee services. Ice cream at the pools often out of work/closed. The pool deck gets deserted at night/people party/shop inside. Nice for little kids as they have sprinklers but maybe not for older.

The Windjammer Marketplace (buffet) is too small for a 6,300-passenger ship and they keep reminding you to vacate your spot once you are done eating which was annoying and somewhat rude. I enjoy having a relaxing, slow breakfast.

The gym was a bit too small, sauna costs extra. Too hard pushing drinks. My 7 year-old-was offered Coke and juice and the waiter almost gave it to him had I not noticed that. No sushi in buffet but have a specialty restaurant for that. Overall, cruise was fine but not great.


larrydob saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 22
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 33
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 44
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 11
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
A great one time experience., June 1, 2012
Reviewer: larrydob

Pros: An engineering marvel, a must see for any cruise ship lover.

Cons: All those balconies, large or small, and no lounge chairs or foot stools.

Date of cruise: May 20, 2012

Departure port: Fort Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7204

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

The Allure of the Seas is one fantastic piece of engineering.

As a very frequent cruiser (15 cruise lines and more then 60 cruisers) it is well worth the experience. The absolutely best cruise staff we have ever experienced, no complaints about the people. For a frequent premium cruise line client (mostly on Celebrity) there are many shortcomings on the Allure.

You must make sure you reserve all your shows and dinners very early, two months before sailing, or you may not get to experience the event. Storage space is very limited, bathroom is tiny even in the most expensive balcony cabins. If you are over 220 lbs. better book a suite.

The entertainment is excellent but reservations are a necessity, you may get in the standby line but never get in to see the show.

The main dining room food and service is very good but the noise level is oppressive. They would have been wise to not have had the floor openings between the three levels.

We are happy we cruised on the Allure of the Seas but one week is enough and we are looking forward to getting back on one of the ships of the sister line Celebrity.

Happy cruising.

Larry


krafty310 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 55
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 55
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
SpaSpa = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Best family vacation we ever had, from top to bottom -- will do it again, June 25, 2011
Reviewer: krafty310

Pros: Staff and entertainment, food and overall experience was great

Cons: Not one complaint from us!

Date of cruise: June 12, 2011

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Inside

Cabin number: 12153

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

From the minute we stepped onto the Allure of the Seas it was clear this was going to be an amazing adventure. Having never cruised before, this was definitely the way to start!

Overwhelmed by the shops and restaurants on the Promenade deck we headed to our cabin to check it out. Our cabin was small but clean and cozy and our stateroom attendant was as nice and helpful as could be. Located neat the elevators, we never had to go far to get to a restaurant or club -- of which there are so many to choose from.

We'll have to take this cruise again just to get to eat in all the restaurants. We did enjoy the Samba Grill and Chops Grille. The $17 glass of wine was a bit of a shock but the dinner made up for it. The main dining room was excellent as well. Our waiter got to know us quickly and service was impeccable and the food was delicious and plentiful.

Poolside, cocktails were as readily available as the steel drum band is enjoyable. It was really nice having a kids area (since I don't have small kids) and didn't have to bother with that.
Our older children had plenty to do day and night.

The ports were nice although the stop in Nassau, Bahamas, was short and the beach was very far. We didn't really get to do much as our time was so limited. However, spending the day in either St. Thomas or St. Maarten was relaxing and enjoyable.
Overall, it was a wonderful vacation and we will surely do it again.


hbpike65 saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Food QualityFood Quality = 44
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
Spectacular, wonderful, exceeded expectations, professional and overwhelming, June 4, 2011
Reviewer: hbpike65

Pros: Entertainment superb, venues for physically challenged very accomodating

Cons: Ever having to get off the ship. Tight squeeze at foot of bed in balcony cabin

Date of cruise: May 22, 2011

Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale

Region visited: Caribbean - Western

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7160

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

Unbelievable experience. Whenever an issue arose it was handled immediately and resolved to our satisfaction. Everyone's attitude was - what can we do to make you happy - and they did it and they followed up to see that we were very satisfied.

We couldn't possibly do everything that was available aboard. Could have used a cab to get from one end of ship to other - it is HUGE and beautiful. Appreciated the assistance for those of us who move a little slower with wheelchairs at dockside to get to the end of the piers. Loved the energy shown by the cruise staff. RCL has done it right with this ship and should be very proud of her and her complement.


