CruiseCompete: Easily Compare Multiple Offers from Cruise Experts
Compare offers from multiple travel agencies
Find your cruise
& request quotes
Compare members only prices,
upgrades, cabin credits & more!
Contact your preferred agent
for questions or to book your cruise
Over 1 million members
Join CruiseCompete for free
Home   How it works   Search Cruises   Ships   Reviews   Shore Excursions   Cruise Specials
  Ports Reviews

Kusadasi reviews

Average Rating based on 5 Reviews:
OverallOverall = 4.604.60

Submit a review



klb saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Walking through history, August 12, 2013
Reviewer: klb

Pros: No barriers between you and the buildings; stunning ancient finds

Cons: The heat; huge crowds

Kusadasi port is small and charming, but you're really there for Ephesus. Ephesus is a stunning visual wonder, great for photos, and unusual in that you can walk and touch the ancient artifacts everywhere.

In the summertime, be sure to bring an umbrella, lots of water, sunscreen and fans. It is possible to strategically walk in some shade, but not always, and by 10 a.m. it's steamy if there is no breeze.

The cruise ship tours all seem to arrive together, creating a bottleneck at most places. Arrive as early as possible to escape the heat and beat the crowds.

Must pay for the toilets outside of Ephesus. Plenty of shops selling hats, though, if you forgot yours.


ayanna saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Ephesus is a must see, July 4, 2012
Reviewer: ayanna

Pros: Ephesus is a must see

Cons: Very, very pushy street merchants

Kusadasi is a very modern city and very populous. The primary reason to go here is Ephesus. It is at least a 30-minute drive from the port so make sure you make arrangements with the ship or privately to go see it and don't think you can walk or take public transportation there.

This has one of the most preserved ruins of Roman civilization (remember the Romans moved the capital from Rome to Constantinople/Istanbul when Rome fell). Walk the same streets as religious figures and queens like Cleopatra. Amazing.

Kusadasi is a different story. Big push to make you buy expensive (many more than $10k) rugs and extremely pushy local merchants begging you to look at their T-shirts and leather jackets and jewelry and... Big jokes on the ship about this during the show on the ship that night. Lots of signs for "Genuine Fake Watches," too. Funny.

Go see Ephesus and then get back on the boat or at least away from the downtown shopping stalls.


Betty saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
Great place and representative for Turkey, July 20, 2011
Reviewer: Betty

Pros: Nice landscape and clean

Cons: -

The port is very animated and offers the opportunity for good shopping! It's also close to the ruins of Ephesus which is a "must" of Turkey.

We also found a public beach with clear water and very clean sand. The people are nice and not so insistent as we were warned. For a hot day we tried the local bear (Efes) and a traditional pie (gozleme.


geekguy1 saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 55
It should be on your bucket list, December 16, 2010
Reviewer: geekguy1

Pros: Ancient city to rival, or surpass, Pompeii

Cons: Walking on uneven surfaces

We were in Kusadasi/Ephesus a year ago, but the area was worth a return visit, especially because we hadnít done the optional terrace houses in Ephesus last time. This is a definite ďDonít MissĒ attraction. Ephesus itself is an ancient city, possibly as well preserved as Pompeii, and a more important and wealthier city in its time.

We went with www.HelloEphesus.com, which has an easy to navigate web site that includes prices that are actually listed (no need to request them via email) and very reasonable. Like the other companies we used, Hello Ephesus was waiting for us when we got off the ship with a clean and large van.

Our guide, Yigit, was excellent; although we had been there a year ago, Yigit found much to talk about in Ephesus that we hadnít previously covered. He not only knew his history but was also pleasant and friendly. Our driver, Mustafa, was also professional and an asset to our trip.

This trip we did not revisit the Virgin Mary house, but recommend it to those who havenít been there before.


tcambron saw things this way:
OverallOverall = 44
Kusadasi - Port for Ephesus, September 14, 2010
Reviewer: tcambron

Pros: Fascinating ancient city

Cons: None - enjoyed the port

We took a private tour to Ephesus, an ancient city (ruins) that was just amazing. Went to Virgin Mary's house where she lived her final years. St. John the Apostle established a church in Ephesus and some of it remains. It is believed that his body was buried there and we saw the tomb.

This was a major city around 200-300 BC with a population of 250,000. They had a open-air theater that seated 24,000. It was in good condition and has been used as recently as 10 years ago for concerts with the likes of Elton John and Sting.

We ate at a Turkish restaurant. The meal was cold green beans, eggplant, and potatoes - with cucumber sauce. Then there was grilled chicken on skewers and lamb meat balls. Dessert was fruit - watermelon, oranges, mandarins, and apples.

There is a very nice modern shopping center right where the ships dock.

 
Your Account   Home   Search   Specials   Cruises   Shore Excursions   Group Cruises   About   FAQ  
River Cruises   International Cruisers Welcome   Weddings at Sea

Cruise Videos   Cruise Ship Reviews   Cruise Port Reviews  

Cruise departures:
 Alton   Anchorage   Baltimore   Boston   Cape Liberty   Charleston   Chattanooga   Chicago   Clarkston   Clarksville   Fort Lauderdale   Galveston   Honolulu   Jacksonville   Juneau   Ketchikan   Los Angeles   Louisville   Memphis   Miami   Minneapolis   Mobile   Molokai   Montreal   Nashville   New Orleans   New York   Nome   Norfolk   Oahu   Pittsburgh   Port Canaveral   Port Everglades   Portland   Providence   Quebec City   Red Wing   San Diego   San Francisco   Seattle   Seward   Sitka   St Louis   St Paul   Tampa   Vancouver   Warren   Whittier 

Browse Cruise Ships and Cruise Lines
 Amadeus River Cruises   AmaWaterways   American Cruise Lines   American Queen Steamboat Company   Avalon Waterways   Azamara Club Cruises   Blount Small Ship Adventures   Carnival Cruise Lines   Celebrity Cruises   Costa Cruise Lines   Crystal Cruises   Cunard Line   Disney Cruise Line   Emerald Waterways   Fathom   Holland America Line (HAL)   Imperial River Cruises   MSC Cruises   Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)   Oceania Cruises   Paul Gauguin Cruises   Princess Cruises   Regent Seven Seas Cruises   Royal Caribbean International (RCL)   Scenic   Seabourn   SeaDream Yacht Club   Silversea Cruises   Star Clippers   Swan Hellenic Cruises   Un-Cruise Adventures   Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection   Variety Cruises   Viking Ocean Cruises   Viking River Cruises   Voyages of Discovery   Voyages to Antiquity   Windstar Cruises   Cruises by Region




Connecting cruisers with the best cruise prices on discount cruises since 2003. Privacy Policy

Cruise news from Cruise Compete, where you compare cruise prices to get the best cruise discounts and deals
The secret to Serious Savings on hotels!