WVSpelunker saw things this way:
Value For MoneyValue For Money = 44
Cabin DesignCabin Design = 33
EntertainmentEntertainment = 55
Fitness CenterFitness Center = 44
Food QualityFood Quality = 55
Ship MaintenanceShip Maintenance = 55
Specialty RestaurantSpecialty Restaurant = 55
Staff and ServiceStaff and Service = 55
RCI really delivered the WOW for this experience!, May 28, 2011
Reviewer: WVSpelunker

Pros: Staff always used names, very efficient, always something to do

Cons: Sometimes disconnected from the ocean, reservations filled up quickly

Date of cruise: May 15, 2011

Departure port: Port Everglades, FLL

Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern

Cabin category: Balcony

Cabin number: 7302

Good for children: Yes

Good for teenagers: Yes

This was my wife's and my second cruise and we decided to splurge a little bit. The shock of the price lasted until the cruise as we did not expect to get our money's worth but we wanted to say we had been on the largest cruise ship. Plus, this cruise was going to be a second honeymoon for us as I had been working hard and going to school which did not allow us to see each other that much.

Our first cruise was our actual honeymoon with Carnival on the Spirit in Alaska two years ago. Guessing that these two cruises could be compared, we walked into Port Everglades anticipating the worst as 5,800 other passengers could be checking in.

Having stayed less than a block away from the port, we took the hotel shuttle and were dropped off in under 10 minutes. RCL suggested not getting to the port until 2, but the shuttle dropped us off around 11:15 a.m. and they were already boarding. There were TONS of police and security to keep the traffic moving and the flow of people constant. After double checking the tags on our bags, we headed inside fearing the dreaded check-in process that was a nightmare in Alaska.

Once inside, we were through the security area in under five minutes and then being helped at a desk which was divided by decks only three minutes later. After some chatting and getting our cards, we were wished a good vacation and headed toward the ship! We were literally on the ship within 30 minutes of leaving our hotel. It was the smoothest and most organized system that I have seen for any type of mass transportation. As we entered in the ship, we were greeted by a cheerful group of people saying welcome aboard and screaming "You're on vacation!"

Once on the ship, it was very easy to tell that the ship was nearly brand new. Boarding on deck 5 allowed you to walk straight into the very nice promenade area where a 1936 Mercedes Benz 540K is sitting with two teddy bears. After the shock of actually being on the largest cruise ship in the world, we decided that we had to try to explore all of the areas before they were crowded.

As we strolled down the promenade, there were shops (Regalia, Port Merchants, Solera, The Shop, and Willow), food (Sorrentos pizza, Cafe Promenade, Starbucks), and bars (Champagne, Pub, On Air, Boleros). One of the first things anyone will notice is the area of fountains that are glassed off in the promenade. Having researched the ship some, I knew this was the area for the Rising Tide Bar. This bar moved between the promenade of deck 5 to Central Park on deck 8. They say it takes about 8 minutes to go the three decks, but it felt faster than that. During events such as the disco party, this is a good spot for a view of the whole area because they will stop it at half way.

As we reached the front of the ship, we looked at the 1,380 seat theater where Chicago, Blue Planet, and many 3-D movies were hosted.

Moving up a deck, we saw the Vitality Spa and Fitness Area including a small bistro with healthier selections. Something they used in the spa caused a slight allergic reaction and I didn't get to use this area as much as I had hoped.

Due to deck 6 not being connected unless using the stateroom hallways, we decided to go up to deck 8 and check out Central Park. This area was very tranquil and really encompassed the idea of relaxation the best. You could simply take a stroll through the park or sit in one of the many sitting areas and take in a book peacefully.

There are also more shops, some of the specialty restaurants (Giovanni's Table, Chops Grille, 150 Central Park) and the Park Cafe. The specialty restaurants need reservations and are not included in the cost of the cruise, but are worth the extra money. We ate at Giovanni's Table and had very good service and food.

Because we had moved back toward the aft of the ship again, we decided to go back down to deck 6 and check out the Boardwalk area. I did not expect to visit this area much except for shows, but I found myself there everyday for different reasons. The Boardwalk Dog House had six different types of hot dogs that were interesting and good to try.

There was also a Johnny Rockets, Ice Cream Parlor, Rita's Cantina, Candy Store, Doughnuts, and more shops line the Boardwalk that clearly focuses your attention toward both the AquaTheater in the back and the carousel that had young and old laughing. The AquaTheater cannot be described or even captured by picture, but has to be experienced. The OceanAria show did not look appealing to me, but we went and enjoyed it very much with the acrobatics and the high diving. During the day, more events were held there including dance classes, belly flop, and sexiest man competition. If you turn back toward the Boardwalk, two large rock walls line the outside edges of the Boardwalk walls and make for a great view of the theater and the blue water behind it.

Having to wait till 1 p.m. for the cabins to be ready (they got aggravated at my wife for using a bathroom in the stateroom hallway since it was supposed to be "closed"), we decided to keep exploring and ignore our hunger. We headed up to deck 15 where all the sports and pool areas were. At the aft of the ship, there are two Flowriders that are open for everyone to try and a good amount of seating for people to sit and watch.

The Flowriders have a small platform at the top that make for a good view of the Boardwalk area below and the zip-line! As soon as I saw the zip-line, I knew I had to try it and soon, but I wanted to say I did it while at sea so we continued to explore. We came back after we had set sail and unpacked and there was nobody in the line. After being drilled with questions, they harnessed me up and I was sitting at the gate waiting to be told I could go. You basically sit down and lift your feet up to start moving which is unusual compared to my normal rappelling, but within a second, I was flying high over the Boardwalk. The ride is short and slow, but an experience most others can't say they have done. I nailed the landing and the guy even said he was impressed as most people usually hit him. We later watched others try to land and it became entertaining just watching that.

Moving toward the front of the ship, we saw the basketball courts which hosted tournaments for basketball, volleyball and even dodgeball, and a miniature golf area. There were two pools past this area, one being a kid area, and then another two more pools past that that included the salt water beach pool. These pools were popular, but not overcrowded. There were plenty of seats available and we never had problems finding somewhere to put our stuff.

Moving further to the front of the ship, the solarium begins to take over. This adult area has two whirlpools that have an infinity pool sense to them and hang over the side of the ship somewhat. There were always people in there, but once again, no major issues with crowding. Past the whirlpools, this area is sheltered in that there is cover from the elements, but it is designed openly to allow some wind and all the sun to show through. There are a few more pools in the front and one pool in particular seemed to be the most popular with the senior citizens and was almost always crowded. This area also hosts the Samba Grill.

Surprised that we still had time to kill, we went to the Windjammer Marketplace and ate at the buffet until our room was ready. The food was not as bad as the buffet on the last cruise, but still not the best quality. However, there was a wide range of selections each day and then the standard hot dogs and hamburgers.

We left to unpack and find our room and were surprised at a simple mistake that we had made and would become a minor inconvenience for the trip. We had hopped on the elevators on the opposite side of our room on deck 7 (15 feet apart) and realized that due to the sign for the Boardwalk, the landing that usually connects the elevator lobbies was not there. We simply walked down a deck and then back up on the other side. No biggie, but just did not expect it the first time.

We walked halfway down the hallway and found our cabon. Our first impressions were that the room has plenty of storage area, but smaller than the room on Carnival. The bathroom was nicer along with the shower, but the door does not take up the whole space of the opening. If a person is in the bathroom, the person in the stateroom can hear EVERYTHING...

We were glad to see two of the three bags in our room and the wife quickly put her things away. I was enjoying our balcony area as she was working and noticed that the balcony was significantly bigger than Carnival's and the privacy between neighbors was about the same. As we were headed off to explore some more, I noticed my bag had been brought to the hallway, but not the room yet. I grabbed it and then unpacked all of my stuff.

Our stateroom attendant stopped by as we were finishing up and talked to us for a few minutes and actually got to know us. Everyday he would attempt to talk to us and offer tips on what to do and where to go. We never saw our stateroom attendant on the Alaskan cruise except for the day he got mad at us for staying in the room and watching all the scenery from our balcony. Camera in hand, we set off to explore.

The week was full of parades, flash mobs, game shows, shows, and other events that led to a cruise without a dull moment. We only ate in the main dining room twice, but were extremely impressed with the food and service especially with the personal attention and the little details. Everyone referred to you by name and always brought something they wanted you to try even if you did not ask for it. We are always trying new things and we enjoyed this.

Other places we ate were Izumi's which had great sushi, but the hot rock we experienced was not spectacular, Giovanni's Table, Johnny Rockets which had great lunch and dinner, and Rita's Cantina which had amazing churros and the other food was good, but nothing spectacular.

The atmosphere was great in each of these places and the small, reservation only, groups made it personal service without being rushed. One thing about the reservations: we tried to go to Chops Grille and make the reservation the first couple hours on the ship and they already had a waitlist.

As for shows, Chicago was entertaining, but OceanAria and Blue Planet really blew my expectations. The Love and Marriage show is always a must-see and we really enjoyed the old couple that played which became celebrities by the end of the show. They had an adult scavenger hunt in Studio B (ice skating rink) that we did not like, but I can see college-aged people enjoying it more than we did. It seemed to turn a little too trashy for our taste by asking for a thong and then the guys to drop their shorts. Also in Studio B, they had How to Train a Dragon on Ice that was hard to follow, but cute.

We were there during the NBA playoffs and the games were being shown in different places including Studio B and the AquaTheater which gave a cool place to watch it.

Overall, the cruise was a great success and has converted me to RCL with their service and efficiency. There were some small complaints such as the bathroom, reservations, stateroom TV was messed up for the first two days when trying to view our account or make reservations, but overall it was a great trip. It was fun to try to balance relaxing with so many things on board to do!

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Cincinnati   Clarkston   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Long Beach   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Oahu   Orlando   Petersburg   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Savannah   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Victoria   Warren   West Palm Beach   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!